We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient business hotel with stylish, yet comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Quincy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Quincy to your Saves list
The Quincy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1823 L St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very convenient business hotel with stylish, yet comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I was in town for business - and liked the Quincy for its central location (close to two major metro stations) and the really nice and modern rooms. Super comfortable beds, the sheets are made in heaven.

The only down side is the noise that sometimes comes from the street, garbage trucks I believe and of course the ever present police cars. But really nice and convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal_Gawad, Front Office Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hello Joyce A! Thank you so much for choosing the Quincy to stay at during your business trip. It's great to know that you found our location convenient and enjoyed our rooms. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post this review and our entire team will be looking forward to your next visit. Thanks again and have a fantastic day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    275
    72
    25
    17
See reviews for
99
288
58
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed for two years in a row for an annual convention. We spent three nights each time. The first year was enjoyable, room clean and staff were very accommodating. That is why we booked there the second year, which was a disappointment compared to the first year. We had a room on a lower level that overlooked an alley. Thursday night we got no sleep at all as that is garbage collection night for all the adjoining properties. We went down to talk to the staff, but nothing was done to aide us. The lobby is so small, we had no place to sit when we wanted to relax there and wait for our ride. We called and emailed this year to book again, but the GSM never bothered to reply, which we were surprised about, as he seemed like a good manager last year. We will not visit this property again and will not recommend it, because of the lack of courtesy we received this year. Its too bad, we liked the decor and location.

Room Tip: Avoid the alley side, even thought the front has street noise, they now have a breakfast special tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal_Gawad, Front Office Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello Kalvin K! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Without honest feedback, like yours, we would never be able to improve. I sincerely apologize for missing the opportunity to connect with you before you arrived. Our goal is to always exceed our guest's expectations and obviously we failed during your visit. We would love to have another opportunity to earn back your trust and if you have the time please contact me directly to discuss your recent visit in more detail. My direct line is 202-827-8224 or ngawad@thequincy.com. Thanks again for choosing the Quincy and I hope you have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Spent 4 nights here in July and enjoyed every bit of it. All staff we ran into was super friendly and helpful. Room was very spacious with lots of amenities like fridge, microwave, keurig, lounging couch. Much bigger than I expected. Parking next door for about $35 a night. Only downside was the 4am garbage trucks. Left our car and walked to the White House and monuments. Took subway to Capitol, and bus to zoo. Transportation right around the corner and easy to use. Great stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal_Gawad, Front Office Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello missbebo! Thank you so much for taking the time to post this wonderful review. Our entire staff is thrilled that you chose to stay at the Quincy during your time in the Nation's Capital. We love that you enjoyed your experience with us and we will all be looking forward to your next visit. Thanks again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Would I stay at the Quincy again? ----Yes----

My overall experience at the Quincy Hotel in Washington, D.C. was pleasant. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating and the check-in was effortless and timely.

The hotel has an alternative, funky, edgy vibe; and, I presume that is the look and feel that they are shooting for. The two best things about the hotel are the location and the value. You seriously can't beat either. All of the major monuments are a short walk away and your close to Logan circle. So basically, the hotel is between the White House and Logan circle.

The room was large to the point that it felt sparce, like furniture was missing, but that's fine by me. Everything else from a hotel perspective was very average/ standard. It's on the verge of being dated, but will continue to hold its own for a couple more years before some renos will be needed.

Keep this place on your list if you're looking for an affordable hotel within walking distance of DC's action. Go in with average expectations and you won't be disappointed.

If this review was helpful please let me know with a helpful vote. Thanks and happy travels!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal_Gawad, Front Office Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello Michael M! Thank you so much for choosing the Quincy during your time in the Nation's Capital. Our entire team is thrilled to have earned your recomendation and we couldn't be happier with the fantastic review you left us. We truly appreciate you taking the time to review our property and we will all be looking forward to your next visit. Thanks again and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed overnight at hotel. The rooms are very spacious and had everything we needed. Overall the hotel was in a great location and rooms are big. The had great places to eat nearby and close to the White house.

Room Tip: Rooms in back of hotel (not street view) were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal_Gawad, Front Office Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello Janine178! Thank you so much for choosing the Quincy during your time in the Nation's Capital. Our entire team truly appreciates you taking the time to post this fantastic review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and the neighborhood. We will all be looking forward to your next visit. Thanks again and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelles, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great a very comfy place.Very close to the white house and the mall.
The only downside was that I was charged $20 for a power outlet rental ... a bit expensive for something they didn't even buy by themselves ...

Room Tip: Ask the reception for a room in higher level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal_Gawad, Front Office Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello FrancoisPerez! Thank you so much for choosing the Quincy during your visit to Washington D.C. We are thrilled you had such a great experience while staying with us. Our entire staff will be looking forward to your next visit and thanks again for choosing the Quincy. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Reception and valet staff very friendly and accommodating throughout my stay. Parking easy and convenient. Room spacious and had everything I needed. Front of hotel with a bit of street noise on Saturday night but on other nights it was fine. Convenient location to metro (two blocks). Many restaurants and retail shops nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal_Gawad, Front Office Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello Paul T! Thank you so much for choosing the Quincy during your time in the Nation's Capital. We truly appreciate you taking the time to review our property and it's wonderful to know that you enjoyed your experience. Our entire team will be looking forward to your next visit. Thanks again and have a fantastic day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Quincy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quincy

Address: 1823 L St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Quincy 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quincy puts you in the middle of everything this city has to offer. Nightlife, monuments, shopping, museums, city walks and beautiful scenery are all at your fingertips with three different metro lines a mere two blocks from the hotel. With Dupont Circle, The White House and Golden Triangle right outside our doors, you don't even have to leave the area to enjoy our beautiful city. The Quincy is a fun boutique hotel providing its guests with warm service and the comforts of home. We offer amenities and services for both the corporate traveler and leisurely visitor. Our guests enjoy:• A living room area in each room with a sofa and coffee table • An in-room coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator • Complimentary in-room high-speed wireless internet• Two onsite restaurants • A Business Center with internet and printing capabilities• Complimentary shoe shine service• Well-equipped meeting rooms for intimate gatherings• An unbeatable location two blocks from the Metro Rail and D.C.’s favorite neighborhood, Dupont Circle, right around the corner. Providing our guests with a warm welcome, a comfortable bed and a happy environment are our priorities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Quincy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quincy Hotel Washington Dc
Quincy Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quincy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.