We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Lombardy to your Saves list
Hotel Lombardy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Spent the past weekend at the Lombardy for a mini-reunion with friends, and had a very good time. The hotel is located in a fantastic location (I trained it into DC and took the metro from Union Station to the Foggy Bottom station, only a couple of blocks from the hotel...couldn't have been easier), it's spotless, has a great bar and lounge for pre- or post-dinner drinks ( thanks, Tillman, you make a mean Manhattan!), and while we didn't dine at the hotel (went out to some old favorites in nearby Georgetown), I did take a look and the dining room looked very inviting. Didn't have much interaction with the staff ( other than the bartender), but everyone I DID meet was nice. The bathroom was very large (from my NYC perspective), the king bed and plush pillows were wonderfully sleep inducing, and if it wasn't for the " new paint" fumes greeting me on my initial arrival on my floor (would have been nice to have alerted me to same upon checkin(was not detectable from inside room, however, and it eventually dissipated)) I would have given 5stars. Nice, reasonably-priced hotel. Check them out.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for you feedback. Great location definitely is one way to describe our hotel. We also strive to provide outstanding service and a great atmosphere for our guest, our staff go above and beyond to make sure that the hotel is in tip top shape, we do our best to complete any maintenance issues, such as paint touch ups prior to check-in time, sometimes it's a little hard but it is with good intention. I apologize if it caused you any inconvenience. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Coaardo Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    410
    85
    28
    20
See reviews for
205
401
84
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
529 reviews 529 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
1,033 helpful votes 1,033 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

They say location is important, as indeed it is. The Lombardy is located on Pennsylvania Avenue about half a mile from the White House. Lot's of stores and restaurants around so plenty to see, although the hotel is in a quiet location which is good. Front office staff were excellent and so helpful. Breakfast was not included in the room price(unlike in Europe) and was average at best and also expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here from Nov. 22 to Nov. 25. Room is very clean and situated in a great location (less than a min. walk to a bus stop, 2 blocks from Foggy Bottom metro station). Got a room on high floor view toward the street in front of the hotel as requested. Pasta was delicious. We would stay here again if we go back to D.C.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! I am happy to know that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as our Cafe. We do happen to be in one of the best locations of the city, which is a plus for our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel was wonderful, rooms were so clean and spacious. We'd just arrived from an international flight and had a perfect night's sleep! Perfect location too, just a short walk from the white house, we only used the metro to get to arlington, everything else was quite close. Only about 5/10 minutes from the nearest metro stop as well. Doorman was really helpful, as were staff we dealt with in reception. Would definately stay again if I was returning to DC.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Good day and thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Traveling internationally can be tiresome and I am so glad to hear that you had a good night sleep and that our staff was very accommodating. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Lombardy for a quick sightseeing weekend. Excellent customer service, comfortable, clean room, reasonably priced. Our "park view" suite was the perfect set-up for our family of three. Only complaint was the noise from the street at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Booking a hotel in the city sometimes can be a bit noisy, but I assure you that most times in this area it is the opposite. We appreciate you and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked this hotel direct through their website and got an amazing deal as booked quite far in advance. We just used the hotel as a base for seeing DC and the room had all the facilities we could need. Very clean. Very comfy bed. View from the window was not great, but that didn't bother us. The room even had a little kitchenette with fridge. Coffee maker and safe in room. Location was very central - easily walkable to all the sights, museums and Georgetown. Overall I would recommend this hotel and stay here again (if I can get a good advance deal online).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. What better way to travel than to get a great hotel at a great rate and enjoy the time spent. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Recently spent 4 nights in a suite in this great located hotel in DC. Staff very friendly, close to all major attractions including the White House! Would stay here again on a return visit to DC. Was given some great advice on where to eat, try the District Commons just two blocks down from the hotel.

Room Tip: choose a suite on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TIG Global and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lombardy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.