We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Enfant Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Woodbridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wouldn't return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in August, booking through a discount travel website at a pretty good rate. Location was great but the rooms are a bit dated and service fair at the best. Every morning housekeeping would knock at our door before 9! Parking is extra and a bit pricey. The restaurant is pricey and I was not impressed with the freshness of the food. Was not happy that the pool was closed for maintenance for the rest of the week and with the messy construction in front of the building.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear bonbon36_38,

Thank you for choosing L’Enfant Plaza and your comments. Customer Service is a priority and I am disappointed to learn that you did not receive outstanding service during your stay. While the parking at the hotel may seem high, it is actually on the lower end of parking inside of DC. Unfortunately, we are not able to control the construction taking place in front of the property. Although our pool had to be closed for emergency maintenance, we did provide patrons with the option to be shuttled to a hotel near by and use of their pool. We hope that if you return to the area you would consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    428
    284
    195
    125
See reviews for
390
259
78
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

As mentioned by others, the location to museums and the metro is great especially when traveling with children.
Beyond that the great part of this hotel ends.
After checking in, we discovered that the air conditioning filter was dirty and the grate covering it was covered in dust as was the grate of the air conditioning supply to the room. One of the lights in the bathroom was out, turned out they needed to replace the fixture, the sliding door to the balcony was hard to move, we discovered ants on the floor next to the TV, as well in the bathroom. As others have posted, the rooms appear old and dirty.
This hotel has great potential because of its location but its age and lack of perceived interest by the hotel staff and management to improve will keep me from recommending or returning.
I gave a rating of Poor instead of terrible only because of its location.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Steven R,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your accommodations were less than satisfactory. I would also like to apologize that you were inundated with ants. This was an unexpected “side effect” of our insect control measures. I would also like to you to know that we are addressing the poor guest relations by our desk staff. Please know that we have addressed your comments with all departments. We thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests. We hope you will stay with us again once we are renovated.

Kind regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Their website promises more. I went for a site inspection for a future conference in DC. In truth, reception staff looked bored and uninterested - same goes for the doorman who was on his mobile phone, clearly to a friend. Took no notice of me at all. The room was very grim, tired and dated. Carpet was heavily stained, bathroom was very very basic. Food, very very average. Would never stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Jacqueline B,
I am extremely surprised to hear that during a site inspection you noted such poor performance. I trust that this information was relayed to the Sales Manager who was assisting you. We’re sorry to know you were disappointed with the facilities. Thank you, again for taking the time to post your review.

Sincerely,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Charged top price for terrible room. Told them about it and they don't care.They did nothing to address our concerns.Ceiling leaked carpet and furniture was stained.Room smelled
musty. Tile and wallpaper was peeling off the bathroom walls. Bathroom counter looked like it was about to fall apart.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Bobfanguscat,

Thank you for your feedback from you May stay. We do take our customer comments very seriously at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel and have addressed many of the problems you experienced. Your feedback from this past spring has been used to provide a more pleasing stay for future guests.

Best Regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

You can not beat this location with kids. So easy to walk to all the Smithsonian attractions. And everything else is a short cab ride away. The Subway is right under the hotel and well traveled on weekdays.

The hotel needs so much work. All of the rooms need an update. Broken fixtures in the bathroom, dirty carpets, ripped wallpaper. We paid extra for the balcony , and the view was amazing -- but first we had to clean the balcony of the spiders and webs before we could get out there.

DO NOT eat at the restaurant. Such a huge disappointment. Fruit flies everywhere, had to swat them away trying to eat. Advised staff several times, and they really didn't care. Manager also didn't apologize or offer any solution. Just explained that they get them often. ??? We rushed to finish and get out. 2 adults, 3 kids, $125. Expensive restaurant that we couldn't get out of fast enough.

Lastly, we visited the end of July. Saturday is Pool Party Night. ADULTS ONLY. So if you have kids, be ready for NO POOL on SATURDAY NIGHT from 5 pm on. A disappointment after walking the Smithsonian's all day to find the pool open to adults only....

Room Tip: Balcony has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear lsgilbert ,

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize that you did not have the best experience while at our hotel. We take our customer comments very seriously at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel and will make sure to address the problems you experienced. We will use your feedback to try and provide a more rewarding stay for future guests.

Best Regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed during a mini vacation in DC. It was last minute, so we had no choice but to stay there. We had gotten a king room, due to the construction, we were offered another room that had a double bed. It was still noisy however. The lobby was nice, but all the construction was so distracting! The room was so dated and tired looking. Definitely need to upgrade the rooms. The carpet was stained and the bathroom was so old. Even the linens were not nice. The mattress was lumpy, I couldn't even sleep! I had gotten the wifi and breakfast package. The wifi barely worked, but the breakfast was very nice. They had pancakes, eggs, bagels, lox, fresh fruit and plenty of coffee and and juice. Service was excellent in the restaurant. If they ever modernize the rooms, I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear fbk227,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry for any inconvenience associated with the construction taking place in front of the hotel. Unfortunately, we have no control over the performance and timing of the construction. I apologize that your room accommodations were not to your liking. It is good to know that at least your restaurant experience was enjoyable. Once the hotel is modernized we will definitely let you know. Thank you for staying with us, we sincerely appreciate your business.

Best regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was delighted with the pool side room, large new comfortable king size bed, free map from the concierge, free luggage storage. Check in seemed a little late, begins at 4 p.m. The room had new wallpaper, new linens, clean tub, new tile. The TV was an older model tube model, but there were many free channels plus several pay per view movie choices. There was a full size desk and comfortable office chair. Carpet was clean, but a little outdated. Furniture was also nice solid wood, but dated. The location allowed me to walk everywhere for the national march and all of the museums. Night life was also nearby, but I needed to rest. The front desk was helpful and friendly. When searching, I could not find any better value for the money. I would definitely stay here again. It was also quiet for a restful sleep on Saturday and Sunday night. Enjoy this value.
The restaurant also had a great menu with delicious food reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Poolside was nice, but a higher outside floor will give you a view of some of the national treasures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear BryanBLM,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that we were able to make your stay at L'Enfant Plaza a pleasant one. Customer Service is a priority and I am delighted to know that our staff is providing good hospitality! We appreciate your business and hope that you choose to stay with us on your next trip to DC.

Sincerely,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Enfant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Address: 480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Enfant Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homey and comfortable hotel within walking distance of major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your L'Enfant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Enfant Plaza
Lenfant Plaza Hotel
l Enfant Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.