We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Enfant Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
McHenry, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Awesome View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The only issues we had with our stay was the lack of internet access without paying a high fee of over 20 dollars a day and they block your ability on private devices to access the internet independent of their service. Other than that it was a great place with an awesome view of the tidal basin

Room Tip: Choose the tidal basin side it is a wonderful view and quieter whilke construction is taking place o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear James H,

Thank you for providing us feedback of your recent stay. Yes, it is correct that we charge $10/day for internet but if you have a device with it’s own service, for instance a tablet, you are able to access the internet without interference. I am sorry that you were not able to get through with your device while staying. We’re very glad you found our hotel to your liking and your view of the Tidal Basin! We look forward to future visits, please come again. We appreciate your patronage.

Best Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    429
    284
    195
    125
See reviews for
391
259
78
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We found this property on hotels.com for $90 per night which we thought was a great deal given the reviews and location. We were not disappointed! The hotel is in a great location and is within walking distance of most major museums and attractions. An easy walk to the Smithsonian, National mall, Capitol building, shopping areas and lots of bars/restaurants. There is also a Metro stop just outside of the hotel and a food court underneath the hotel(not opened on weekends unfortunately) but lots of stuff nearby. There was a starbucks express in the lobby which was great for the mornings before we would head out to see the attractions. You could get tea, coffee, juices, baked goods, fruit bowls, breakfast sandwiches and yogourt all very reasonably priced. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and often offered assistance and suggestions for directions and what places we could visit. The front desk agent on the second night suggested a bar close by called "Charlie's" and it was a really fun evening out. They had great beer specials and the shots were huge!

We had a great stay and would definitely recommend. They even upgraded us to a deluxe poolview room with a king size bed for only $5!

Room Tip: I recommend asking for a pool view room or one that overlooks the Washington monument. This hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tajeon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel, from Mar. 24 to 27. The hotel have charged WIFI for three nights. $32.85 that must be included in room package. I asked a refund, and General Manager asked me inform him my e-mail address.I did it and thought he would refund it, but no response yet !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were expecting a great location, but not much else. What a pleasant surprise, when from the minute we were greeted at the door by friendly and professional staff,until we left three days later, we experienced great service. The Metro under the hotel provided easy access to the major attractions, even though most of the time we walked because of the close proximity to the Smithsonian. The restaurants in the lobby provided good food at all times, in addition, there is a food court under the hotel that was full service during the week till 6pm, but limited on Saturday. The front desk was very accommodating to ensure patrons were far from the construction in front of the hotel. We couldn't hear any of the late night noise from our room. Dylan is awesome at the front desk- what a great asset to the hotel. Don't understand the negative reviews - This was a great place to stay!!

Room Tip: Higher floors offer views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merano, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel is in a big building with shops/bars/parking/metro stop; the style is classic a little bit dated. In our opinion, the room cleaning was discreet. We found an helpful and professional staff.
Beware the parking concierge who welcome you at the entrance! They want a lot of money to park your car in the public parking that is under the hotel where you can parking yourself for 37$ for night. But don't worry: at the reception say you all!
L'Enfant Plaza Hotel is an excellent location to visit the museums and monuments. Just under the hotel there are shopping center with restaurants and coffee, a metro stop and a public parking so be careful to take the right exit since you could lose! We did breakfast at Starbuck which is under the hotel and here we used free wifi because (as specified in the website) the wifi's hotel service is chargeable. You can leave your luggage in custody: the service is free!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went to DC for a wedding and really enjoyed our stay for the weekend. Will definetly go there again. My husband and I found it to be centerally located. There was construction going on outside of the entrance. But no disturbing at all. Thank you for the good services.





Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear wolfe900,

Thank you very much for your review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We cannot wait until your next visit! Thank you for being our guest.

Kind regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Let me start out by saying that I had extremely low expectations of this hotel before we arrived. I had booked through a discount travel website and got a great deal, and after reading through all of the terrible reviews here, I was a little frightened over what we would find when we arrived. But seeing as I was unable to change or cancel our reservations, and also given the excellent location this hotel is to all of the sights of D.C., I crossed my fingers and hoped for the best... and it worked!
When we walked into the lobby, we were really impressed with this place. Decorated nicely, very big, and we just had an overall good first impression. I wanted to try to get a room on the side away from the construction, and also wanted a King room instead of the standard two-queens that our online reservation said we would get. Since we checked in at midnight, I had low hopes for this, seeing as many hotels don't try and accommodate reservations that are booked through a third party. However the gentleman who helped us immediately granted both wishes and we received a room on the top floor with a view of the Washington Monument. Our first impression of the room was the same -- pleasantly surprised. It was very spacious, decorated nicely, and extremely clean. The bed had a down comforter and lots of feather pillows. I honestly was shocked because I had read so many terrible reviews.
Does the hotel need updating? Yes. Things are a little worn, the carpet and wallpaper is outdated. But everything is extremely clean and it's not ugly by any means. And it's also not THAT outdated. The bathrooms felt new and nice. Towels were standard thick white towels, as was the bedding. Furniture was completely fine and nice. Yes the TVs are box TVs, but they have plenty of channels and worked just fine. Maybe it was because of our initial low expectations and that fact that we got such a good deal, caused us to like this place so much, but we really enjoyed our stay and I would definitely stay here again.
Other nice things: the location was fantastic. We walked everywhere. Only took the metro once on our last day to Arlington Cemetery and to the airport. Metro was right next to the hotel, though, so we definitely could have saved our sore feet by taking it more frequently. The street leading up to the hotel is a little dark, but we never felt unsafe. Also, there are many shops and restaurants connected to the hotel, and it's also right across the road from many Smithsonians.
The people at the front desk were always helpful and pleasant. We were able to leave our suitcase with the bellhop on the last day after we checked out but before we had to leave for the airport.
We didn't use the pool, but it was open even in mid-October, which is nice because it was in the 70s throughout our stay. I didn't see a hot tub, and we would have used that if they had one. The construction didn't affect us at all, but I could see how it would be annoying if you had a room on that side of the hotel.
I can't speak to others' experiences, but we had a wonderful stay and would return next time we are in DC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the construction and with a view of the Washington Monument.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear mattmi01,

Thank you for your comments. We love to hear positive feedback from our guests and it brings us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and we “exceeded your expectations!” We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town. Thank you for choosing L’Enfant Plaza Hotel.

Kind regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Enfant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Address: 480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Enfant Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homey and comfortable hotel within walking distance of major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Enfant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Enfant Plaza
Lenfant Plaza Hotel
l Enfant Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.