We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient nice hotel except concierge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added L'Enfant Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Convenient nice hotel except concierge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Convenient location with metro just at door step. Located in the middle of major attractions around the city.
Only minus point is the concierge which we asked him to get a normal cab for us to airport. We reminded many times no limo and he still got us a limo. I believe that limo is from his friend and they were talking in Spanish when we refused to get on. This is USA and I speak English, so don't just pretend you don't understand what is meaning of 'no limo'. He is then frighten us that no cab at that time around the city (5am). What? no cab in Washington DC?

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    430
    283
    196
    126
See reviews for
392
261
78
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My wife and I recently (November 19 & 20) stayed at this terrific hotel which enjoys a great location near the DC Mall and the Smithsonian . . .and has a metro stop in the "basement". Our room on the 14th floor was clean and spacious, and provided a view toward the Washington monument. There is a lot of construction (new building?) in front of the hotel which was a distraction but not a problem. The front desk provided cordial and efficient service and advice for DC events. If you drive, be aware of the $43 per day valet parking fee and consider much cheaper public parking garages nearby (look and book ahead online @ Panda Parking).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

A classic hotel among the three towers of offices and above the underground shops of the Promenade Food Court at L’Enfant Plaza, change is in the works. The small park-like area with it glass pyramid is no longer. The next iteration is under construction and that noise permeates the plaza-facing rooms of the hotel from 7 am until darkness and beyond.

A doorman still greets guests arriving by taxi or from the nearby L’Enfant Plaza Metro stop. The lobby is spacious with comfortable seating a constant bustle from guests using the front desk, snack lounge, restaurant or Foggy Bottom Pub or business customers going to the numerous meetings rooms throughout the ground floor. Reception staff were friendly but insisted I would not hear the construction noise, maybe they never sleep in past 7am.

Two sets of elevators with one an express to the upper floors seemed adequate but one was under repair a lot. The room brought to mind a step back in time. with a CRT television, 1980’s alarm clock, green patterned carpet and wallpaper. The bath was well worn but functional, with a tub/shower combination, standard size white cotton towels, and hairdryer. Lacking a minibar or fridge, the only thing upscale was the $6 bottled water. The safe was large enough for a laptop. The closet had ten hangers, a steam iron and board. The small writing desk was fine as was the Wi-Fi speed. The TV featured common English language stations with no pay movies.

The small pub off the lobby advertised five draught beers of above average quality (Guinness, Long hammer IPA, Sam Adams Seasonal plus Youngling Lager and Stella Artois) but two were all out and no one changed the kegs. From the 13-place composite bar two TVs with audio created the “ambiance” of a sports bar. The American Breakfast Buffet offered a variety of cereals, scrambled eggs, orange juice, fruits, sausages and newspapers. Standard fare for an upscale price of $24-29.

Given its excellent location between the marina and the museums it will be interesting to see the upgrades following the 12 months of hotel renovation beginning January 2014. The hotel will be closed in the interim.

Room Tip: Try a river-facing room rather than a plaza-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed here in early November for almost a week. The rooms were clean, the restaurant had great meals, and the staff was very friendly. It's close to the Smithsonian, and even though there is construction going on in front of the hotel, it did not matter.
There are 2 drawbacks: The Foggy Bottom Brew Pub does not have a selection of craft beers, and that would be a plus if they did...too many domestic beers, and there are not a lot of places to eat near the place, but I would stay there again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Situated right next to the bus from the airport, and very close to the Smithsonian and the Mall including all attractions.
Not very fancy, but the rooms have what you need. Very good breakfast and very friendly staff. We got a room with a view over the river and Pentagon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I recently had a four day stay at the L'Enfant to visit the great city of Washington, DC. This was my first stay at the hotel, and I could not have asked for a better property in terms of location. It was perfect. Close to almost everything, and right at a metro station to take you to places a little farther out. No, the L'Enfant isn't fancy and could stand a makeover, but it's clean, and for the price and the location, I can't imagine any better. After all, I was in DC, and who stays in their room anyway?

I have only two minor complaints. It was cold at night during my stay, and the heat in the room wasn't working properly. It was much cooler in the room than I would have preferred. I spoke to desk attendant who said he would have someone look at it. If someone looked at it, that's all they did.

Also, the TV reception in the room was very bad. There was a flat screen TV, but there were only about 9 stations available and the picture was fuzzy on all of them. I didn't mention this to the desk attendant. Since they couldn't fix something as essential as the heat, I figured the TV wasn't going to get fixed, either. I didn't want to watch TV in a cold room, anyway.

Other than that, the stay was great due to where the hotel is located. I would highly recommend the L'Enfant for that reason, but you may want to bring an extra blanket during cold weather.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

In july 2013, we booked three rooms at the L'enfant Plaza Hotel for a 4 day stay over the Thanksgiving weekend. A week before our trip the hotel called us to say that they had over booked and did not have enough rooms for our entire stay. They said we could spend half of our trip at another location.This location was away from all the attractions and we would have to transfer at our expense. Not to mention the time wasted to travel and re-check in. WE BOOKED THIS IN jULY 2013. They cancelled us in November. Do you want to take the chance that they will do this to your trip? From the reviews that I have read, this is not the first time that this hotel has done this.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Enfant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Address: 480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Enfant Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homey and comfortable hotel within walking distance of major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your L'Enfant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Enfant Plaza
Lenfant Plaza Hotel
l Enfant Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.