We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"L' Enfant was a treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added L'Enfant Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
South of Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“"L' Enfant was a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2005

We stayed June 15-19, '05 first for a 2 day convention, and then cancelled a reservation at the Holiday Inn and stayed the next 2 days because we were so pleased with the hotel, staff and restaurants.

(We had previously seen a very negative review re:the hotel not being up to Loew's standards - the Loew's name had just come off the hotel as it changed ownership - noting rude statff etc. and so we booked the HI in case the stay during the 2 day convention proved out that review)

We arrived on Wednesday about 1 :15pm and did have to wait for our room so we had lunch in the main reataurant...service was good, and all food fresh, well prepared and very good...the prices are typical of hotels, but not overly high. The room was ready at the end of lunch as promised.

Our room was really spectacular; at the conferece rate and then on the weekend at a lowered AAA rate, we had a room that was huge (over 22 X 20) plus additional dressing area with bureau, and a foyer with table and mirror. There was also a small 8x5 area where a rollaway could have been placed if needed. The bathroom was divided into a toilet/bath area and a seperate large sink area. There was even a washer dryer in the bathroom which was out of service but we did not expect or need. There was an iron and board as well as a hairdryer. There was also a TV in the sink area, as well as 2 phones in the room.

The King bedroom included the usual side tables, writing desk, small dining table with chairs and a bench at the foot of the bed. The armoire included an honor bar with extra stock in 2 drawers and a refrig of cold beverages..also TV and bureaus.

The pool on the roof was a great spot for a swim and included a lifeguard, towels, plenty of loungers and charirs, a bar and a BBQ with a small but adequate menu. There could have been a few umbrellas as there is no shade as the plantings are small.

The entire hotel was spotless and well-maintained. The staff was polite, often friendly, and all were attentive. One night I did have to call twice for a breakfast menu because the maid forgot to leave one. Housekeeper did apologize when she discovered I had to call twice and the menu then arrived most promptly.

We frequented the main dining room for dinner as a group of six one night, also had lunch 2 more times, stopped in the martini bar once and had drinks and small bites late one afternoon in the regular bar...drinks were perfect as ordered, food was fresh, good and service was attentive. Breakfast from room service were exactly on time, generous and delicious. Yes, there is an 18% SC and a 2.50 del charge but it is so stated on the order sheet. There was also a "coffee and" bar set up every morning in the lobby if one decided to grab and go.

The train station is located 1.5 blocks away and if you are located on the Smithsonian side of the building, you might hear it (no big deal at all)but I wouldn't have traded our huge room for anything. The hotel is located 2 short blocks from the main Smithsonian and the Mall. It is also located right on top of the metro system at (naturally) at the L'Enfant Station exit...so entirely convenient as the Metro is easy to use and connects to everything one wants to see in DC.

We went to Georgetown by cab one night but returned via the metro. The station/plaza below is full of shoppes with lots of fast food places but they do close once the commuters from offices nearby are gone...not sure exactly what time, though.

There is a large (for an in-town hotel) grassy area in front of the hotel and stroll ing area around the perimeter ; nice for a stroll at night without actually being out on the street as this area is one level up from the street and private to the hotel.

The only negative comment I would offer at all is that sometimes the telephone operators were confused; encountered this once when we were there, and on 3 calls to make the reservations 2 months prior (got bounced around, put on hold, finally told I could not make a reservation for a conference unless I spoke to the conference staff and they were out on the weekends(!). )

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    430
    283
    196
    126
See reviews for
392
261
78
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2005

We were a little daunted when we read some of the negative reviews of the L'Enfant Plaza Hotel a few days before our departure. But our experience during this visit and one in May was quite different than that described by those reviewers. We found the hotel staff to be helpful, pleasant and very professional. Our rooms were large, well-decorated and immaculate, and eating in the dining room and in our room was a first rate culinary experience. We knew from our visit in May that the price for breakfast was rather expensive, so for our second visit we chose a package that included breakfast and parking; considering the quality of the room and food, we considered it a bargain.

