We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New front desk staff please...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Enfant Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“New front desk staff please...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I hate when hotels offer you a special rate and then treat you like crap because you got a discount. I also hate when hotels offer you something (i.e. a room with a view) and then don't accommodate you with that upon your arrival. Oh, I hate when hotel staff talk to you like you are crazy or are having trouble understanding the processes that make their hotel work-- I'm here to check in, I don't need to know how or why, just check me in and don't snap at me.

The rooms were nice and clean. The cleaning staff was nice. The location was great... but honestly, there are many other hotels that can say the same (and offer discounts too). Next time we'll go for one of those, with nice staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear AshlieA,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the positive as well as the downbeat remarks. I am pleased to know you were provided with a nice and clean lodging space and that our housekeepers were their usual hospitable selves. I am however dismayed to read that our Front Desk staff was less than stellar. I have provided notice to the Front Desk in regards to their shortcomings for providing a friendly and helpful environment! We appreciate your business and hope that you would try us again.

Kind regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    429
    284
    195
    125
See reviews for
391
259
78
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I visited DC for 6 days while she attended a conference and I hung out with our daughter. The hotel was centrally located, within walking distance of the Mall and directly over a main Metro station...big plusses since we didn't have a car. The small food court was nice for a fast meal on the run and the CVS came in real handy several times. Everything closed up fairly early but we just learned to plan accordingly.
The lobby bar was nice, good pub grub and appetizers when our daughter and her fiance stopped by. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly, trying their hardest to smooth over a couple booking glitches. The room was clean, a little dated but overall pleasant enough. The hotel corridors were definitely shopworn; carpets, wallpaper, paint, light fixtures could all use a refurbishment. Hopefully these will be upgraded as part of the massive remodel that is underway near the front of the hotel. The pool and fitness room were fine. The lobby area was alway immaculate and the staff was always friendly and helpful. The lobby gift shop was great for a newspaper or munchies and bottled water (ice cold!)
Our major complaint was that on Saturday the hotel hosted a Summer Pool Party sponsored by a local radio station. The music was very loud and pretty much closed the pool area to hotel guests for the entire afternoon/evening. So after a very warm morning exploring DC and looking forward to a relaxing afternoon by the pool we instead freshened up and went back out. It was too noisy to even stay in our room. We weren't told about this event when we booked the room, checked into the hotel or while there for a few days. We had a notice on our bed when we returned to the hotel that afternoon. Something like that needed to be published well in advance for guests.
Overall our stay was pleasant enough. Big plusses; convenience and value. Small minusses; rooms and hallways outdated and worn.

Room Tip: Be very careful when booking a "superior view room". Our room looked directly into an off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here in August 2013 with my daughter in a twin queen room. We ended up on the 12th floor with outward facing rooms which overlooked a road network and the river. Our rate was excellent via a 3rd party booking agent at $89 per room per night plus tax. This included breakfast.

Outside of the hotel's control is extensive construction to the front of the hotel - in fairness it did not bother us though it did give off 'dust a plenty' and some noise! Hotel staff worked hard at keeping the lobby very clean and tidy and the valet guys were good humoured, kind chaps who took one’s mind of the construction grief! Their jokes were infectious and they were extremely professional.

We encountered only helpful and courteous staff throughout our stay. Everyone was friendly, polite and helpful. I cannot fault that at all. It was impressive to see such customer focussed staff.

I personally felt the parking fee was high. As I recall, it was $43 plus tax for valet per day and around $3 less to self park. I accept this is city centre parking and costs are a premium. I just felt it was steep.

The location of this hotel was a real bonus. We could walk to the Mall and many of the Smithsonian museums without effort. The Big Bus Tour company has a stop right outside the house and tickets can be bought inside the hotel for this tour, there are food places and a CVS pharmacy underneath the hotel and the concourse that leads to this, can be reach by a lift in the hotel lobby. The metro station is on the same concourse, but the food places mainly close after office hours it seems.

The bedrooms were large. Ours had two queen size beds, a table and 2 chairs and cabinet which included drawers and a TV and a desk. There was also a built in wardrobe with ample hangers and free to use small safe. Coffee was supplied - around 3 cups. Water is provided in the room but at a charge of $6 per bottle if you drink it!

The linens in the room were fine - they were cleaned and of a reasonable quality. As were the towels.

The room was superficially clean. however, the curtains and nets, the carpets and skirting edges were all not great. Dust was easy to find in everywhere other than the main counter tops. The room was simply tired I guess - large old CRT TV, dark wooden furniture, and vintage air con system which was a headache to control and fixtures and fittings which clearly once had been glorious but were now a bit battered from heavy use of some years.

