We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old and nasty hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Enfant Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“old and nasty hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

the only good thing about this hotel was the night manger ,I cant remember his name buts he was very nice ,we got there very late and everything was closed he got us some foo and drinks
the room was very old the the water pressure was very low in the shower ,mold all over the place
and either there were ghosts in the hotel or they did constrictions at 1 am ,some one was knocking the all night for the 2 night I stayed there, the hotel is very far from the city and everything is closed by 9 pm
do yourself a favor don't stay in this hotel or I should say motel

Room Tip: just don't stay there for the same price or cheaper stay in holiday in express
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    429
    284
    195
    125
See reviews for
391
259
78
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Nope, never again. First of all, the woman that checked us in was totally unhelpful. I asked if I could just leave my small overnight bag behind the desk while I grabbed lunch before my check-in, and instead she checked me in early for a room that I didn't request. Not what I wanted.

Then she was laughing the entire time she was checking me in at the Asian man who was next to us asking another employee questions about his stay. He didn't look amused.

She didn't tell me the check out time, and she was laughing so hard she didn't tell us that we had to swipe our card to make the elevator work. That piece of information would have been helpful. Grow up, you work in a professional position.

The lobby makes you think you're somewhere nice when you're not. Decorations upstairs are cheap and flimsy. All electronics are outdated or broken, the room had insufficient lighting at night, and our shower was drafty. Getting hot water took forever.

There is nothing in this area. It's such a dead part of town that when I asked my cab driver to drop me off here at night, he was hesitant to let me get out of the car because he thought I didn't know where I actually was. The smithsonian is close, but the short walk is not worth staying in this place.

The only redeeming quality, and I mean THE ONLY ONE, was that there is a metro station directly downstairs.

Basically, this place has a 3 star lobby, but is actually a motel on top of a business building.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Didn't honor the room and bed selection. No late check out. Worn accommodations. Never, ever stay here. Business center couldn't print. Nothing in walking distance. Worst food and drink selection. If you want to waste money on the least value for you money, this is the place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manns Choice, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

"My wife planned this vacation months in advance. The pictures on the site show what appears to be a pretty swanky hotel for the price, so she jumped on the deal for a two night stay.

Upon arrival the lobby gave the impression of a nice place to stay. Our room was on the 14th floor and according to the the front desk, we were to have a superior view. The elevators only work if you swipe your room card. Nice security feature, but a little unhandy when you are managing luggage. The room hand an awful stench as if it was a room used for travelers with pets. The hallway and room carpets could use a good scrubbing or better yet, replacing. The room carpet was stained and wrinkled. The baseboards were filthy throughout the room and hallway. The curtains on the windows and door on the balcony were also filthy and disgusting. The bathroom must not have been cleaned before we arrived. There were feces on the toilet seat and the sink hand remnants of food or something in the bowl. This room had two telephones. One near the bed and one on the desk. The phone outlet under the desk was pulled from the wall exposing a baseball size hole with wiring. The bed was hard, uncomfortable, and needed flipped. The heat/air conditioning vent desperately needed cleaning and wall/ceiling area around it was black. The exhaust fan in the bathroom didn't work. Vending area was nothing more than a soda machine and ice.

Food in this hotel is very expensive, not worth the money, and waiter service was terrible. Took our order, brought our food, and that was it. No drink refills or checking to see if everything was ok.

Shops in the promenade under the hotel closed at 7 pm on Friday and stayed closed all weekend, even though this is a major Metro transfer station. Needless to say the only place to eat is the hotel or hop on the Metro and find something.

Being that we booked so far ahead, we didn't know all the attractions were going to be closed because of the government shutdown. A short trip on the Metro took us downtown to visit the wax museum and other sites.

We also happened to be in town when the remnants of hurricane Karen happened to go through so it rained the entire trip. Just our bad luck.

Be aware that there's no shopping or food near this hotel. We booked this hotel because of its location to the National Mall. Don't expect to go for a stroll and find a restaurant. Getting on the Metro or taking a cab is the only way to find something to do or see.

Bottom line -- this hotel needs some serious upgrading for me to even remotely consider staying here again.

Next time we decide to visit, we will be staying at a hotel near the Metro line outside of the city with better prices, amenities, and clean comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here only one night on a recent trip to the East Coast. Loved the location of the hotel, and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean - and although the rooms and halls could use some renovation, the bed was comfortable and we were able to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The only issues we had with our stay was the lack of internet access without paying a high fee of over 20 dollars a day and they block your ability on private devices to access the internet independent of their service. Other than that it was a great place with an awesome view of the tidal basin

Room Tip: Choose the tidal basin side it is a wonderful view and quieter whilke construction is taking place o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear James H,

Thank you for providing us feedback of your recent stay. Yes, it is correct that we charge $10/day for internet but if you have a device with it’s own service, for instance a tablet, you are able to access the internet without interference. I am sorry that you were not able to get through with your device while staying. We’re very glad you found our hotel to your liking and your view of the Tidal Basin! We look forward to future visits, please come again. We appreciate your patronage.

Best Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We found this property on hotels.com for $90 per night which we thought was a great deal given the reviews and location. We were not disappointed! The hotel is in a great location and is within walking distance of most major museums and attractions. An easy walk to the Smithsonian, National mall, Capitol building, shopping areas and lots of bars/restaurants. There is also a Metro stop just outside of the hotel and a food court underneath the hotel(not opened on weekends unfortunately) but lots of stuff nearby. There was a starbucks express in the lobby which was great for the mornings before we would head out to see the attractions. You could get tea, coffee, juices, baked goods, fruit bowls, breakfast sandwiches and yogourt all very reasonably priced. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and often offered assistance and suggestions for directions and what places we could visit. The front desk agent on the second night suggested a bar close by called "Charlie's" and it was a really fun evening out. They had great beer specials and the shots were huge!

We had a great stay and would definitely recommend. They even upgraded us to a deluxe poolview room with a king size bed for only $5!

Room Tip: I recommend asking for a pool view room or one that overlooks the Washington monument. This hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Enfant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Address: 480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Enfant Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homey and comfortable hotel within walking distance of major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your L'Enfant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Enfant Plaza
Lenfant Plaza Hotel
l Enfant Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;