We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel from Hell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Quincy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Quincy to your Saves list
The Quincy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1823 L St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hotel from Hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

I recently spent a horrible night at the Quincy. Construction with jackhammers began at 5 AM outside my window. The hotel claimed it didn't know but ear plugs were placed by the side of the bed so they must have known something was up. Worse, the earplugs were not wrapped so I had no idea if they had been used by previous guests. gross! They did take some money off my bill but I would have rather paid more and slept.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agm_thequincy, Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, December 10, 2009
Hello Bdaytravels,

Thank you for staing at The Quincy! I can assure you that The Quincy was not informed of any construction/jackhammering being done by our neighboring buildings. We do offer earplugs to all of our guests as a "sleep sound" option to help with the sounds of being in downtown DC! The earplugs come in plastic containers, that are replaced for every new guest.

We apologize for any Inconvenience that you were caused. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    275
    72
    25
    17
See reviews for
100
293
60
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

This is my first time at the Quincy, I arrived last night for 4 nights. Because of past reviews I requested a high floor, towards the front which I got. The hotel is located in a great part of DC and a few blocks from the subway. There are numerous places to eat within walking distance. My fav is Potbelly which is at the end of the block. There is also a Borders bookstore at the end of the block. Past reviews said it was noisy, I did hear some siren, but no where near what you hear in NYC. Front desk was nice and the rooms are big, huge desk, mini sectional. Bathroom a bit small but functional. Loved my bed and slept great. Got a great rate and will come back with my family in a couple of months.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

When we made our selection for a hotel for a long weekend (Oct. 17-20), we were primarily interested in value and convenience. The Quincy was a perfect location for the Metro, restaurants, and the sites we wanted to visit. Desk staff were a little aloof, but the bellman was always so friendly and helpful. We were really pleased when we saw our huge room. The bed was comfortable as were the sofas for lounging, and we enjoyed the microwave and refrigerator. It was rainy the first part of the weekend so the complimentary umbrellas were a nice perk. The only negatives were needing to open windows to let in some cooler air because only the heat was working and adjusting to some minor funkiness with the bathroom plumbing. Also, our room overlooked the street; and there was quite a bit of noise at night - I still slept well.

As has been mentioned in some earlier reviews, some of the restaurants in the area are closed on the weekend, but we found plenty open nearby. We wanted to eat ethnically - the type of restaurants not that available in our area - and enjoyed the nearby Aroma (Indian) and Mai Thai (on 19th St. with several other restaurants on the way north to Dupont Square). One night when we were exhausted we had pizza delivered from Luigi's, advertised in the hotel literature. It was fine. When the weekend was over, we ate breakfast twice at the Corner Bakery across the street and enjoyed lunch at Potbelly's.

We easily walked to the White House area and Dupont Circle with Embassy Row. Other places were accessible with a quick walk to the Lafayette North or West Metro stops. (Metro in Washington is so much easier to use than in New York.)

(I hope I have gotten names right - lost my notes.)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agm_thequincy, Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, November 13, 2009
Hi Farmgirl48,

Thank you for staying at The Quincy! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and was able to try different restaurants throughout the area.

On your next visit to The Quincy, We will try to have you on a higher floor so there will be less noise!

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

This a hotel with big and clean rooms. The hotel is well run and the staff is very flexible and friendly.

The location is really cool. Metro station just 2 blocks down and a 15-20 minute walk to the white house and close to shops, restaurants and the bus to Georgetown.

Ask for a room on the frontside as there is some noise on the lower floors on the backside.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agm_thequincy, Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, November 13, 2009
Hi Bholst,

Thank you for staying at The Quincy! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the comment about our staff being flexible and friendly! We always want to make our guests happy!

