We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Quincy

Save Saved
You added The Quincy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quincy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1823 L St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    237
    63
    24
    17
See reviews for
86
247
52
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Be aware of taking a room facing the L street, the windows of the hotel are not great so excessive street noise woke us up almost every morning; garbage trucks, ambulances, etc. if you can take a room facing the back of the building it's better probably.

The rooms are outstanding , we had a family room with a kitchenette , which was great with children to have breakfast and some other meals.

The hotel is very conveniently located, there are many eating places nearby, there are two M stations closeby and the whitehouse is very near

Overall a great stay in a very affordable hotel, the staff was always helpful and attentive the rooms big and comfortable.

Just beware of the street noise coming from L street, if you're a light sleeper request a non-street facing room!

Very recommendable!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal_Gawad, Front Office Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Greetings Nacho R! It's fantastic to know that we have earned your recommendation and our entire staff is thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post this review and provide us with your feedback. Thank you so much for choosing the Quincy during your visit to Washington D.C. and we will all be looking forward to your next trip here. Thanks again and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place to stay. Fantastic staff, great rooms. The coffee machine worked, and the staff was good yo give extra. Resturants all sround. Very near to the tourist places as well. Views from the room are not exciting but it really does not matter.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal_Gawad, Front Office Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Gultu! Thank you so much for taking the time to post this wonderful review. Our entire staff is so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, our neighborhood, and comfortable rooms. We will all be looking forward to your next visit. Thank you so much for choosing the Quincy during your time in Washington D.C. Have a lovely day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just completed a stay at the Quincy on L street in DC.......the hotel and room was very comfortable.....the room was very large, well furnished and decorated......great location with easy access to fabulous restaurants and DC attractions......staff was very friendly and accommodating.....we had a few minor issues with the room, and these were repaired immediately at our convenience......from the bellmen to the room attendants to the front desk staff, everyone was pleasant and very responsive, making us feel very comfortable.....special thanks to Matt, Kelsey, & Brian!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal_Gawad, Front Office Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello SR22AV8R! Thank you so much for choosing the Quincy during your visit to the Nation’s Capital with your family. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post this review and our team is thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We especially appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, it means the world to us. We will all be looking forward to your next visit. Thanks again and have a fantastic week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beer Sheva, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Quincy for 3 nights. The room was a king studio suite. It was large and comfortable. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is located near a metro line which makes the sites of Washington accessible. It is also possible to walk to many of the sites and museums. It is located in an area that I felt comfortable walking back to from the metro at night. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: a room not on the L street side of the hotel if you are sensitive to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal_Gawad, Front Office Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Judy A! Thank you so much for choosing the Quincy during your time in Washington D.C. We really appreciate you taking the time to post this review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Our entire staff will be looking forward to your next visit. Thanks again and have a fantastic day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We couldn't believe our luck! The hotel was fabulous - the rooms were enormous and so well furnished and decorated. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. The location is amazing - everything you will want to see is walkable - the White House, Smithsonian Museums etc.

We had a little problem with our shower one evening. The problem was sorted, but because it was late at night, it was decided to change our room (for another which was just as lovely). The hotel could not apologise enough and left a little gift in our room the following day which was appreciated. The biggest thanks of all have to go to Carl (the plumber) and Manny (the porter). You two just made our holiday! Nothing was too much trouble. Thanks guys - hope to see you again one day.

Room Tip: We tried both. The front has a lot of street noise, but the back was quiet (though it was the weeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal_Gawad, Front Office Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Jen1000! Thank you so much for the fabulous review! Your kind words regarding our staff have put a big smile on everyone's face, it truly means the world to us and we really appreciate it. Thank you so much for choosing the Quincy during your time in Washington D.C. and our entire team will be looking forward to your next visit here. Thanks again and have a lovely day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Should I have a return trip to D.C., I already know where I'm staying. With one of the (i assume) regularly scheduled coupons we got a great room for a great price. As with my other reviews I'll say that my favorite part, which was probably the couch. My wife and I love to lounge and when we're done walking the tourist trails it was a great feeling to lay on that super comfy, L shaped couch. While the bathroom was a smaller than some 5 star, the shower head was a nice feather in The Quincy's cap. The amenities were perhaps a little sparser than some we've gone to but they hit the basics (shampoo, conditioner, body wash, ect.) and the quality of the products were better than a lot I've seen in hotels. The staff was very, very nice and made the whole process as easy as can be. Their lack of breakfast was easily made up for with the vouchers for the Au bon pain next door.

In summary: Staff was great, sheets and pillows made for a comfy bed, the total room was spacious, the desk and chair were great for home work (I'm a returning student with a wife that sleeps in), and the couch offered a wonderful feeling of comfort and being at home when not visiting the sites, Good restaurants nearby and not a bad walk to get to the Mall.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal_Gawad, Front Office Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Wtcbearum! Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review and for all of your kind words regarding our staff. It means the world to us that you enjoyed your experience at the Quincy. It's fantastic to know that you will be returning on your next visit and we will all be looking forward to it. Thank you so much for choosing the Quincy during your time in the Nation's Capital and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Quincy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quincy

Address: 1823 L St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Quincy 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quincy puts you in the middle of everything this city has to offer. Nightlife, monuments, shopping, museums, city walks and beautiful scenery are all at your fingertips with three different metro lines a mere two blocks from the hotel. With Dupont Circle, The White House and Golden Triangle right outside our doors, you don't even have to leave the area to enjoy our beautiful city. The Quincy is a fun boutique hotel providing its guests with warm service and the comforts of home. We offer amenities and services for both the corporate traveler and leisurely visitor. Our guests enjoy:• A living room area in each room with a sofa and coffee table • An in-room coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator • Complimentary in-room high-speed wireless internet• Two onsite restaurants • A Business Center with internet and printing capabilities• Complimentary shoe shine service• Well-equipped meeting rooms for intimate gatherings• An unbeatable location two blocks from the Metro Rail and D.C.’s favorite neighborhood, Dupont Circle, right around the corner. Providing our guests with a warm welcome, a comfortable bed and a happy environment are our priorities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Quincy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quincy Hotel Washington Dc
Quincy Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quincy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.