We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“L'Enfant Plaza Washington DC” 1 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Enfant Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“L'Enfant Plaza Washington DC”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Their website promises more. I went for a site inspection for a future conference in DC. In truth, reception staff looked bored and uninterested - same goes for the doorman who was on his mobile phone, clearly to a friend. Took no notice of me at all. The room was very grim, tired and dated. Carpet was heavily stained, bathroom was very very basic. Food, very very average. Would never stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Jacqueline B,
I am extremely surprised to hear that during a site inspection you noted such poor performance. I trust that this information was relayed to the Sales Manager who was assisting you. We’re sorry to know you were disappointed with the facilities. Thank you, again for taking the time to post your review.

Sincerely,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    435
    287
    197
    125
See reviews for
390
259
78
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Charged top price for terrible room. Told them about it and they don't care.They did nothing to address our concerns.Ceiling leaked carpet and furniture was stained.Room smelled
musty. Tile and wallpaper was peeling off the bathroom walls. Bathroom counter looked like it was about to fall apart.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Bobfanguscat,

Thank you for your feedback from you May stay. We do take our customer comments very seriously at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel and have addressed many of the problems you experienced. Your feedback from this past spring has been used to provide a more pleasing stay for future guests.

Best Regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

You can not beat this location with kids. So easy to walk to all the Smithsonian attractions. And everything else is a short cab ride away. The Subway is right under the hotel and well traveled on weekdays.

The hotel needs so much work. All of the rooms need an update. Broken fixtures in the bathroom, dirty carpets, ripped wallpaper. We paid extra for the balcony , and the view was amazing -- but first we had to clean the balcony of the spiders and webs before we could get out there.

DO NOT eat at the restaurant. Such a huge disappointment. Fruit flies everywhere, had to swat them away trying to eat. Advised staff several times, and they really didn't care. Manager also didn't apologize or offer any solution. Just explained that they get them often. ??? We rushed to finish and get out. 2 adults, 3 kids, $125. Expensive restaurant that we couldn't get out of fast enough.

Lastly, we visited the end of July. Saturday is Pool Party Night. ADULTS ONLY. So if you have kids, be ready for NO POOL on SATURDAY NIGHT from 5 pm on. A disappointment after walking the Smithsonian's all day to find the pool open to adults only....

Room Tip: Balcony has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear lsgilbert ,

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize that you did not have the best experience while at our hotel. We take our customer comments very seriously at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel and will make sure to address the problems you experienced. We will use your feedback to try and provide a more rewarding stay for future guests.

Best Regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed during a mini vacation in DC. It was last minute, so we had no choice but to stay there. We had gotten a king room, due to the construction, we were offered another room that had a double bed. It was still noisy however. The lobby was nice, but all the construction was so distracting! The room was so dated and tired looking. Definitely need to upgrade the rooms. The carpet was stained and the bathroom was so old. Even the linens were not nice. The mattress was lumpy, I couldn't even sleep! I had gotten the wifi and breakfast package. The wifi barely worked, but the breakfast was very nice. They had pancakes, eggs, bagels, lox, fresh fruit and plenty of coffee and and juice. Service was excellent in the restaurant. If they ever modernize the rooms, I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear fbk227,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry for any inconvenience associated with the construction taking place in front of the hotel. Unfortunately, we have no control over the performance and timing of the construction. I apologize that your room accommodations were not to your liking. It is good to know that at least your restaurant experience was enjoyable. Once the hotel is modernized we will definitely let you know. Thank you for staying with us, we sincerely appreciate your business.

Best regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was delighted with the pool side room, large new comfortable king size bed, free map from the concierge, free luggage storage. Check in seemed a little late, begins at 4 p.m. The room had new wallpaper, new linens, clean tub, new tile. The TV was an older model tube model, but there were many free channels plus several pay per view movie choices. There was a full size desk and comfortable office chair. Carpet was clean, but a little outdated. Furniture was also nice solid wood, but dated. The location allowed me to walk everywhere for the national march and all of the museums. Night life was also nearby, but I needed to rest. The front desk was helpful and friendly. When searching, I could not find any better value for the money. I would definitely stay here again. It was also quiet for a restful sleep on Saturday and Sunday night. Enjoy this value.
The restaurant also had a great menu with delicious food reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Poolside was nice, but a higher outside floor will give you a view of some of the national treasures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear BryanBLM,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that we were able to make your stay at L'Enfant Plaza a pleasant one. Customer Service is a priority and I am delighted to know that our staff is providing good hospitality! We appreciate your business and hope that you choose to stay with us on your next trip to DC.

Sincerely,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, NY
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I wanted to like this place, but I can't recommend it. It was built in the 70s when it seems every DC building was faced in concrete and not much else. The hotel is too big, too old, badly in need of a major update - inside and out.

It was clean. The pool inset 3 floors below the top floor in the central courtyard was kind of cool. The lobby and connection to the metro, surprisingly, don't work - but, that's typical DC. Too many distances, too little convenience.

I had always wanted to stay here because it is so close to the National Mall and the Air & Space Museum. The rate was always high, it was always booked. After staying there on a discount Bookit.com price, I really don't understand how they survive at their price point, except for their proximity to The Mall.

Someone should buy this property and fix it up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear WarwickTraveler29,

Thank you for your feedback. We would have preferred it also if you had liked our property. Our hotel is in need of a major renovation and hopefully we will get one sooner than later but we still work to provide a clean and enjoyable space for all our guests. We apologize that your experience was not fulfilling. We appreciate your business. Thank you for trying L’Enfant Plaza.

Best Regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorville, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location was fabulous, the lobby was very pretty and the valet service was wonderful. Once inside, the hotel hallways and room was old, run down, and dirty. The wallpaper was peeling off the walls and the carpet was dingy. We paid $10.00 extra for a room with a city view and it was worth it. We were on the fifteenth floor with a balcony that overlooked everything from the Washington Monument to the Capitol, gorgeous at night. Unfortunately, there was no furniture on the patio. We ate at the American Grill restaurant and it was not noteworthy. The menu was small and the food was bland. The seating and décor were old and in need of updating. We used the roof pool one evening and there were no lights on, so it was too dark to have fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear pattyt7,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. I am delighted to know that the city view was a worthwhile investment for you and your family. I am not sure if you made anyone aware of the pool light issue but we have fixed that problem after receiving notification from another guest. We hope that you will consider staying with us again once we are renovated.

Sincerely,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Enfant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Address: 480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Enfant Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homey and comfortable hotel within walking distance of major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your L'Enfant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Enfant Plaza
Lenfant Plaza Hotel
l Enfant Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.