We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD LOCATION, ROOMS IN NEED OF REFURBISHMENT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Enfant Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
CHESHIRE, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“GOOD LOCATION, ROOMS IN NEED OF REFURBISHMENT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

5-10 minute stroll down to the mall area (be warned most museums/sights only seem to be open 10am to 430pm or 5), 25 minute brisk walk to Penn Quarter shops/restaurants (there's nothing like this around the hotel). Starbucks in lobby open early morning to lunchtime, restaurant food/service average, check in efficient, bell staff too relaxed (if you need a taxi order yourself in advance). Rooms good size and clean (with fridge - suggest you stock with drinks as vending and ice machines seem to be often out of service) but very tired, view of mall obscured by unattractive rooftops. Pool good. not sure i would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear PARENTWITHKIDS,

Thank you for your comments. I am delighted to know that you experienced some positive moments while staying with us. Please know that we take our customer comments seriously and will give thought to each of them. Thank you for your business.

Kind regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    429
    284
    195
    125
See reviews for
391
259
78
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel lives in the land that time forgot. I have no idea how they stay in business when there are SOOO many hotel options in the DC metro area.

This hotel is tired, worn, outdated, dirty - it's not 1970 anymore! I would highly suggest a renovation - immediately!
On the plus, the lobby is light and airy, the hotel sits on top of the Metro so it's very easily accessible, the hotel has a pool, the beds were comfortable.
On the minus - the guest room furniture is chipped and old, the TV is HUGE - as is the credenza (ever heard of a flat screen?? most hotels don't use credenza's anymore because they are tacky), the carpet is stained and bubbles in random places, the alarm clock brings me back to my high school days - and I'm almost 40 (where's the BOZE clock with the iPod docking station??), I had a fridge on the floor - randomly placed, for no apparent reason, the guest room hallway was riddled with dirty dishes - for the entire day, the restaurant bench seating looks like it was shredded by a cat - no, I'm not joking.

Unless this hotel is giving away free room nights, stay away!!!! There are so many better choices in DC - keep searching!!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear DebinDC,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that we could not make your stay at L'Enfant a better one. We thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests.

Best Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

After reading some of the recent reviews I was expecting the worst. I will say the rooms are dated...19 inch tube tv, dated wallpaper, you get the point. On the plus it is in a great location, the beds were comfortable and the staff was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Ken M,

Thank you for your business and your comments. At L'Enfant Plaza we stress quality customer service and we are glad that we were able to provide it along with a comfortable bed during your stay here.

Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Bought a living social deal on this hotel, but for the amount I saved paid more in hidden fees. still waiting for money the hotel owes me. You will pay 43 dollars (50 with taxes) with valet. We would have done the garage but our SUV was too tall. Taxes are steep, but the big charge was the amount the hotel puts on hold, over 212.49, a random amount that i was told was automatic, but still has not been returned to my account. On top of that the rooms were not that nice, a SUPERIOR room without even a fridge to keep drinks cool. The ONLY thing that is positive about this hotel is the staff. They were very friendly and helpful, but still not happy that I spend so much after already having paid for my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Only blocks from the Washington monument, this hotel was in an amazing location! Right above the metro station too. We had the valet park our F150 truck for us, for a pricey fee, but it was a trouble saver for us. The hotel needs updating, but the staff and cleanliness made it worth it. It is located above the metro AND the promenade, includes its own restaurant and bar, and offers some great views of downtown DC. Definitely staying there again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear MSgt_RN,

We would definitely like for you to stay with us again! We love to hear great feedback from our guests and it brings us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay. I am aware that the valet charge may seem pricey but it is actually on par with other hotels in the area. We look forward to having you during your next trip to the DC area. Please socialize with us on Facebook and Twitter so you may get advance information on deals with us.

Best Regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EARLYSVILLE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We saw the mixed reviews, but decided to try this hotel anyway based on its convenient location near the Mall. We followed the hotel's website directions, but they had not been updated since the new construction began and we got a bit turned around (there's no longer a pyramid to mark your turn!) Once we found the hotel though, the check-in was easy, the room was clean and met our needs (3 adults in 2 double beds) as we were only in it to sleep and shower anyway. The beds were comfortable, the A/C worked well, and housekeeping delivered extra towels upon request. Also, the front desk allowed us a later check-out time which we really appreciated. As noted by other reviewers, the cost for parking is exhorbitant but it was well sign-posted, so we knew up front what the charge would be. (In hindsight, we should have self-parked rather than pay $43/day for valet, plus tips.) Since we used the subway to get to our restaurant one night, it was very convenient having a Metro stop literally underneath the hotel. The food court in the Promenade level below the hotel provided other food options besides the hotel restaurant but since they primarily serve the offices nearby, not all are open on weekends. The best part about our stay was how quickly we could walk to and from the Smithsonian buildings on the Mall. That alone made it worth staying there. Also, we were told that a major renovation of the rooms is starting soon so perhaps by next summer all the rooms will be updated.

Room Tip: Some rooms open onto the pool area but the quietest rooms face the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotel pretty good location. Metro underneath is great for getting around. Decent pool and room service. Rooms ok - not the quality that they try to display, but totally reasonable, except for AC fan which was loud, rattled and occasionally seemed to drip water (It did work to keep it cool even though it was over 95 degrees outside). Front desk was helpful and I asked for a fridge in the room and it was the coldest I've ever had. My problem with this property was the PARKING. They do not address anything in their booking descriptions, but be advised that to park your car, you need to use underground parking which costs around $38 to do on your own and $43 for valet. RIDICULOUS, but no real other options in DC. I used valet because a couple dollars for service isn't what bothers me - its the nearly $40 a day! Hotels should know better than to do something like this. With this cost, I probably would not stay here again if I returned to DC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Enfant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Address: 480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Enfant Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homey and comfortable hotel within walking distance of major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your L'Enfant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Enfant Plaza
Lenfant Plaza Hotel
l Enfant Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.