We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant hotel well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lombardy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic DC Getaway
Ranked #18 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“pleasant hotel well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed there two nights on business .Arrived late due to flight delay. Efficient check-in to comfortable room, good bed (perhaps a bit on the soft side but a matter of taste ), a coffee machine and fridge, good internet and somewhat dated bathroom( but remember this is an heritage hotel). Breakfast is à la carte ; it comes fairly quickly ( 5-10 minutes wait) and servings both days were quite generous (eggs benedict with smoked salmon were yummy). Staff was very good from receptionist offering DC map to doorman providing directions to CSV to waiters in dining room fixing up a side order of yogurt . And the complimentary paper is the Washington Post ,not USA today! I did not pay for this so I cannot comment on value.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back away from Pennsylvania avenue will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and had a chance to experience our dining outlet and quality service that we provide to our guests. It was a pleasure to have you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    405
    85
    27
    20
See reviews for
202
393
82
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Loved staying at the hotel Lombardy over the weekend. Everyone was friendly, especially the bell hop who cam sour to park our car, and then said if we can find a spot for a few hours, we wouldn't have to pay for parking overnight because we stayed on Presidents' Day weekend and.mondau was a holiday. Saved us $80in parking!!!! Very happy with that. Very clean hotel.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Hotel Lombardy, we are happy that you enjoyed your visit and hope to have you with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The location was excellent. Close to the White house. Staff was helpful, nice and provide with good information. Valet aprking was expensive @ 32 a night, But i was able to park on the street "free of charge" after 6 pm. I was able to find paking in front of hotel. The room was very comfortable for an older hotel. the elevator was old, and small, but work didnt have to wait long. The bed was comfortable, overall very good hotel.

Room Tip: Park on the street after 6 pm (no charges)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your feed back. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We value your opinion and look forward to having you back again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent a night here during a college visit (GWU and AU). Nice, spacious room, comfortable beds and a helpful staff, they let us check out late as we completed our tour of American University. Close to the Metro and very close to GWU. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with 2 beds and kitchen are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back with us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We just spent two weeks at the Lombardy and had a great stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are cozy and clean, the food in the cafe' is really good, and there even is a small functional gym in the basement. One thing I would suggest to the management is to have a kettle and a microwave oven in the kitchenette. It would also be good if they did not block itunes, as it would be nice to be able to download films especially during longer stays. Overall, a great hotel in a great location with wonderful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. In reference to the kitchenette space, we advertise our rooms as having a stainless steel wet bar area with cafe seating as appose to a kitchenette, because we do not offer standard kitchen appliances in that space. I will share your concerns regarding the I tunes with our IT department. Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This property was a lovely surprise. Unassuming from the street, it has a very small lobby and tiny elevators. My room, however, is terrific. It's spacious (though not huge) and very tastefully appointed. The king bed is comfortable, and the linens are very good quality. There is a large glass-topped desk across the front of the room overlooking the street, so it's bright and there is plenty of room to work comfortably (with easy access to a power source and good lighting). Wireless worked immediately and perfectly. The windows actually open which is great for some fresh air. I suppose the street traffic might be noisy, but I didn't have any problem in that regard. The closet is small.

The bath area has a private room for commode and shower and a spacious vanity area that includes a small frig. The shower works well, always a nice thing. I especially like the fact that there are dimmers on all of the light switches -- a great feature not often employed by hotels.

There is no business center, but there is a FedEx Kinko's just around the corner. The location is excellent -- easy walking to many spots and ready access to cabs and the Metro. I am here with a small group, and the room rate was a surprisingly good value for an urban hotel. There is a small restaurant on the premises (prices are slightly high but not awful), and there's a nice bar tucked away toward the back of the property.

The doormen were especially accommodating as was the bartender. The front desk staff were pleasant if somewhat less responsive. I will look forward to another opportunity to stay here and will recommend Hotel Lombardy to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. I have already shared your comments with our hotel staff. We are all very proud of the work we do and your positive feedback is much appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Washington, DC!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked a double room at a discounted advanced rate and were upgraded to a suite. Needless to say, the value we got was exceptional.

We found the hotel to be well-located, a five-minute walk away from the Foggy Bottom subway station.

The hotel gives a general feeling of old charm, rather than modernity. However, we found it to be very well maintained and we did not get the "tired" feeling previous posters have commented on. The suite was large and very comfortable. The bathroom is nice in a classic way, everything was spotlessly clean. A few downsides: shower pressure isn't great and the airco compressor kicking in and out throughout the night to maintain room temperature can be a tad noisy. Our suite faced Pennsylvannia Avenue, which keeps busy at all times, including with sirens, so I would advise earplugs if you're a light sleeper (or requesting a room facing the back).

Few interactions with staff, door staff were very kind, reception staff a bit less so (not really unpleasant either, just a bit cold).

Overall very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our staff works very hard to ensure the Hotel Lombardy feels like home for each of our guests during their travels to Washington, DC.

We hope to continue to serve you during your future travels. Thank you for such positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TIG Global and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lombardy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.