We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, tired, dated, expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added L'Enfant Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old, tired, dated, expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel was chosen by my company's meeting planning group for a conference at the convention center. The initial room to which I was assigned had a ceiling that was beginning to fall apart into the room. I was promptly given an alternate room but why was this room even assigned to someone to begin with? The rooms are old, tired, and dated. They need a complete makeover. Half of the (very few) television channels were fuzzy and unclear. The internet connection was ridiculously slow. The HVAC unit made a loud clanging/clunking sound frequently. There are no other restaurants near the hotel (other than fast food types in the adjacent plaza). The food/service in the hotel restaurant was barely adequate. The bathroom floor was dirty and the cleaning staff was knocking on doors prior to 8 AM. You would think that with such an early start, they would do a better job. The only good thing was the connection to the Metro station, allowing for easy escape to better places. Many of the front desk staff were friendly and helpful but not all. For the price, you can find much better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear SleepDazed,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your stay at L'Enfant Plaza was disappointing. Please know we have addressed each department concerning your issues while staying here especially being placed in a room that was totally unacceptable. We are currently planning on renovations for the hotel that will bring it more up to date and in line with our guests' needs. I have notified each department of their shortcomings along with the Front Desk staff for providing a friendly and helpful environment!

Best regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    430
    283
    196
    126
See reviews for
392
261
78
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The company I work for selected this hotel much to my disappointment. The rooms are incredibly outdated. The mattress was one of the worst I have ever seen. It bowed in the middle so dare not try to sit on the edge of it. The food in the restaurant left a lot to be desired. The location is not within walking distance to much. $200/night is way too much to pay for this hotel. On a positive note, I did get my morning wake-up calls on time and the maid service did a good job. The valet was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Jagsas,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that we could not make your stay at L'Enfant a better one. We are currently planning on renovations for the hotel that will bring it more up to date and in line with our guests' needs. I am however, pleased that you did have positive experiences with the Front Desk, Housekeeping and Valet staff. Again we thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests.

Sincerely,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Washington, DC for the October 28, 2012, Marine Corps Marathon. Wanting to treat ourselves to a nice weekend, we selected L'Enfant Plaza Hotel over someplace like Best Western or Days Inn. For the price ($341 total for 2 nights), we expected some luxury. Not only was L'Enfant not luxurious, it wasn't even clean. There was trash in the hall way. The carpets and drapes in the room were stained. The wall paper was peeling. At the time of reservation (several months in advance), we requested a room with a king size bed. When we checked in, we were given a room with two double beds (not even queen size). When we requested to be changed to a king room, the desk clerk was rude and short tempered before complying. For the quality and service at L'Enfant, I would have expected to pay $75/night, not $149 + tax. We were disappointed with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear McKinzie N,
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your stay was not a better one. We take our customer service very seriously at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel. Please know that we will make sure to address the problems that you experienced with the front office. We thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests.

Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My sister and I wanted to take our children for an overnight trip to DC. As we did not book far in advance, most of our usual hotels were booked (we stayed at the Hampton Inn last time). I was nervous to book this hotel, but the location, price (online special price $90 per room), and reviews stating the rooms were clean confirmed my reservation. The hotel is an easy walk to the mall and has a metro station underneath the hotel.

Yes- the rooms are dated, but both of our rooms were clean. We were not there to spend a lot of time in the hotel, but our teenagers appreciated the free wi-fi bonus from our online booking site. We were able to see the Monument and Capitol from our balcony on the 15th floor. We even received two free breakfast buffets per room. The buffet was not the greatest, but it was a buffet. There were pancakes, bacon, eggs, sausage, cereal boxes, bagels, muffins, pastries, oatmeal, farina, lots of fruit choices, salad, salmon, etc. Everyone had enough to eat that we didn't even need to snack and ate dinner at 5.

Everyone we met, except one person, was friendly and helpful, even the gentleman working the gate at the end of the street. I wish I had everyone's names but the parking attendants, the baggage room attendant, recpetion desk, the cleaning woman in the hallway, our male server at breakfast- all friendly. The one exception was the hostess for the restaurant in the morning. She had no personality and seemed bothered to help the line that was quickly forming.

I felt we took a risk on booking an unknown hotel for us- and we came out on top. We booked two double rooms for $212 (including tax) from an online booking site and received free wifi and four free breakfast buffet coupons. Then, at check out, we received 1/2 price parking!!

If you can overlook the dated decor, I would highly recommend booking this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Sunemom,

Thank you for your comments. We love to hear great feedback from our guests and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. At L'Enfant Plaza we stress great customer service and we are delighted to know that our team lives what we teach. Our property does have a vintage-nostalgic look still. I am sure once we do complete renovations that we will still offer the same great pricing and specials that we now have. We are always running specials, so keep up with us on Facebook and Twitter! Feel free to post pictures from your stay. We look forward to having you during your next trip to the DC area. Again, thank you for your positive comments.

Best Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Lobby was decent but it stopped there. The rooms are the poster child of deferred maintenance. The rooms and hotels need new everything! I can't remember the last time a hotel I stayed in still had a tube TV. Unless its all your budget can support go elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear JohnyMin,

We are sorry that your stay was a disappointment to you. We thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests.

Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel itself is decent enough, no frills. However, the restaurant in the lobby is expensive and awful. Every meal I had there was dry and just not the least bit tasty. The Breakfast Buffet is equally abysmal. Feel free to stay here, just do not count on the restaurant being worth visiting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Navsingh12,

We thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests.

Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I am a meeting planner and have worked with several hotels in the Washington DC area. The staff at the hotel are among the most professional and friendly I have ever worked with. I have seen other hotels that have a high turnover rate for their staff members (quite typical) and yet the L'Enfant continues to have the most wonderful dedicated staff year after year. This just says to me that they treat their employees very well and in turn those staff treat their guests well. The location is great: right on top of a metro and very close to the hill (great for having legislators speak at your meeting). The downsides of the location are: the price for parking is astronomical and there are no alternative options, the hotel rooms are dated and old and the choice for restaurants is limited - unless you go to the food court, but that is not appropriate for business meetings. The good outweighs the bad though! Truly the meeting rooms and hotel lobby are perfect for small to medium sized meetings. The hotels meeting sales and coordinators are accommodating and flexible. The price to host a meeting there is reasonable and the food is always good. The price of the sleeping rooms are reasonable and the views are amazing. Overall it is a good price for a great location, but an amazing price for the exceptional service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear BSFTravels,

Thank you for your comments! We love to hear great feedback from our guests and it brings us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay. At L'Enfant Plaza we stress great customer service and we are glad that we were able to bring you great customer satisfaction. Our property does have a vintage-nostalgic look still. I am sure once we do complete renovations that we will still offer the same great pricing we now have with an updated atmosphere! We are always running specials, so keep up with us on Facebook and Twitter! We look forward to having you during your next trip to the DC area or hosting your next function. Again, thank you for your positive comments.

Best Regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#79 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,704 reviews
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#41 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Oakwood Lexington
Oakwood Lexington
#115 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#106 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
JW Marriott Washington DC
#77 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Enfant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Address: 480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Enfant Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homey and comfortable hotel within walking distance of major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Enfant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Enfant Plaza
Lenfant Plaza Hotel
l Enfant Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.