We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stop in DC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added L'Enfant Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One night stop in DC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Good Motel close to the Smithsonian museums and a short walk to Washington Mall. Rooms are a little date but after a long flight it was a nice bed. I did arrive late and the staff were accommodating for a quick meal and a beer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Wobblyboot,

Thank you for choosing L’Enfant Plaza Hotel. We appreciate that you selected our property for your trip.

Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    430
    283
    196
    126
See reviews for
392
261
78
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My friend had booked this hotel and after reading review on it I was very nervous to stay here.

The lobby is very well maintained. We were slightly early to check in and when asked if we could check in the employee behind the desk said "well I dont know, do you have a reservation?" We were actually asking if we were able to check in this early but her response caught us off guard especially as a first impression of the hotel. There was no hello and not even one smile. She looked liked she absolutely hated her job. But we did not wait long at all to check in.

The rooms were pretty outdated but I did not feel that I had to wear shoes every time I walked on the carpet. beds were a little too small to sleep 2 people comfortably but the bed was comfortable feeling to me.

i really wished that there were hours posted somewhere in regards to the food court in the bottom of the hotel because this was nice to have since there are not many is any hotels right around the hotel. The food court seemed to only be open for employees in surrounding building of the hotel. one of the weekdays I did as a place what the hours were and she said 7am-3pm. on saturday there were a couple of the restaurants in the court open but they opened much later and not for long.

The biggest plus of the hotel is the metro station underneath it. after a long day you can just go back up to your room.

Room Tip: the side facing the river has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Rachelle C,

We are delighted that you selected our property for your trip. Thank you for your comments. Let me apologize for the less than stellar response by our Front Office agent. This should not have been how guests are greeted. Please know that we have shared this observation with the department manager. In regards to the eateries below us, we do not post the hours of the but our concierge does have a listing of these. We will make sure that the Front desk agents are aware of these also. Again, we thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests.

Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I'm confused how this hotel can be rated so high. Not only does the hotel feel and look dated, L'Enfant Plaza in general isn't worth the time or effort to visit. While they are doing major revisions, it will need more than what is being done. The room service food isn't very good at all. I'm 6'4" and had to duck in the parking lot to walk through it. It is a terrible meeting destination, with outdated services across the board. The internet is slow (and expensive). That said, it is on top of the Metro, so that was the only positive outside of the super nice bartender. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Smkluck,

Thank you for your comments. We thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests.

Best regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a screaming rate ($110) a night through Book It and booked 7 nights at this hotel. The weekends were priced more than $200 a night. We had a deluxe double bed room with a view of the Potomac on one of the higher floors. The view was good, the room clean and comfortable. It didn't have the contemporary modern feel as a Hyatt but I was perfectly okay with it. The beds were very comfortable.

The best part of the hotel was taking the elevator down below the lobby and finding many choices for breakfast, lunch and snacks in the food court leading to the metro. Mexican, burgers, middle eastern, cupcake bakery and pizza. My vegetarian kids loved it! The food and bar in the hotel were overpriced and not very good. There's an organic bakery where we ate most mornings before jumping on to the metro and exploring DC.
Weekends were a bit of a disappointment because we paid more per night and then didn't have the food court open.
I would recommend bringing ear plugs just because, for whatever reason, we could still hear traffic noise.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms seemed most updated and nice. View of the Potomac was serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear SantaCruzan,

Thank you for choosing L’Enfant Plaza and thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you selected our property for your trip. I would have to agree with you that our beds are very comfortable! It is satisfying to know that your family had a good stay. Please feel free to keep up with us on Facebook and Twitter. We will be running a Facebook summer contest with a complimentary stay as the prize! Please check it out. Again we thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests.

Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I expected something much nicer for $269 a night. The room felt like a motel... tub separating from the wall, showerhead loosely connected to the wall, had to call maintenance at 11:30pm because the sink stopper was stuck in the down position making the sink unuseable. Since he was there, asked him to check my running toilet. Neither of the issues were properly resolved. And no conditioner! On the upside, the bed was comfortable and the lobby was nice. But the rooms really need an upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Liz R,

Thank you for your feedback. Let me begin by apologizing that you did not have a pleasing experience at our hotel. We take our customer service and comments seriously at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel and will make sure to address the issues you had with your room. Again we apologize for the experience you had at our hotel and we will use your feedback to correct our mistakes. Thank you for your patronage.

Best Regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Close proximity to the Mall made it easy to visit one museum in the morning then return to the food court (unfortunately it's closed on weekends) beneath the hotel and return to our room for a rest before walking back out to see another attraction. We did the same thing in late afternoon before venturing out for dinner.
The subway is great to use-almost everything you might want to see is less than a 15 minute ride.
There is a lack of restaurants nearby but there are many on 7th Ave near the Verizon Center; a brisk 25minute walk or a 5 minute subway ride. There is a Starbucks in the lobby open from 6:30am-1:00pm for a quick inexpensive though limited breakfast.
Friendly, polite and helpful staff. When we returned from dinner the first night we found our A/c wasn't working. They sent a repairman up within 10 minutes and he had it going 3 minutes later.
We booked through a wholesaler so the value was excellent for the location.
Yes, the TV's are not flat screen(how much TV can you watch when you're touring DC???) and the furniture could use an updating but the beds were very comfortable, the room(well sound proofed) and public areas were very clean

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing L'Enfant Plaza St.-they're rebuilding in the front and the jackh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear GSB56

Thank you for your comments. We do enjoy one of the best locations to the Nation’s monuments, Reagan airport and four of the five metro lines! We are delighted it helped to make for a pleasant trip and stay for you. We would love for you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter and we look forward to having you again on your next trip to Washington.

Best Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great location-2 blocks from Mall, 10-15 min to Capital. Blue/yellow line metro station underneath hotel along with a food court (open during the week for business people primarily although a Starbucks was open on the weekend). Those lines go to DCA airport(20 min. on yellow line, 10 min by cab).

FYI-----stayed there last week. Unfortunately there is a renovation project going on to the plaza out front with a jackhammer going during the week from 7:30 to 11:30 p at noc. (hotel provided ear plugs and nicely changed our room from a front to side one.)

Room Tip: Just don't stay in a front facing room if the renovation project is still ongoing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear semi-travelers5300,

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to know you were able to enjoy yourself with the renovations taking place. I hope you consider staying with us again in the future. You will be able to see and enjoy what all the “noise” was about! Again, thank you for your business and choosing L’Enfant Plaza.

Best Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#78 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,695 reviews
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#40 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Oakwood Lexington
Oakwood Lexington
#115 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#105 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
JW Marriott Washington DC
#77 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Enfant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Address: 480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Enfant Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homey and comfortable hotel within walking distance of major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Enfant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Enfant Plaza
Lenfant Plaza Hotel
l Enfant Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.