Breakfast was pleasant - it was included for us but I think is around $22 each plus tax otherwise. There is a buffet or the option to buy specific items from a fairly large menu.

This seems to be a hotel that in its prime would have been awesome. The lobby is still very neat. The rooms sadly have not fared quite as well. Nothing a renovation would not resolve. Excellent staff. Excellent location. For what we paid - it was good value (parking aside).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My family and I were returning from a lengthy road trip vacation and decided on a stop in DC as our final destination. We wanted one last day and night to relax and we wanted to do that in luxury. Upon visiting the website for the L'Enfant, we knew that this would be the appropriate, pricey, but worth it place to stay. We could not have been MORE WRONG! The staff was unpleasant and uninformative. It felt like they were shooing us out of their faces so that they could get back to the "important" tasks they needed to accomplish. Once we made it to our floor, before we even got to our room, we noticed that the carpet was duct taped together in, not one, but many places. The floorboards in the hall were stained and scuffed and just plain gross. It smelled musty and looked worse. When we entered our room it became clear that this hotel hadn't updated their rooms in well over a decade. The room also smelled musty and didn't feel clean. The bathroom was small, tub was stained and toilet sounded like a rocket launching. The television was an old, tube TV set and reception was horrible. There were a few channels and if you wanted to watch something else you had to pay for it. You also had to pay extra for WiFi. Once we got hungry, I tried to call the concierge to ask about dining in the area or takeout places that delivered to the hotel and got no answer. Without boring anyone with any other disparaging details, do yourself a favor and don't stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear SarahStover,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your stay at L'Enfant Plaza was disappointing. Please know we have addressed each department concerning your issues while staying here especially being placed in a room that was undesirable. I have notified each department of their shortcomings along with the Front Desk staff in providing a friendly and helpful environment! I do appreciate your business.

Kind regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in August, booking through a discount travel website at a pretty good rate. Location was great but the rooms are a bit dated and service fair at the best. Every morning housekeeping would knock at our door before 9! Parking is extra and a bit pricey. The restaurant is pricey and I was not impressed with the freshness of the food. Was not happy that the pool was closed for maintenance for the rest of the week and with the messy construction in front of the building.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear bonbon36_38,

Thank you for choosing L’Enfant Plaza and your comments. Customer Service is a priority and I am disappointed to learn that you did not receive outstanding service during your stay. While the parking at the hotel may seem high, it is actually on the lower end of parking inside of DC. Unfortunately, we are not able to control the construction taking place in front of the property. Although our pool had to be closed for emergency maintenance, we did provide patrons with the option to be shuttled to a hotel near by and use of their pool. We hope that if you return to the area you would consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

As mentioned by others, the location to museums and the metro is great especially when traveling with children.
Beyond that the great part of this hotel ends.
After checking in, we discovered that the air conditioning filter was dirty and the grate covering it was covered in dust as was the grate of the air conditioning supply to the room. One of the lights in the bathroom was out, turned out they needed to replace the fixture, the sliding door to the balcony was hard to move, we discovered ants on the floor next to the TV, as well in the bathroom. As others have posted, the rooms appear old and dirty.
This hotel has great potential because of its location but its age and lack of perceived interest by the hotel staff and management to improve will keep me from recommending or returning.
I gave a rating of Poor instead of terrible only because of its location.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Steven R,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your accommodations were less than satisfactory. I would also like to apologize that you were inundated with ants. This was an unexpected “side effect” of our insect control measures. I would also like to you to know that we are addressing the poor guest relations by our desk staff. Please know that we have addressed your comments with all departments. We thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests. We hope you will stay with us again once we are renovated.

Kind regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Their website promises more. I went for a site inspection for a future conference in DC. In truth, reception staff looked bored and uninterested - same goes for the doorman who was on his mobile phone, clearly to a friend. Took no notice of me at all. The room was very grim, tired and dated. Carpet was heavily stained, bathroom was very very basic. Food, very very average. Would never stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Jacqueline B,
I am extremely surprised to hear that during a site inspection you noted such poor performance. I trust that this information was relayed to the Sales Manager who was assisting you. We’re sorry to know you were disappointed with the facilities. Thank you, again for taking the time to post your review.

Sincerely,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Enfant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Address: 480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Enfant Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homey and comfortable hotel within walking distance of major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Enfant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Enfant Plaza
Lenfant Plaza Hotel
l Enfant Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.