We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent rate, but there is likely better food anywhere else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added L'Enfant Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent rate, but there is likely better food anywhere else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel itself is decent enough, no frills. However, the restaurant in the lobby is expensive and awful. Every meal I had there was dry and just not the least bit tasty. The Breakfast Buffet is equally abysmal. Feel free to stay here, just do not count on the restaurant being worth visiting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Navsingh12,

We thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests.

Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    430
    283
    196
    126
See reviews for
392
261
78
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I am a meeting planner and have worked with several hotels in the Washington DC area. The staff at the hotel are among the most professional and friendly I have ever worked with. I have seen other hotels that have a high turnover rate for their staff members (quite typical) and yet the L'Enfant continues to have the most wonderful dedicated staff year after year. This just says to me that they treat their employees very well and in turn those staff treat their guests well. The location is great: right on top of a metro and very close to the hill (great for having legislators speak at your meeting). The downsides of the location are: the price for parking is astronomical and there are no alternative options, the hotel rooms are dated and old and the choice for restaurants is limited - unless you go to the food court, but that is not appropriate for business meetings. The good outweighs the bad though! Truly the meeting rooms and hotel lobby are perfect for small to medium sized meetings. The hotels meeting sales and coordinators are accommodating and flexible. The price to host a meeting there is reasonable and the food is always good. The price of the sleeping rooms are reasonable and the views are amazing. Overall it is a good price for a great location, but an amazing price for the exceptional service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear BSFTravels,

Thank you for your comments! We love to hear great feedback from our guests and it brings us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay. At L'Enfant Plaza we stress great customer service and we are glad that we were able to bring you great customer satisfaction. Our property does have a vintage-nostalgic look still. I am sure once we do complete renovations that we will still offer the same great pricing we now have with an updated atmosphere! We are always running specials, so keep up with us on Facebook and Twitter! We look forward to having you during your next trip to the DC area or hosting your next function. Again, thank you for your positive comments.

Best Regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just, no! Washington is plenty of wonderful hotels....just pick another one! The room was ok, but not really clean, especially the bathroom (the trash bin was dirty of something horrible to say....). The cleaners were incredibly noisy, talking loud in the corridor in the early morning and entering in the rooms very early. Besides, even if I asked for a double bed, they gave me a room with two single bed. And this is not everything....this hotel is very expensive, such as most of the hotels in Washington, but they charge you for everything. I can accept the breakfast.....but the internet connection? 80% of the people go in Washington for work (like me) and it is just frustrating and unbelievable that you have to pay a lot of money to have the internet connection! At the front desk not all the people were polite. Besides, few days after my departure, I needed another bill for important reasons, and there was no way to make them send me a bill by email....so....JUST GO SOMEWHERE ELSE...WASHINGTON IS PLENTY OF COOL HOTELS, THIS IS JUST WRONG!

Room Tip: a room in another hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Morkar,


Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your stay was not a better one for you. Customer Service is our number one goal and we are sorry that you had several problems during your stay. We address each of the issues you stated with the appropriate departments. We thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests.

Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You can't beat the central location of this hotel, and the Metro stop under the lobby. A block or 2 and you're at the center of the Smithsonian, and views of the Washington monument et.al from the windows. Get the fish and chips in the pub for a light bite, and the breakfast buffet (inlcuded in our rate) was well worth it. The rooms have good bones, but the carpets and furniture are tired, worn and stained - could use an upgrade there.

Room Tip: We had an upgrade to a no-pets room with a view. Our cost was $119 because we purchased through Gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Joan M,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are always striving to make the next visit even better. Our hotel does enjoy a “vintage” status which we are currently looking to renovate to bring it up to date and up to our guests expectations. We appreciate your business and hope that you choose to stay with L'Enfant Plaza on your next trip to DC.

Kind regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
L’Enfant Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spent a busy weekend in Washington DC at the L'Enfant Plaza Hotel and found it to be excellently located for all the major sites including the Smithsonian museums, Capital Building, Washington Monument and Lincon memorial.
While not modern the room itself was clean and comfortable and had a great view over the Mall and even the Pentagon in the distance.
The only issue was that the area where the hotel is was quiet at night and most dining options were some distance away - but easily accessable via the metro.

Room Tip: don't get caught out by no laundry service on Sundays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Bruno B,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. We hope that you choose to stay with L'Enfant Plaza on your next trip to DC.

Best Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A big clump of shaving whiskers and shaving cream in the sink, menstral blood in the toilet, a shower that had half the pressure of my environmentally friendly, low flow shower head at home, a broken heater fan that clunked and clanked all night long, and a dinner with seared tuna where the tuna was old, gray and mushy. I'll stop here except to say that I am an easy to please traveler.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear FatChance_12,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your stay was not a better one. We take our customer service very seriously at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel. We do not see any evidence that you notified housekeeping or management about your issues during your stay but know that we will make sure to address the problems that you experienced with each respective department. We thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests.

Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just arrived, and very disappointed. The room is very, very (and very) dated. Restaurant lacks ambiance, but food OK. I actually prefer some of the smaller, less posh hotels to this one (ie.Hapmpton Inn).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Jlnsen,

Thank you for your feedback. We take all guest comments seriously and we will use this to better shape the guest experience for future guests.

Sincerely,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#79 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,705 reviews
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#41 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Oakwood Lexington
Oakwood Lexington
#115 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#106 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
JW Marriott Washington DC
#77 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Enfant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Address: 480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Enfant Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homey and comfortable hotel within walking distance of major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Enfant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Enfant Plaza
Lenfant Plaza Hotel
l Enfant Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.