We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Enfant Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location and customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed from the 13th to the 15th...booked through expedia...had a request and front desk woman...I believe her name was Jei...hope I got that right because she was wonderful!..couldnt. get hold of the GM so handled it herself...and she made our stay! Always very helpful and polite....room was clean and location is excellent! We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear augie30,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are always striving to make the next visit even better. It is a delight to know that J** displayed the hospitality that many a guest over has come to know us for. We hope that you choose to stay with L'Enfant Plaza on your next trip to DC. We would love for you to keep up with us on Facebook and Twitter.

Best Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    429
    284
    195
    125
See reviews for
391
259
78
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked this Hotel through Hotels.com during a promotion day so we got a 50% discount for our 4 night stay. This hotel was greatly located (right on top of the metro station - where 4 lines join), the room was nicely decorated (up-to-date and with a big black and white picture of the capitol). Overall, it was clean, everyone was helpful and the price was definitely a bargain. We used the metro but we also walked everywhere, making our stay in Washington basically taxi free.

I would go back without reservations even without the discount.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear VanessaPi3,

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that we were able to provide a clean and comfortable stay for you while in town. Customer Service a priority to us and we are glad that we were able to make you feel welcome and at home. We would love for you to come back and stay with us at any time. We regularly offer deals and inside offers, so please follow us on Facebook and Twitter and we look forward to having you again on your next trip to Washington.

Best Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel has really deteriorated. Unpleasant staff, sterile atmosphere, rooms crowded,
no real amenities. Came for the price, should have realized what we were getting.
Only reason to stay here is close proximity to Smithsonian. Area is "dead" otherwise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear wanderluv,

Thank you choosing L’Enfant Plaza. We are sorry that your stay was a disappointment to you. We thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests.

Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We were very impressed with its location, the view, and the people. It was so nice to be able to park the car and then walk to the mall, the aquarium, shopping and restaurants. We had our choice of view and picked the monument. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear MaCoffie77,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that we were able to make your trip to DC an easy and enjoyable one. We would love for you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter and we look forward to having you again on your next trip to Washington. Thank you for your patronage!

Best Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We are so glad that we chose this hotel for our family vacation to Washington , D.C. first of all the location in proximity to all of the major features and museums is just perfect and within walking distance. We also loved the fact that the metro station is located directly beneath the hotel which was extremely convenient since parking can be difficult in the city. The staff was wonderful , friendly, and very accomadating. the rooms were well appointed , spacious, and clean, and the views spectacular. The workout room was large and equipt with eliptical machines, bikes and treadmills each of which had their own mini television. Also, there were free weights , lockers and showers. We would recommend this hotel to other families looking for a great hotel to stay in for their vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear NH surfer K,

Thank you for your comments. We love to hear great feedback from our guests and it brings us great satisfaction to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay! At L'Enfant Plaza we stress great customer service and we are glad that we were able to bring you customer satisfaction. We frequently offer specials, so keep up with us on Facebook and Twitter! We look forward to having you during your next trip to the DC area. Again, thank you for your positive comments.

Best Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on business. Ate in restraunt, utilized workout facility, took Metro to airport, drank in bar area.

Stayed here based on proximity to federal buildings to be visited and fact that other comopany employee had already made his reservation here so as not to take too many taxis to meet. I stayed on 15th floor It appears at some point that the maintenance staff was just let go and no one clean or maintains anything outside of the lobby area.

Positives (not too many):
1) Close to metro station (located below hotel area) so getting to and from hotel was easy.
2) Good ood in Aerican Grill - had fish and was very good.
3) Bellman were friendly and helpful
4) Heating and colling in the room worked well
5) My room had a small balcony
6) Starbucks in lobby.

Negatives:
1) Room was in need of repair - The door access look was about to fall off, the security lock slider did not engage, the TV was ancient and small, the wood TV stand was dlaminating, the electrical outlet by the desk in the room almost pulled all the way out when trying to unplug devices (exposing electrical wiring), the slider door to the balcony was stuck and difficult to open.
2) Workout area 11th floor - Smelled like mold and old socks. Decent size area and equipment but something bad is going on with HVAC. Also, the security lock on the workout door was broken and door ajar, meaning not secured at all.
3) Lack of Miantenance in Common Areas - 11 floor and 15th floor by elevators sohowed evidence of water damage (cracked and stained drywall), carpets worn, one elevator was down 1.5 days i was there, and other misc repairs needed.
4) DIrty - Rooms and looby were pretty clean but hallways and elevators dirty (I observed the same grape and piece of muffin in my elevator for two days as well as other unidentified stains on the car walls).
5) Staff at from desk was appathetic and not very friendly. This could be based on the fact that they have to work in this place, but nevertheless, not very professional.
6) Expensive WiFi Access and Poor Signal - $10/day for WiFi and signal in my room on 15th floor was constaintly falling off.

Washington D.C. is expensive no mater where you stay (if inside the beltway) so room cost here was a little less than average (even better with Gov't) discount). That said, this place did not justify the rate charged.

Would go here again for coffee, lunch, dinner or drinks but wIll never stay here again.

Room Tip: Taking my elevator up it went from Lobby to 11th, 12th, 14th and 15th floors. There maybe a club le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear ZipZap35572,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you did not have the best experience possible at our hotel. We take our customer service very seriously at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel and will make sure to address the issues that you have indicated. Again we apologize for the experience you had at our hotel and we will use your feedback to correct any mistakes.

Best Regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Check in was a breeze and the proximity to the metro are the only good things I can say. Dated and worn out. Broken tiles and grout in the bathroom. Stains everywhere!!! No outlets near the night stands. If it weren't for the fact that I am here for meetings I would check out. Feel like I need hazmat gear to walk aroud the room. This place is nasty. Sleeze taxi drivers in the elevators trying to get you to take the cab instead of the metro. This place is questionable at best. Avoid!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear AKFly,

We are sorry that your stay was not satisfactory to you. We thank you for choosing L’Enfant Plaza.

Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Enfant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Address: 480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Enfant Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homey and comfortable hotel within walking distance of major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your L'Enfant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Enfant Plaza
Lenfant Plaza Hotel
l Enfant Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.