We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is nice and in great location but staff needs improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lombardy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic DC Getaway
Ranked #18 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Hotel is nice and in great location but staff needs improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had a mixed experience at the Lombardy.

Hotel:
- The hotel is nice as it provides for an authentic feel
- They managed to provide a well balanced mix between dated and originality, which is great and feels very appropriate when staying in D.C. from my perspective.
- If you prefer luxury and an all-new-feel than you will not find that at the Lombardy.

Staff:
- The staff actually drags down my rating from 4 to 3 as there was constant up-selling on limousine even when asked for metered taxi
- Bell boys preferred to talk to each other than helping to open the door (at least show a reasonable attempt and not to just look, chat and ignore)
- Cleaning personal appeared unhappy and at times unfriendly.
- Reception staff was short and to the point and did not offer a map or the usual advise on local stuff.

Location
- The hotel is located in a great and safe area, very convenient (20 min walk to White House, 5 min walk to Subway)
- Plenty of restaurants, Starbucks and breakfast places nearby.

Bottom line:
I would not stay at hte Lombardy again as i feel that there are other choices available at that price point. Hotel management should check on their staff and improve in that area as it directly reflects to the hotel guest and experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Greeting FromCGN,

Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback. I apologize that the service was less than excellent. We take pride in providing our guests the highest level of service and clearly we fell short in this instance. Please know that your comments will definitely be shared with the staff and will be used as a tool to improve in all areas.

We hope that you will give us another chance, if so we would love to have you.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palanzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    408
    85
    28
    20
See reviews for
204
399
82
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed four nights at this hotel while we visited Washington DC. It is well located, being only 5 mins to the metro station and 30 minutes to the Washington Monument. Also very good restaurants in thsi area--try Founding Farmers!

The staff are friendly and helpful. Check-in and check-out are very quick.

We booked several months in advance and prepaid. We got a very good rate.

We will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We did not have a view from our window, but it did not matter because we were in our room only to sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Greetings Terry S,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you and look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Excellent location. Very nice large rooms with excellent view from both the bedroom and living room. Exceptionally clean (like new) baths. Excellent bedding and very good TV's, sofa, coffee table and desk. Super staff. Cozy bar and nice restaurant. Fast elevators.
The wife and I go to Washington often and have stayed at many hotels in the area. This is by far the best value in the area. I rank it over the JW Marriot AND Ritz Carlton in Georgetown on all counts ( though if you prefer glitz and shiny chandeliers over location and old school charm, you might have a different opinion). Will definitely make Hotel Lombardy our first call next time.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if every room is a suite, but ask for a suite because I didn't see where it cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Greetings BCOVB,

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments. It gives us great pleasure in knowing that you consider our hotel to be amongst some of the best.

We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We are just back from 5 nights at this hotel and our stay couldn't have been better. We splurged for the suite and it was like having our own small apartment (if it had only had a stove, we could have moved in!). We were steps from the elevator and never heard it once. The room was clean and well appointed. The fold-out velour sofa was a bit of a throw-back to another time and wasn't very comfortable to sit on, but that is the worst thing to say about our stay. The staff was fabulous, attentive but not over-bearing. Very genuine in their willingness to serve. Seeing the old woodwork and the glass doorknobs told us this was the real thing in terms of history. All in all, I loved the place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Greeting beckperson,

Thank you for your feed back. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. The Hotel Lombardy is a registered hotel with the Preferred Hotel Group - Historic Hotels of America and we take pride in keeping up that culture throughout the hotel.

Again we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back again soon.


Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel was in the perfect location for us to visit GWU. It is also an easy walk to Georgetown, the White House, the Mall, etc.
The staff was friendly and quite helpful.
The beds were comfortable. The bathroom is nice and clean, but only able to accommodate one person at a time. Lighting in the vanity area isn't really sufficient for applying makeup. We had a good size refrigerator and a sink in our kitchenette.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Lombardy for your stay in Washington, DC. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you will return soon.

Looking forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We just had the most wonderful stay at the Hotel Lombardy. This is truly a hidden gem. We stayed right next to the elevator -- heard not a sound. Our room was so large, the three of us felt like we had all the space in the world. A dressing room, kitchenete and bedroom. Luxury. This historic hotel had all the charm in the world. The lobby is very small -- almost a foyer, but there were always staff in that space willing to greet you, help with bags or directions. The restaurant was spectacular! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit here at the Hotel Lombardy and would like to Thank You for choosing to stay with us. It's great to hear when our guests have a wonderful experience and it looks like you had a chance to also experience our dining facility, which we think is definitely something all guest should indulge in.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TIG Global and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lombardy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.