We look forward to you staying at The Quincy in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Just got back from Washington, I only spent one night there (work for an airline so can pop over for the weekend) ... with limited time available I needed a good downtown hotel, and with a tight budget I needed it to be good value. Both were achieved perfectly by The Quincy .. easy to get to from the airport on the Metro, tucked away nicely but within 15 minutes walk of the White House and easily accessible to Metro stations .. I was there at the weekend which is a quiet time in the area but there's a Borders across the road which is open on Sundays and proved a warm waiting area with coffee when I needed to waste half an hour before heading home. The room I was given was huge, contemporary and cosy with a huge sofa and TV ... I'd read earlier reviews about the noise out back, so my heart sank when I looked out of the window and saw I was right above the air conditioning and garbage disposal area .. probably because it was the weekend, and more likely because I was a little jetlagged and had earplugs in, I heard nothing and slept like a baby. Staff were OK, not overly this or that, but efficient and I felt comfortable that if I'd needed anything they'd help out.

For a lone traveller and female, I got a good feeling from the place, it was small enough to be discreet and cosy but big enough not to feel claustrophobic. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agm_thequincy, Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, November 13, 2009
Hi Cupcakejones,

Thank you for staying at The Quincy, We are glad you enjoyed your stay! I must agree that Borders is a great place to have coffee and quiet time before heading to the airport!

We apologize that your room was located over the airconditioning unit and garbage area..On your next visit to stay with us, we will try to make sure that you are in a room that is in a better location!

We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

I found at The Quincy a large room, an abundance of large towels, and a courteous and obliging staff. So far, so good. But my room faced an alleyway. From it, I was awakened around 5:00 each morning by a series of bangs and crashes as several garbage dumpsters were unloaded to the greatest, deafening effect.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agm_thequincy, Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, October 6, 2009
Hi Taxonomist,

Thank you for staying at The Quincy! We are glad you enjoyed our large towels and our accomodating staff. We apologize for the loud noise. On your next visit with us, we will try our best to put you towards the front of the hotel!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

First the good points: Friendly, courteous staff. Huge rooms with a sofa, and coffee machine in the kitchen. Laundry room in the basement which proved very useful as we were mid-trip and it was handy to be able to wash some clothes. We took up on a tip by other travellers and requested a room high up on the front of the hotel, which we got, and enjoyed two peaceful nights of sleep.

That said, it felt like the hotel wasn´t quite sure of its identity. On the one hand it seemed like a quite upmarket three plus star aparthotel with the huge rooms and extensive array of bath products. And on the other hand it seemed much more downmarket, with hallways, doors and bathrooms that looked old and in need of refurbishment, and vending machines on some of the floors. Further, on our trip down to the laundry room we noticed that the basement floor was shared with a noisy bar which was in no way blocked off from the hotel or its elevators and therefore seemed a bit of a security issue.

All in all, we felt this place had some very positive sides, but wasn´t really the kind of quality hotel we were looking for, and therefore we wouldn´t stay again. Would perhaps recommend to families with small children looking for a relaxed aparthotel with a kitchen and very large rooms.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agm_thequincy, Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, October 6, 2009
Hi AnoymousSpain,

Thank you for staying at The Quincy, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to get 2 days of some peaceful sleep and relaxation! We are in the process of updating our hallways and room doors!

We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Quincy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quincy

Address: 1823 L St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Quincy 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quincy puts you in the middle of everything this city has to offer. Nightlife, monuments, shopping, museums, city walks and beautiful scenery are all at your fingertips with three different metro lines a mere two blocks from the hotel. With Dupont Circle, The White House and Golden Triangle right outside our doors, you don't even have to leave the area to enjoy our beautiful city. The Quincy is a fun boutique hotel providing its guests with warm service and the comforts of home. We offer amenities and services for both the corporate traveler and leisurely visitor. Our guests enjoy:• A living room area in each room with a sofa and coffee table • An in-room coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator • Complimentary in-room high-speed wireless internet• Two onsite restaurants • A Business Center with internet and printing capabilities• Complimentary shoe shine service• Well-equipped meeting rooms for intimate gatherings• An unbeatable location two blocks from the Metro Rail and D.C.’s favorite neighborhood, Dupont Circle, right around the corner. Providing our guests with a warm welcome, a comfortable bed and a happy environment are our priorities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Quincy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quincy Hotel Washington Dc
Quincy Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quincy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.