We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added L'Enfant Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Sycamore, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Location, Helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Contrary to several previous reviews, we had excellent service upon checking in. The desk clerk was extremely helpful, the bell staff also quite helpful. The location of the hotel is superb; walking distance to monuments, DC Mall, The Capitol, the White House, Union Station, etc. The hotel is old, and could use a make over, but the rooms were clean, quite large, and the outdoor pool was in service. There is a promenade level which has good fast food restaurants for a quick, reasonably priced breakfast, and the Metro is also a level below that. All in all, I would recommend staying there; good price, clean, easy access to transportation.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room that faces pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Sycamoresue49,
We would definitely like for you to stay with us again! We love to hear great feedback from our guests and it brings us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay. At L'Enfant Plaza we stress quality customer service and we are glad that we were able to provide it while you were here. We look forward to having you during your next trip to the DC area.

Best Regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    430
    283
    196
    126
See reviews for
392
261
78
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We travel frequently as a family and have stayed in all caliber of hotels... with that said we still decided to book because of the location, regardless of bad reviews... um popcorn ceiling, soiled sheets.. soiled pink light blue and gold pictures from the early 90's, 13 inch tv, pink 1980's lamps, peeling wall paper, missing baseboards, does not look anything like the the pictures online, we abandoned our reservation, we couldn't even stay, trust me when I tell you even if a hotel is ugly and old.. the most important is cleanliness. Not the Case.. its the least they can do after all. . They are supposed yo be a hotel, more like a motel you rent by the hour. My advise, find a Westin.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Junpau,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that we could not make your stay at L'Enfant a better one. We thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests.

Best Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a horrible experience upon check-in. We had a livingsocial deal displayed on our cell phone but the front desk made us go down the hall to the Business Center to print it. Then, we had to wait in line again-- this delayed our check-in for 45 minutes. Also, the livingsocial deal said we were to get a "superior view" room, but we had a view of the heating vent. We called the front desk, but they could not give us what we reserved. In addition, before check-in, when we called for more specific directions, the operator transferred us to the front desk who never answered the phone. We called three times, but could not get in touch with the main desk. We travel a lot, and come to Washington DC frequently, but we will never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Mary M,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your stay at L'Enfant Plaza was disappointing. Please know we have addressed each department concerning your issues while staying here especially not being able to get through to the Front Desk. Again, thank you for your feedback. It is our hope that you would try staying with us again. Thank you for your business.

Kind regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a 1 star bc of the great location but other then that I would give this hotel 0 stars if I could. We had to switch rooms bc the 1st one had a broken ac motor that was so loud. In the new room the next day, the toilet started overflowing. The customer service (manager) was rude and wasn't a bit apologetic for our inconveniences. There was a person who claimed to be a lifeguard at their pool who looked more of a gangster than a lifeguard. What type of lifeguard wears shoes and talks on the phone at the pool?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear May Y,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your stay at L'Enfant Plaza was unsatisfactory. Please know we have addressed each department concerning your issues while staying here. We have also replaced the previous lifeguard. It is our hope that you would try staying with us again. Again, thank you for your feedback and for your patronage.

Kind regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Telephone contact with the reservation staff to confirm my reservation was rude and lacking. Heather and George were the only civil employees I spoke with.. The rest were in need of serious customer service training. I was berated by one of the staff because I made my reservations through a third party. Another friend of mine received the same treatment and felt compelled to lodge a complaint.
I am not looking forward to my stay at the L'Enfant next week but I'm locked into a contract and the room is paid for. I requested double beds but they refuse to accommodate me. I pray my stay isn't as bad as the reviews.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear vshdst;

Thank you for your comments. Let me apologize for any rude behavior that may have been exhibited; as this is not how we do business. We appreciate your feedback and we will use it to better serve future guests.

Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The L'Enfant Plaza Hotel is 2 block South of the Smithsonian Castle which is great if you have a couple days to visit all the mall has to offer. We went East one day and West the other.

The shops and eateries below provide a variety of choices to get a quick bite to eat. The Hotel is on top of the Metrorail station and very easily accessible. There are offices between the 2nd and 11th floors so the weekend was not full of tourist traffic.

The staff at L'Enfant were all friendly and helpful. We will stay here again when we have the opportunity to visit the country's capital.

Room Tip: We stayed on the North side of the building. From our balcony we could see the Capital building, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear rider_walt,

We were thrilled to read your review of our hotel. We are so glad that you found our hotel wonderful. Customer Service is a priority to us and we are glad that we were able to make you feel welcome and at home. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for your feedback. Please socialize with us on Facebook and Twitter.

Kind regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I booked this room for a fun family vacation. It has a metro stop right under the hotel. Is the closest to all the museums national malls and exhibits. There is a great deal of construction outside the hotel. There was a loud jack hammer pounding outside our window. I had to wait about ten minutes to check in while the staff engaged in private conversations laughing and joking without acknowledging they had guests waiting. I finally check in and was informed there was an adult swim party the next day and my child would be unable to use the pool for a total of 8 hours. This was one of the reasons I choose this hotel. We were already checked in and the other option for rooms included a view of construction workers with fork lifts. I was out of options at this point I already pre paid for the room so I was stuck and its not like the staff was trying To accomodate me in any way. Taking a shower the water never got cold the housekeeping staff was outside my room yelling down the hall laughing and joking ( second time for staff) at 8:30 am. Guess this was my wake up call I didn't ask for. To top it off after hours of touring dc and having a really great day with my family at the sites we come back to the room to rest before dinner and the music from the adult swim party was so loud the desk table chairs and mirror were shaking in my room. I called the front desk and they informed me they rented the space and had no control over the music or the extreme decimal level it was being played at. There was cursing and half naked women that could be heard and seen by my children. Horrible experience. Wouldn't recommend at all to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Enfant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Address: 480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Enfant Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homey and comfortable hotel within walking distance of major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your L'Enfant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Enfant Plaza
Lenfant Plaza Hotel
l Enfant Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.