We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location average hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Lombardy to your Saves list
Hotel Lombardy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location average hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel was in a good location not to far from the White House and many other of the attractions in DC. Some of the hotel staff were friendly including the man behind the bar and concierge. Although found the staff at check in/out a bit abrupt. This however seemed to be a bit of a theme among service staff in DC. The hotel was clean in tidy, not much natural light as we were at the back would recommend getting room with a view. The bed was very comfy and not much noise so slept well we were the for 6 nights.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a street view as the rooms at the back have very little natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again on your next visit to Washington, DC.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    416
    86
    27
    20
See reviews for
206
405
88
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent only 2 nights here and really wish we had longer! The hotel is lovely, rooms are very clean and lots of natural light during the day. Every staff member we came across were polite and happy to help us with what ever we needed. The hotel is within walking distance pretty much everything you want to see. The only downside, for us at least, there was not a mini fridge in the room, we are traveling for 4 weeks so a fridge would of been a nice comfort for us, juice and water etc. If we are able to make another trip to the USA we would come back to Washington DC and stay here again.. 2 nights just isn't enough!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to having you back with us.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

What a disappointing stay. After reading decent reviews we booked a suite here for our overnight trip in DC. The hotel entrance is beautiful - old world charms. Doorman and bell boy were also great but it stopped there.

Poor reception service
Friaz? I can't recall her name but she was so stuckup it was actually rude - and the way she called for the bell ball was downright embarrassing. She also managed to get my surname wrong which I corrected at check in but the mistake was repeated at checkout. I noticed that I am not the first one to review the cold reception service.

The Suite
The suite itself was very big and the location fantastic - we walked or cabbed for under $10 everywhere and we had a lovely view facing Pennsylvania Avenue. The rooms were very dark and the bathroom tired and the shower barely managed to drip water - whilst I support eco-friendly showers, these showers had so little pressure I couldn't wash all of the shampoo out of my hair. But on the upside, they do stock nice toiletries from Bed & Bath.

The Bedroom
The big walk in closet did not have a mirror and the bed sheets were covered with hundreds of lint balls, which made for an uncomfortable sleep. This is actually the first time that I have encountered such bad quality sheets in a hotel bed. Overnight airport hotels have better sheets and being a thread count fan, this was possibly the most disappointing part of my stay here especially reading other positive reviews on the linen quality...Perhaps I just drew the short straw? The king bed was well pillowed with high lumpy pillows - with 6 pillows on the bed, you would think that there could be some low pillows... Overall it was an uncomfortable night and the hard bed didn't help.

This was a regretful stay and there are much better hotels in DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I apologize that your stay was less than enjoyable and would like to know more details about your visit. We have sent you a direct message and look forward to hearing back from you soon.

It is our goal to provide outstanding service to all of our guests and we hope to be able to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Picked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. great location we could walk to the sights and the metro, the staff were very welcolming and very helpful. The hotel is quite fascinating inside much more interesting than the usual city centre chain hotel and our room was very quiet and the bathroom was enormous! Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again for buisness or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your visit here with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

While I share the comments in other reviews of this hotel as regards to atmosphere or location, I stayed in room 1114 to the back of the building and had noise from large air condition units outside the building all night. At almost USD 300 per night the noise issue should really be addressed.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms to the back of the building, including Room 1114
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback. We apologize for the convenience and wished we could have been able to address this situation while you were here with us. Please know that we do use all of guest comments and concerns as a tool to improve guest stays and service. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and just love it. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The hotel is very cozy and inviting. The location is terrific: a couple of blocks from the Metro line and only a couple of stops from the top attractions. We walked to all the main monuments the first day. Although, there are a number of great restaurants within a block or two from the hotel, you'll want to eat at least one meal at the hotel cafe. It is surprisingly worth it!

Room Tip: I'd try to stay on the lower floors. There can be a wait for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Hotel Lombardy. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and hope that we will see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed two nights over the weekend and we not disappointed. We received a great rate for a DC hotel. Good thing to remember when booking hotels in DC, there is always a weekend when not much is going on and if there is then the hotels further from the event will be cheaper. It is helpful to be flexible when visiting DC. This hotel is pretty convenient. It pays to like to walk in DC. Although near the orange and blue metro -- on weekends the metro schedule is varies a lot so leave extra time. Our room was just like what others have written about. We like the ceiling fan -- always helpful in keeping the room cool. We tend not to pick hotels based on the view, cause we don't spend a lot of time in our room. Everything about the hotel is really good and we would stay there again. We did not eat at the restaurant so I can't say anything about that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Greetings TravelerCT,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you visit us again soon. On your next visit, please visit our Cafe, the food is amazing as well as the service.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TIG Global and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lombardy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.