We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to visit GWU” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lombardy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic DC Getaway
Ranked #17 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Newport Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location to visit GWU”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel was in the perfect location for us to visit GWU. It is also an easy walk to Georgetown, the White House, the Mall, etc.
The staff was friendly and quite helpful.
The beds were comfortable. The bathroom is nice and clean, but only able to accommodate one person at a time. Lighting in the vanity area isn't really sufficient for applying makeup. We had a good size refrigerator and a sink in our kitchenette.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Lombardy for your stay in Washington, DC. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you will return soon.

Looking forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    510
    402
    85
    27
    20
See reviews for
201
392
80
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We just had the most wonderful stay at the Hotel Lombardy. This is truly a hidden gem. We stayed right next to the elevator -- heard not a sound. Our room was so large, the three of us felt like we had all the space in the world. A dressing room, kitchenete and bedroom. Luxury. This historic hotel had all the charm in the world. The lobby is very small -- almost a foyer, but there were always staff in that space willing to greet you, help with bags or directions. The restaurant was spectacular! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit here at the Hotel Lombardy and would like to Thank You for choosing to stay with us. It's great to hear when our guests have a wonderful experience and it looks like you had a chance to also experience our dining facility, which we think is definitely something all guest should indulge in.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed four nights at this hotel while we toured the sights of Washington. It is well sited for this purpose being only 5 mins from the Metro, 20 mins walk from Georgetown and 30 minutes to the Washington Monument,
The hotel is older on ten floors with lots of character, The room we had on the 10 floor was quiet, well furnished and very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful.
They have a restaurant which served a good breakfast but, be warned, coffee is extra and there is a service charge as well as local taxes. It is way cheaper and quicker to use the local restaurants like Wholefoods near the Metro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here with my in-laws for 4th of July last year, and we all loved it! A charming hotel in a good location...close to attractions but quiet. If you know when you'll be visiting, pay up-front and it's a great deal! Trust me getting a nice hotel in the District at our under $200 per night is a deal, I couldn't believe how nice this place is for the money. Also right down the block is the best breakfast around...Founding Farmers...a must!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and we hope to see you back this year for the 4th of July!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We took a redeye and got to the hotel at 6am, they were all awake at that hour and more than accomodating storing our luggage for our checkin at 3pm and directing to us to the only thing open at that hour McDonalds about 4 blocks away. And so our 7 day vacation begins. We walked to the White House, the Mall from Washington to Lincoln Memorial and everything inbetween and finally headed back to the Lombardy arriving about 2. The doorman from the morning greeted us and told us that our room was ready for us and took us to the office for our official checkin then he collected our bags and met us at the elevator. I really have to say that our entire stay was like that. Happy to see us, thanking us for staying with them asking if we needed anything. We received wonderful service. The Lombardy is 4 blocks from the White House, 2 to Metro, on the 32/36 bus route to the Capitol area and near all kinds of restaurants with one onsite "Cafe Lombardy", the fanciest "cafe" I have ever been in and the food is excellent. But thats is my other review. I had booked online in late January and received a very good rate compared to everything around that area and was very happy with the front facing room (501) with nice views of the 2 parks seperated by Pennsylvania Ave. The hotel is really on "I" Street where it crosses Penn, but Penn sounds better and is easier to find on the map.
Just be aware if I had waited they would have been booked full since it was Cherry Blossom Festival's final week with the parade on our final Saturday.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the building so you do get traffic noise even on the 5th floor and ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to share the details of your visit. Our goal is to provide outstanding service to all of our guest and to ensure that they have memorable experiences and when that goal is achieved it makes us very happy. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I will say that for the price and location you really can't beat it. Super close to the Foggy Bottom Metro and right across the street from Founding Farmers, Paul and some other awesome eats.

The lobby is really non existent, which is fine however the staff wasn't really present. The elevator is extremely small. Seriously-if you have any issues with tight spaces it might be an issue. It wasn't for us, but I could not have taken my mother.

The room was extremely spacious, the bed comfy and the bathroom was really nice. This location is on the historic hotel list and it shows not only in the character of the room but nothing matches or has a theme. It reminds me of a guest room at someones house with hodge-podge furniture. Not trying to sound snotty-just want people to understand the feel. The electrical plugs are very, very sparse. Please advise if you have lots of tech devices.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. I'm sorry to hear that your stay was less than enjoyable. We take your observations very seriously and we consider the opinions of our guest very important.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TIG Global and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lombardy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.