We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for weekday stays” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Enfant Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Location for weekday stays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a screaming rate ($110) a night through Book It and booked 7 nights at this hotel. The weekends were priced more than $200 a night. We had a deluxe double bed room with a view of the Potomac on one of the higher floors. The view was good, the room clean and comfortable. It didn't have the contemporary modern feel as a Hyatt but I was perfectly okay with it. The beds were very comfortable.

The best part of the hotel was taking the elevator down below the lobby and finding many choices for breakfast, lunch and snacks in the food court leading to the metro. Mexican, burgers, middle eastern, cupcake bakery and pizza. My vegetarian kids loved it! The food and bar in the hotel were overpriced and not very good. There's an organic bakery where we ate most mornings before jumping on to the metro and exploring DC.
Weekends were a bit of a disappointment because we paid more per night and then didn't have the food court open.
I would recommend bringing ear plugs just because, for whatever reason, we could still hear traffic noise.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms seemed most updated and nice. View of the Potomac was serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear SantaCruzan,

Thank you for choosing L’Enfant Plaza and thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you selected our property for your trip. I would have to agree with you that our beds are very comfortable! It is satisfying to know that your family had a good stay. Please feel free to keep up with us on Facebook and Twitter. We will be running a Facebook summer contest with a complimentary stay as the prize! Please check it out. Again we thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests.

Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    435
    287
    197
    125
See reviews for
390
259
78
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I expected something much nicer for $269 a night. The room felt like a motel... tub separating from the wall, showerhead loosely connected to the wall, had to call maintenance at 11:30pm because the sink stopper was stuck in the down position making the sink unuseable. Since he was there, asked him to check my running toilet. Neither of the issues were properly resolved. And no conditioner! On the upside, the bed was comfortable and the lobby was nice. But the rooms really need an upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Liz R,

Thank you for your feedback. Let me begin by apologizing that you did not have a pleasing experience at our hotel. We take our customer service and comments seriously at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel and will make sure to address the issues you had with your room. Again we apologize for the experience you had at our hotel and we will use your feedback to correct our mistakes. Thank you for your patronage.

Best Regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Close proximity to the Mall made it easy to visit one museum in the morning then return to the food court (unfortunately it's closed on weekends) beneath the hotel and return to our room for a rest before walking back out to see another attraction. We did the same thing in late afternoon before venturing out for dinner.
The subway is great to use-almost everything you might want to see is less than a 15 minute ride.
There is a lack of restaurants nearby but there are many on 7th Ave near the Verizon Center; a brisk 25minute walk or a 5 minute subway ride. There is a Starbucks in the lobby open from 6:30am-1:00pm for a quick inexpensive though limited breakfast.
Friendly, polite and helpful staff. When we returned from dinner the first night we found our A/c wasn't working. They sent a repairman up within 10 minutes and he had it going 3 minutes later.
We booked through a wholesaler so the value was excellent for the location.
Yes, the TV's are not flat screen(how much TV can you watch when you're touring DC???) and the furniture could use an updating but the beds were very comfortable, the room(well sound proofed) and public areas were very clean

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing L'Enfant Plaza St.-they're rebuilding in the front and the jackh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear GSB56

Thank you for your comments. We do enjoy one of the best locations to the Nation’s monuments, Reagan airport and four of the five metro lines! We are delighted it helped to make for a pleasant trip and stay for you. We would love for you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter and we look forward to having you again on your next trip to Washington.

Best Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great location-2 blocks from Mall, 10-15 min to Capital. Blue/yellow line metro station underneath hotel along with a food court (open during the week for business people primarily although a Starbucks was open on the weekend). Those lines go to DCA airport(20 min. on yellow line, 10 min by cab).

FYI-----stayed there last week. Unfortunately there is a renovation project going on to the plaza out front with a jackhammer going during the week from 7:30 to 11:30 p at noc. (hotel provided ear plugs and nicely changed our room from a front to side one.)

Room Tip: Just don't stay in a front facing room if the renovation project is still ongoing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear semi-travelers5300,

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to know you were able to enjoy yourself with the renovations taking place. I hope you consider staying with us again in the future. You will be able to see and enjoy what all the “noise” was about! Again, thank you for your business and choosing L’Enfant Plaza.

Best Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This very outdated hotel needs an overhaul in the worst way. Floors, walls, toilets, bath sinks and lights. Lamps, phones, televisions, smelly 'clean' towels....everything in the rooms. Ice and vending machines leave a lot to be desired. This hotel does not offer free breakfast. Elevators are a pain to work. Now the good. Centrally located, attentive staff, lots of choices to eat, if you pay. Overall, for the price, not good. But if you want to be centrally located, there aren't many more choices.

Room Tip: I am sure that there are updated rooms so when you book, ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear SantaCruzan,
Thank you for your feedback. We take our customer comments very seriously at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel and will make sure to address your comments. We will use your feedback to try and provide a more rewarding stay for future guests.

Best Regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is very old fashioned, needs to be upgraded to keep up with the modern rooms of other hotels, but it was still very comfortable. They were busy with construction but this did not affect us as we were overlooking the pool area. The staff at the Front Desk and Restuarant were extremely friendly.The only reason I would not stay here again is that it is rather far out, not easily accessible if you wanted to go out for the night(if you do not have your own transport), you need to catch a taxi. The underground food court very nice, but close early, so you are actually snookered if yu do not have transport.

Room Tip: Need an upgrade to fit in with the times
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Georgeous010,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad to know you were able to enjoy yourself with the construction taking place. I hope you consider staying with us again in the future. You will be able to see and enjoy what all the “noise” is about! In regards to our location, you may want to consider taking the Metro system; it is quick and easily accessible. We actually have four of the five lines running directly below our hotel! Again, thank you for your business and choosing L’Enfant Plaza.

Best Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I made my reservation through Priceline and chose the hotel because it was convenient to the Verizon Center by Metro. From that perspective, it was a success. I paid $189 for a room with 2 beds and $50 more for valet parking for a 1-night stay. The desk clerk told me he was putting us on the second to the top floor with a view of the mall and monuments. The lobby was nice so I was thrilled. When my daughter and I got off the elevator, our first impression was a stale odor in the hallway. As we walked toward our room, we stepped over duct tape patches on the carpet. Once in our room (#14-119) we found frayed carpet, worn furniture and dirty conditions. There was a used q-tip on the bathroom floor, a plastic cup under the table, a cup full of cigarette butts on the balcony (plus several others that didn't make it into the cup), a penny under the desk and a bug in the tub. The "non-smoking" room also smelled like smoke as a result of air moving thru from the balcony. The desk surface had gunk on it, presumably from someone's toiletries that hadn't been cleaned up.

This hotel has great bones and a great location but it is way overdue for a renovation and needs to demand better work from its housekeeping staff. We will not be returning.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear sallyjowv,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your stay was disappointing to you and that you will not be returning to our property. We thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests.

Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Enfant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Address: 480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Enfant Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homey and comfortable hotel within walking distance of major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your L'Enfant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Enfant Plaza
Lenfant Plaza Hotel
l Enfant Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.