We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As charming as I had remembered” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lombardy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic DC Getaway
Ranked #18 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Boston, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“As charming as I had remembered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel about a decade ago and was excited to revisit to see how things had changed. It's still a great place with lots of character. I was disappointed that they'd removed the old-fashioned, manual elevator. There are now two standard elevators in its place, one small and the other coffin-like, but I suppose the space was what it was and it's certainly a better idea to have two elevators than one.
We booked the smallest-sized room, which was nice and clean, recently updated, and plenty spacious enough for an overnight.
Great hotel, close or walking distance to many things and with character that can be hard to find these days. I hope I don't wait another decade to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for coming back, especially after a decade! We appreciate you giving us your feed back. The elevators was definitely a part of the charm and character of the hotel but with much thought and consideration for our guest the decision was made to change them. We hope to see you again soon in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    410
    85
    28
    20
See reviews for
204
400
83
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was our second trip to DC with the whole family and our second stay at the Hotel Lombardy. We had such a great experience our first time here 17 months ago, we were looking forward to our return over Thanksgiving week. It was a delight to see the same helpful and courteous staff upon our arrival. It was more like a homecoming than just checking in to a hotel. We even got our same room. The room was large, clean, and wifi service worked well. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent. They modified the menu for the kids, and the service from Muhammed was exceptional. The location is excellent. There is a lot within walking distance and nearby metro and bus service. We will definitely be staying here again on our next vacation to our nation's capital.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share the details about your stay.. We do like to make our guest feel at home when they visit our hotel, and we strive to always provide the highest level of customer service at all times. I will be sure to let Mohammad know that you were pleased with his service, he is definitely a great asset to the Hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Spent the past weekend at the Lombardy for a mini-reunion with friends, and had a very good time. The hotel is located in a fantastic location (I trained it into DC and took the metro from Union Station to the Foggy Bottom station, only a couple of blocks from the hotel...couldn't have been easier), it's spotless, has a great bar and lounge for pre- or post-dinner drinks ( thanks, Tillman, you make a mean Manhattan!), and while we didn't dine at the hotel (went out to some old favorites in nearby Georgetown), I did take a look and the dining room looked very inviting. Didn't have much interaction with the staff ( other than the bartender), but everyone I DID meet was nice. The bathroom was very large (from my NYC perspective), the king bed and plush pillows were wonderfully sleep inducing, and if it wasn't for the " new paint" fumes greeting me on my initial arrival on my floor (would have been nice to have alerted me to same upon checkin(was not detectable from inside room, however, and it eventually dissipated)) I would have given 5stars. Nice, reasonably-priced hotel. Check them out.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for you feedback. Great location definitely is one way to describe our hotel. We also strive to provide outstanding service and a great atmosphere for our guest, our staff go above and beyond to make sure that the hotel is in tip top shape, we do our best to complete any maintenance issues, such as paint touch ups prior to check-in time, sometimes it's a little hard but it is with good intention. I apologize if it caused you any inconvenience. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Coaardo Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
529 reviews 529 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
1,032 helpful votes 1,032 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

They say location is important, as indeed it is. The Lombardy is located on Pennsylvania Avenue about half a mile from the White House. Lot's of stores and restaurants around so plenty to see, although the hotel is in a quiet location which is good. Front office staff were excellent and so helpful. Breakfast was not included in the room price(unlike in Europe) and was average at best and also expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here from Nov. 22 to Nov. 25. Room is very clean and situated in a great location (less than a min. walk to a bus stop, 2 blocks from Foggy Bottom metro station). Got a room on high floor view toward the street in front of the hotel as requested. Pasta was delicious. We would stay here again if we go back to D.C.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! I am happy to know that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as our Cafe. We do happen to be in one of the best locations of the city, which is a plus for our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel was wonderful, rooms were so clean and spacious. We'd just arrived from an international flight and had a perfect night's sleep! Perfect location too, just a short walk from the white house, we only used the metro to get to arlington, everything else was quite close. Only about 5/10 minutes from the nearest metro stop as well. Doorman was really helpful, as were staff we dealt with in reception. Would definately stay again if I was returning to DC.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Good day and thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Traveling internationally can be tiresome and I am so glad to hear that you had a good night sleep and that our staff was very accommodating. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Lombardy for a quick sightseeing weekend. Excellent customer service, comfortable, clean room, reasonably priced. Our "park view" suite was the perfect set-up for our family of three. Only complaint was the noise from the street at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Booking a hotel in the city sometimes can be a bit noisy, but I assure you that most times in this area it is the opposite. We appreciate you and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TIG Global and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lombardy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.