We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice For GW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lombardy to your Saves list
Hotel Lombardy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic DC Getaway
Ranked #19 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Warren, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice For GW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent a night here during a college visit (GWU and AU). Nice, spacious room, comfortable beds and a helpful staff, they let us check out late as we completed our tour of American University. Close to the Metro and very close to GWU. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with 2 beds and kitchen are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back with us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    434
    88
    28
    20
See reviews for
211
418
92
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We just spent two weeks at the Lombardy and had a great stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are cozy and clean, the food in the cafe' is really good, and there even is a small functional gym in the basement. One thing I would suggest to the management is to have a kettle and a microwave oven in the kitchenette. It would also be good if they did not block itunes, as it would be nice to be able to download films especially during longer stays. Overall, a great hotel in a great location with wonderful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. In reference to the kitchenette space, we advertise our rooms as having a stainless steel wet bar area with cafe seating as appose to a kitchenette, because we do not offer standard kitchen appliances in that space. I will share your concerns regarding the I tunes with our IT department. Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This property was a lovely surprise. Unassuming from the street, it has a very small lobby and tiny elevators. My room, however, is terrific. It's spacious (though not huge) and very tastefully appointed. The king bed is comfortable, and the linens are very good quality. There is a large glass-topped desk across the front of the room overlooking the street, so it's bright and there is plenty of room to work comfortably (with easy access to a power source and good lighting). Wireless worked immediately and perfectly. The windows actually open which is great for some fresh air. I suppose the street traffic might be noisy, but I didn't have any problem in that regard. The closet is small.

The bath area has a private room for commode and shower and a spacious vanity area that includes a small frig. The shower works well, always a nice thing. I especially like the fact that there are dimmers on all of the light switches -- a great feature not often employed by hotels.

There is no business center, but there is a FedEx Kinko's just around the corner. The location is excellent -- easy walking to many spots and ready access to cabs and the Metro. I am here with a small group, and the room rate was a surprisingly good value for an urban hotel. There is a small restaurant on the premises (prices are slightly high but not awful), and there's a nice bar tucked away toward the back of the property.

The doormen were especially accommodating as was the bartender. The front desk staff were pleasant if somewhat less responsive. I will look forward to another opportunity to stay here and will recommend Hotel Lombardy to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. I have already shared your comments with our hotel staff. We are all very proud of the work we do and your positive feedback is much appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Washington, DC!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked a double room at a discounted advanced rate and were upgraded to a suite. Needless to say, the value we got was exceptional.

We found the hotel to be well-located, a five-minute walk away from the Foggy Bottom subway station.

The hotel gives a general feeling of old charm, rather than modernity. However, we found it to be very well maintained and we did not get the "tired" feeling previous posters have commented on. The suite was large and very comfortable. The bathroom is nice in a classic way, everything was spotlessly clean. A few downsides: shower pressure isn't great and the airco compressor kicking in and out throughout the night to maintain room temperature can be a tad noisy. Our suite faced Pennsylvannia Avenue, which keeps busy at all times, including with sirens, so I would advise earplugs if you're a light sleeper (or requesting a room facing the back).

Few interactions with staff, door staff were very kind, reception staff a bit less so (not really unpleasant either, just a bit cold).

Overall very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our staff works very hard to ensure the Hotel Lombardy feels like home for each of our guests during their travels to Washington, DC.

We hope to continue to serve you during your future travels. Thank you for such positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

In the middle of the Foggy Bottom district of DC is this unassuming hotel that really shocks you as to how nice people can be. And sometimes- as it is here- it's real. The employees at this hotel really make-it-right by going out of their way. Rooms are a little tired. Hallways a bit noisy. But otherwise a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments. We strive to provide outstanding service to all of our guests. We look forward to having you say with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We travel to DC probably 2x per year and other than the Mayflower have never found a hotel that we would really stay in a second time. But now we have. We came for the Inauguration and found the hotel while searching for a great location, nice amenities and price point that we could live with. The staff was wonderful, our room was wonderful and the location could not be beat - great access to both the Red and Orange/Blue Metro lines, walking distance to Georgetown and Dupont Circle - what's not to like! Food was terrific, the bar was cozy with a very personable bartender. We were there for five days and loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and are delighted that you chose us and will stay with us again. We look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here over New Year's Eve and enjoyed it. The rooms were decorated very nicely though I would have liked it if the bathroom was a little nicer (very basic) but it was very clean and had a lot of counter space. The bed was comfortable and the room was surprisingly quiet, especially since it was facing the street and there was a large/loud group of people staying on our floor but we could only hear them in the hallway and were glad that we couldn't hear them from inside the room. We were able to snag a parking spot right out front which saved us a significant amount for parking, not sure we would have been happy having to valet park every time we came/went because it seemed like it would have been a hassle. The location of the hotel was really good, within walking distance to the major sights and a very short drive to Georgetown. There is a Starbucks right around the corner and Founding Farmers is directly across the street, which is a fabulous restaurant that I highly recommend. The only disappointment was the lounge area. The photos online made it look much nicer than it actually was. It was very small and looked much more outdated than the sophisticated vintage style it appears to be online. Also we noticed while outside that some of the rooms have windows in the shower and that the entire street got a view of the person showering - I would not have felt comfortable in that shower after seeing how exposed you are. Thankfully ours was private. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel - it was a really great choice for the price (we paid $88 even over NYE).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not have a window in the shower becuase everyone on the street can see your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Hotel Lombardy. Washington, DC is a great place to be to bring in the New Year. We hope that you will come and visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lombardy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.