The location was perfect for our interests. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the war memorials and the National Gallery and Hirshorn and Sackler Museums. We are looking forward to a repeat visit next year.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London via North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2005

I have stayed in this hotel several times over the past three years for business and it gets worse and worse with each visit. This stay was the worst of all - I was moved rooms three times and still wound up checking into another hotel! The first two moves were drainage related - the sink wouldn't drain in one and the shower would not drain in the other. All three rooms showed signs of age, with stains on the carpet, furniture, and even the comforter. The veneer on the furniture was peeling and the armoire wood was cracked. After my first (and only) night on this stay I began to develop a rash on my leg - similar to another outbreak I had on my first visit three years (which at the time they blamed on insects in the lobby). To top it all off, they were doing work on the facade of the building that caused noise - they should start with re-vamping the inside!

Even though my week was paid for through work, I left and spent my own money at the Grand Hyatt Washington at Metro Center, which was a great hotel and an incredibly convenient location. Although I spend my time on the Mall at the museums for work (and L'Enfant's only appeal is that it is within walking distance to the Mall), it was just as easy to take two stops (about 10 minutes altogether) on the Metro to Smithsonian station.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2005

The L'Enfant needs an upgrade and overhall. It's worn out. My son and I stayed as it was close to the MCI Center. ( two metro stops) We were in town to attend the Tyson fight. I had booked the hotel weeks before using a discount on my auto club card. In checking in I was worn out from a almost 3 hour flight delay in Dallas( from L.A.) and simply signed the registration card without really reading it. At check out I found my discount was not included in the final tab. Thankfully, I had saved the registration I showed it to the desk clerk ,who seemed to think I was pulling a scam,to save $60.00 and questioned whether or not I had prepared it myself. She simply wanted to disregard their own document, and was totally disinterested. Her supervisor finally rectifed the oversight and was very professional.

However, altho' the rest of the staff was nice the hotel offers little to the tourist except access to the Metro. The " mall" is a joke also rundown and wornout. It is really a hotel for a businessperson who needs quick access to the office complex and the airport.

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2005

After reading in several tour guides that the Loew's L'Enfant location was wonderful for families, we unfortunately found otherwise. The L'Enfant is located atop a metro station and an underground "mall", but aside from the convenience of the train, the mall is a joke. It all but closes down from late Friday afternoon through Sunday. It houses several "restaurants" like McDonalds, but the shops are few and some appear to be going out of business.

Additionally, the office plaza location is terrible for families in our opinion. Once five o'clock rolls around, very few people remain in and around the plaza area which creates a feeling of isolation. My family and I walked to most of the sightseeing destinations, as we'd planned, though we felt quite uncomfortable returning in the early evening.

Loew's L'Enfant might be convenient for those attending conventions, but families should choose a more family-friendly destination.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bixby, OK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2005

We stayed at the L'Enfante Plaza hotel, and I must say that I was a little concerned after reading previous reviews of the hotel before we left. However, I was pleasantly surprised with our stay. The hotel was in a great location, and although it was surrounded by office buildings, it was worth it to walk to all the sites. The shopping center found below the hotel (by taking the elevator) proved to be a fun shopping experience. Every site in Washington D.C. was beautiful, but the capitol was the best. I would recommend it to anyone. Because all the monuments were free, you are able to spend more money on fine dining and shopping. If you are in the mood for a beautiful building, see the Library of Congress, which was absolutely breathtaking. WE loved our trip and hope to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2005

I had a one night stay back in Feburary here, and enjoyed it throughly.

The hotel is large, although it only comprises the top 3 floors of the building. The lobby is spacious, well lit, and a nice place to sit or meet.

There are 2 restaurants, the selection is mediocore, but the food is good. I enjoyed a complimentary hot breakfast buffet in the morning, including everything you could want to eat.

The room was a standard king bedded room with a sitting area. It was spacious and clean, and the furnishing were nice, but nothing fantastic. The bathroom was large and well stocked.

I used the gym facility, and was pleased, it is in a small space, i think it was undergoing a renovation, so there was a lot of equipment in a small space.

Overall I was pleased with the space and the service and no problems.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Enfant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Address: 480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Enfant Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homey and comfortable hotel within walking distance of major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your L'Enfant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Enfant Plaza
Lenfant Plaza Hotel
l Enfant Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.