We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lombardy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic DC Getaway
Ranked #18 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a great place to spend a night for a little DC weekend getaway. It is small, very clean, charming, the staff is old school polite especially the bell hops. I get the impression that there are many more people staying during the week because of its location. We used to stay there when the elevators were still hand operated/manual and miss that since the renovation. The rooms are incredibly comfortable and we appreciate the design. Nothing plastic about it. Sort of pre war New York feel. The cafe is adorable and makes you feel as if you are in Europe. The Venetian Room has a great atmosphere. The whole place makes us (we are not from the city) feel as if we are in a big city, nothing suburban about it. We go with our two young daughters who love it. The beds are very comfortable. They recently renovated and all the pillows are new. Way too puffy for us. The staff brought us a feather pillow but they ran out. Would be great if they made smaller ones available. We will bring our own next time.

Room Tip: Make sure you find out if they have your pillow type before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for giving us your feedback, we are happy to hear that you enjoy our hotel. It gives us great pleasure when we receive such awesome compliments. Our goal is to please our guest and make all feel at home. We are also taking your advice and will be getting smaller pillows for those guests who wish to have them. Again thank you for your time and we appreciate you and hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    405
    81
    28
    19
See reviews for
194
378
78
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We checked in very late (3am) and where exhausted! Our room was beautiful and amazingly comfortable. Any questions or issues were resolved quickly by the top notch staff. The service and staff at this property was second to none! The rooms are awesome, but the elevator is TINY!!!!!!

Room Tip: No tips. Just know that there is a great mall right across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
We are so very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Hotel was very charming and good location. Beds were a little too hard for my liking. Be careful having breakfast in the hotel. They add an 18% gratuity automatically. No business center. The front desk was willing to help out. Wireless connection in the room was poor at times.

Room Tip: Near George Washington University. Rooms facing Pennsylvania Ave little noisy especially around 2 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for your feed back , we appreciate you taking the time to tell us how you felt about your stay. We strive to provide excellent customer service for all of our guest and we take your comments very serious. We do not have a business center, however our Front Desk staff is more than willing to assist guest with any request. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have been caused and hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I was disappointed that the bar was closed for renovation the night I was there, though nothing was posted to that effect on their website, through which I made the reservation. I was looking forward to a quiet drink at the end of a long day, so that was upsetting. I'd have gone somewhere else if I'd known. And no room service when i got back. And the pillows were all huge synthetic-filled monsters, not a down pillow among them, so my neck was cramped all night and I slept very badly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Due to unforeseen circumstances we did have to close the bar for a short period and unfortunately time did not permit us to post this information on our website as it was unexpected and only for a short period. For the inconvenience we did offer cocktail service for guests in our Cafe’. We value you as a customer and appreciate all of your comments as we strive to maintain excellent customer service and make our guest happy to stay with us at all times!

Thank you,
Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I read recent rave reviews on this site so decided to book one evening for my husband's birthday celebration. Perhaps our check-in experience set the tone for our stay. When we approached the reception desk, one gentlemen greeted us and began checking our reservation. He was interrupted by another employee who said, "I'll do this - you better speak to an angry guest." Our room was adequate - shabby chic with an emphasis on shabby as the paint and carpet need attention and the sleeping area was quite cramped. On the positive side, linens were lovely and bed was firm. Being near the elevator, we expected some noise but not the volume we experienced at 8am on Saturday morning. A work crew started moving furniture and pounding on the floor of the room directly above ours - it became very noisy very quickly and we couldn't wait to get out of there. Our speed was curtailed by a lack of bath towels and we had to call the front desk three times before a janitor finally dropped by. We needed to stop by the reception area on the way out to inquire about storing our luggage, and the front desk clerk pounded a bell on the desk without saying anything to us. About five minutes later, a very friendly bellman appeared and promptly took our bag. We like to try new hotels in DC and are usually very pleasantly surprised....this was not the case at the Lombardy. We should've been warned about the renovation (or given a room that was not directly beneath the work area),the service was a real mixed bag, and our anticipated leisurely morning was a hectic dash to get out.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I would like to personally apologize for any inconvenience you were caused, that is certainly not the the experience we want our guests to walk away with. All of your concerns have been noted and will be investigated and addressed. Our goal is to provide the highest level of customer service to our guests at all times and under all circumstances.

We hope to get the opportunity to serve you again. If you are ever looking to come back to Washington, DC, please contact me personally and I would be happy to assist you with your accommodations.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The hotel has a great location, but I found this hotel not all geared to the needs of the business traveller. My room was a reasonable size, but there was nowhere to place clothes, the TV was at right angles to the bed, and instead of a desk, there was just a table, and the only available power outlets were underneath the table, so to re-charge my laptop, I had to crawl around under the table. The wireless internet was free, but slow (often below 1Mb/s) and kept on logging me out, so that even the simplest of tasks took ages. I reported this but no-one got back to me. Breakfast was just about OK, but at $24, hardly good value for money (and their standard check leaves a place for a tip even though they add 18% service charge automatically, which I for one find very irritating). On the plus side, the linens on the bed were of very high quality.

Room Tip: As far as I can tell, only the rooms at the front have any kind of view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, Director of Sales at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay. Our goal is to provide the best guest service possible. I apologize for any inconvenience you were caused during your stay. In reference to the Internet we have had some glitches in the past and have worked to resolve those issues. The next time you are town, please contact me directly, I will personally make sure your stay is a great one.

At your Service,

ReShell Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Very very Good! The room is very big! Wiith a big bathroom. The bed is excelente, the shower too. Very close to main atractions. Just a short and very good ride of White House and many other atractions.
You have supermarket and restaurants 1 blocks from the hotel.
The staff is very gently. The guys on the front door made everything to help us and are very friendly too. In Washington again, i will stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, Director of Sales at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking he time to give us your feed back. We strive to provide our guest with outstanding service and it makes us proud to know that you really enjoyed your stay! Can't wait to have you stay with us again.

ReShell Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, TIG Global, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lombardy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.