We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lombardy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic DC Getaway
Ranked #17 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
529 reviews 529 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
1,031 helpful votes 1,031 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

They say location is important, as indeed it is. The Lombardy is located on Pennsylvania Avenue about half a mile from the White House. Lot's of stores and restaurants around so plenty to see, although the hotel is in a quiet location which is good. Front office staff were excellent and so helpful. Breakfast was not included in the room price(unlike in Europe) and was average at best and also expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    408
    85
    28
    20
See reviews for
204
398
82
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here from Nov. 22 to Nov. 25. Room is very clean and situated in a great location (less than a min. walk to a bus stop, 2 blocks from Foggy Bottom metro station). Got a room on high floor view toward the street in front of the hotel as requested. Pasta was delicious. We would stay here again if we go back to D.C.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! I am happy to know that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as our Cafe. We do happen to be in one of the best locations of the city, which is a plus for our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel was wonderful, rooms were so clean and spacious. We'd just arrived from an international flight and had a perfect night's sleep! Perfect location too, just a short walk from the white house, we only used the metro to get to arlington, everything else was quite close. Only about 5/10 minutes from the nearest metro stop as well. Doorman was really helpful, as were staff we dealt with in reception. Would definately stay again if I was returning to DC.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Good day and thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Traveling internationally can be tiresome and I am so glad to hear that you had a good night sleep and that our staff was very accommodating. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Lombardy for a quick sightseeing weekend. Excellent customer service, comfortable, clean room, reasonably priced. Our "park view" suite was the perfect set-up for our family of three. Only complaint was the noise from the street at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Booking a hotel in the city sometimes can be a bit noisy, but I assure you that most times in this area it is the opposite. We appreciate you and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked this hotel direct through their website and got an amazing deal as booked quite far in advance. We just used the hotel as a base for seeing DC and the room had all the facilities we could need. Very clean. Very comfy bed. View from the window was not great, but that didn't bother us. The room even had a little kitchenette with fridge. Coffee maker and safe in room. Location was very central - easily walkable to all the sights, museums and Georgetown. Overall I would recommend this hotel and stay here again (if I can get a good advance deal online).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. What better way to travel than to get a great hotel at a great rate and enjoy the time spent. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Recently spent 4 nights in a suite in this great located hotel in DC. Staff very friendly, close to all major attractions including the White House! Would stay here again on a return visit to DC. Was given some great advice on where to eat, try the District Commons just two blocks down from the hotel.

Room Tip: choose a suite on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice on business, both times in cooler months. I'd actually give it three and a half stars. It is not nearly as nice as the Westin, which is only a handful of blocks away, but it is quaint charming, and in a better location.

I've had two rooms at this location: one in a massive suite with a sitting room (probably 1,000 square feet) and one in a regular king room. On both stays, I found the staff incredibly friendly and helpful and the location ideal. Walking distance to all of the places I needed to be during the day, very close to a drugstore, and practically on top of a metro stop.

The water pressure in the shower leaves something (actually a lot) to be desired, and there are no slippers to go with the bathrobe, but on the whole I was comfortable and well tended to. (The heaters do make some noise as well.)

Pros: You get a copy of the Washington Post every morning, and the restaurant has a nice breakfast.

Cons: Old building. Awful in-room coffee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TIG Global and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lombardy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.