We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location, OK room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added L'Enfant Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Colorado
Level Contributor
154 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location, OK room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the L'Enfant Plaza Hotel during our spring break vacation to Washington DC. The hotel has a wonderful location, it is very convenient to the Metro, which allows you to get anywhere within the city in minutes. You can also make the 10 minute walk to the Mall to enjoy the Smithsonian Museums. The food court below the hotel has some good choices and is open Monday-Friday for breakfast lunch and an early dinner (most places closed about 6pm). On the weekends, it is deserted. Our room was dated, but overall very clean. The beds were comfy and pillows were ample. The hotel service was good. My only complaint is that they allow dogs. We had a very rude neighbor 2 doors with a yapping, barking dog that wouldn't shut up. We complained to the front desk twice and they said they called the room, but more should have been done in my opinion. Our room was on the 12th floor, which is "ground level" for the swimming pool. We had a sliding glass door to the pool deck. We didn't use the pool, but it appeared heated, although hardly used, even by kids. Again, the yappy annoying dog was allowed to run (an poop) all over the pool deck unattended and not cleaned up after. That was gross! Not necessarily the hotel's fault, but the hotel allowed the rude guests to get away with it.

I would stay here again. Mainly because of the convenience and affordable price. The room was adequate for sleeping and a shower, which is all we did there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear ColoMama33,

Thank you for your comments. Let me first apologize for the unruly pet guests and owner. I did not see a report regarding the egregious dog behavior so I cannot verify that staff was contacted to try and rectify this issue but I will make sure to remind the staff about enjoyment and respect for all guests and the property by all guests. Besides these issues I am pleased to know you and your family experienced a clean, friendly and enjoyable space during your stay. We hope that when you return to the greater DC area you will return here for your lodging needs. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town. You may also keep us with us on Facebook and Twitter!

Kind regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    430
    283
    196
    126
See reviews for
392
261
78
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience at the L'Enfant Plaza Hotel. We were able to check our bags so that we could enjoy the city before checking in. The hotel waived additional fees for our daughter and her friend when our Priceline booking stated 2 people instead of 4. The staff was friendly and helpful; they gave us a map and spent time giving us pointers about tourist attractions. Room service was excellent...we really enjoyed their pizza. Lots of food options and close to everything! Only issue was that the hotel can be difficult to find. However, we were on the Mall within 5 minutes; location can't be beat! We would definitely come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear tijerinam,

Thank you for your comments. We would love to have you and your family come back! Great service is very important to us at L’Enfant Plaza and I am proud to know that our staff is delivering commendable customer service. We look forward to having you during your next trip to the DC area. Again, thank you for your positive comments. Keep up with us on Facebook and Twitter!

Best regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is a short walking distance from the Smithonian Museums and from the Capitol. The elevator goes from the Hotel lobby straight to the Metro station. Hotel is very clean, the restaurant in the lobby is very outdated, but there is a food court at L'Enfant Plaza just an elevator ride away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear llosha79,

Thank you for selecting L’Enfant Plaza to host your family while visiting the nation’s capital. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. We hope that you choose to stay with L'Enfant Plaza on your next trip to DC.

Best Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We got a good $99.00 rate during the Easter long weekend from bookit.com which included wifi (an additional $10.95 charge)

Location was great for the subway and national mall (5-10 min walk away). During Mon to Friday, the plaza shops are opened which had a mcdonalds, crumbs, five guys, potbelly sandwiches and more. To get there, take the elevator adjacent to the front desk, down to the promenade. The promenade method was the easiest way to get to the subway, shops, a Starbucks and to 7th and D street. 

To get to the national mall, walk down towards the food court, head left towards Potbelly Sandwiches, go through the glass doors (Starbucks will be on your left!) The glass doors to your right, take you towards 7th ave. Then just go north, left towards the National Mall.

On Saturday, the CVS and Starbucks was opened. They were closed for Easter Sunday but I'm not sure of their regular sunday hours.

The 5A dulles airport bus stop is like 3 minutes away from the hotel too on south west side of 7th and D street. 

TIP: the lobby Starbucks cafe is overpriced! A breakfast sandwich is $5 and the plaza shops starbucks below the hotel is only $3. Limited coffee options too. If the plaza Starbucks is closed, go to the one on 6th and C street.

No issues with the wifi. Worked perfectly. 

Rooms were dated but clean and spacious. Beds were comfy although the double beds are small (double size in comparison to queens). Could use a refresh but I had no issues with it. 

Staff was friendly and helpful at check in. Luggage storage is secure and uses a tagging system. 

I would stay there again if I needed to be close to the 5A bus and National Mall.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear k-existence,

Thank you for your comments and tips for future travelers! We love to hear positive feedback from our guests and it brings us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay. At L'Enfant Plaza we stress great customer service and we are glad that we were able to bring you customer satisfaction. We look forward to having you during your next trip to the DC area. Please socialize with us on Facebook and Twitter.

Best Regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel Easter Weekend and had a very enjoyable stay.
We paid $ 89/night($ 210 total with taxes) which is an extremely good value.
Room was as promised and very spacious.
Highy recommended for those on a budget who don't have any issues walking. Hotel has lmitied elevators requiring walking long hotel corridors.
The location is very convenient to the National Mall and all of the museums located there.
However, it's on the 'wrong side' of the Mall for those looking for nearby restaurants, shops and/or night life. Those are easily accessible via the Metro which has a stop inside the same building complex as the hotel.
The many restaurants in the large food court in the same complex are great Monday through Friday, catering to business people in the area. Most are closed on Saturday and, especially, Sunday making it difficult to avoid hotel choices at least for breakfast.
Comparison shopping would convince most people this hotel is still a very, very good deal. An attractive alternative to, say, Alexandria avoiding the long and not inexpensive Metro rides

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Nick C,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are always striving to make the next visit even better. We appreciate your business and hope that you choose to stay with L'Enfant Plaza on your next trip to DC. Please keep up with us on Twitter and Facebook.

Kind regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was a great location since we wanted to be near The Smithsonian, Tidal Basin area, and Memorial. There is even a metro station accessible that is a short walk, once underneath the hotel (via elevator). Unfortunately, that is about it for the pluses. The main negatives are that the place is just tired and in desparate need of repair/remodeling, especially the room we had. The workers here do not seem to have any training in their jobs or customer service and while I sensed that some were trying their best at times, it was an overall disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear pnelson406,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your stay was a disappointment. We take our customer service very seriously at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel. We will be sure to communicate to the employees the impression they left with you. We thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests.

Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branch MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a great stay during 'spring break.' The hotel has a great location two blocks from mall.
We had a lovely room with great views of the Potomac River. Rooms are quite spacious with wood veneer furnishings. Bathrooms have marble counter tops. Our room was in good shape.
Beds, as noted by others are only doubles, but very comfortable with good linens. We didn't have a car so the high valet parking charge was not a problem. I was particularly pleased with the restaurant. The food very very good and reasonably priced with excellent service. We booked the advance purchase rate which was very reasonable. The old TV didn't bother us. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear NorthBranchMNDavid,

We are delighted to hear you and your family experienced a great spring break while staying with us! It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you during your next trip to the DC area. Socialize with us on Facebook and Twitter!

Kind regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#79 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,700 reviews
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#41 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Oakwood Lexington
Oakwood Lexington
#115 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#105 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
JW Marriott Washington DC
#77 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Enfant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Address: 480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Enfant Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homey and comfortable hotel within walking distance of major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your L'Enfant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Enfant Plaza
Lenfant Plaza Hotel
l Enfant Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.