We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Quincy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Quincy to your Saves list
The Quincy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1823 L St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
nelspruit
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed in the Quincy for a night and arrived 8.00 am . To early , not for them . We were welcomed by Neil , such a friendly and helpfull person. The room was huge and clean and a lovely bed . It was a saturday night , and a bit noisy from the street . Well situated and walking distance to most p.o.i. will stay there again !!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil L, Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello Michiel J!

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and found Neal, our Front Office Manager, friendly and helpful. We are happy you also found our room size and location suite suited to your needs. We can’t wait until you visit us again! Please feel free to reach out to us directly for a special return guest rate.

Thank you,

Wil Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    255
    65
    24
    17
See reviews for
89
266
54
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chaska, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We've stayed at The Quincy a couple of times in the last year, and it's firmly set as the place we'll always look to first when we plan to return to D.C.

The rooms are very large, very comfortable. We'd expected something much smaller in this older building in downtown D.C. Instead, we got a very spacious room, complete with a full-sized sofa. We sleep well at The Quincy.

The location is ideal for tourists - just 2-3 blocks NW of the White House, with easy access to the Metro (nearby Farragut West and Farragut North stations make 4 Metro lines available). There are a great number of dining establishments within easy walking distance. We always start our days there with breakfast at the Corner Bakery right across the street from the hotel.

Service is first-rate - we were always greeted by name, and every wish we communicated to them was quickly and aptly answered.

It's very quiet, and our rooms have always been very relaxing.

When we drove there, the parking garage next door (affiliated with the hotel) took care of our car the whole time - it's a paid service, but it put our minds at ease for the whole stay (and we never used the car - Metro got us everywhere - OK, the walk to the Tidal Basin from the Smithsonian was quite a hike, but there was a lot to see along the way).

The time we flew into DC, the Metro took us straight to Farragut West, and it was an easy walk to The Quincy from there.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in D.C.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil L, Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Greeting Jeff W and thank you for choosing The Quincy as your hotel of choice in Washington DC! We are delighted you plan to continue staying with us in the future, and that we have consistently been able to offer the service you have come to expect and deserve. I will share the kind words you’ve shared about our service to the staff. They will be so very proud. Thank you once again for being a return guest, and please feel free to join our Q Club during your next visit, so that you may take advantage of our discounts and special amenities. Feel free to contact me directly for additional details.

Respectfully,

Wil Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I can't say enough great things about this hotel. The staff went out of their way to ensure a comfortable stay. There were a few items that needed fixing...very minor and not an inconvenience at all. The location is about seven blocks from the white house and only two blocks from the major metro lines. They even have healthy oranges as a snack however, I might suggest they change to apples since oranges can be messy to peel and eat. When I travel, my main three requirements are a comfortable bed, clean room and great hot shower. I spend most of my time out working or exploring. You can't beat the price, value and location for this gem in Washington DC

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil L, Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hello DestinationCuisine,

Thank you so much for your kind review on the hotel staff. We are constantly talking among ourselves about providing the best-in-class service to our guests, we are overjoyed we succeeded. We are also very happy you found our location convenient for you needs and are rooms clean.

Kindest Regards,

Wil Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

A friend and I stayed here for a birthday weekend and had a great time. The price was good (we got a double room for $90 booked in advance), and room was really nice and spacious. It's a 10 minute walk to the White House, and 20 to Washington Monument. Most of all the service was excellent - wonderful desk staff, can't praise them enough! Would definitely go back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil L, Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hello Sara222,

Please extend a Happy Belated Birthday to your colleague. We are very happy you had a great time during your visit, both at the hotel and outside celebrating. We had someone write “We’re here for a Birthday” on our caulk boards last week, I wonder if it was you or one of you guest? =)

Thank you,

Wil Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Quincy last weekend and we were very pleased with our stay. The staff was overly friendly, the room was very clean and the location was awesome! I give The Quincy 5 Stars! :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil L, Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Greetign RachelM,

We are pleased you had a great weekend at The Quincy with your boyfriend last week and found the hotel and staff great. We hope you are able to visit us again if you come back to our Nation’s Capital.

Respectfully,

Wil Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We chose The Quincy because of the location which is near the National Geographic Museum. All of the staff were a pure delight. We arrived on Saturday just in time for mimosas which were served in the lobby for guests. Our room was extremely large and everything was very clean. The price was right too, maybe even a little too low for the accommodation. I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil L, Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Greetings Dolphinedelight,

First off, we are overjoyed you were able to make our Saturday special Mimosa hour that we host from 11am to noon. What says welcome more than an orange bubbly upon arrival. Thank you for your praises on our staff and room, we can’t wait to have you as our guests again in the future.

Thank you,

Wil Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed at The Q last week and am so thankful this was the hotel selected for our stay. Perfect centralized location, very safe area in DC, the hotel was super nice and staff were beyond exceptional. Everyone that worked there was very kind (the friendliest I've EVER experienced and I travel often). The rooms were really great too (I already miss the really comfy bed!), housekeeping services were incredible too. Every time I visit DC, I plan to stay at The Quincy!

Room Tip: You're in the heart of a big city so expect outside noise from all rooms, but the cozy beds will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil L, Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hello Kimmerz555,

You made our day reading your review. “The friendliest I’ve EVER experienced and I travel often “ is one of the best things we’ve read in a long time. Thank you so much, we are so happy we were able to offer you this kind of services. Please feel free to reach out to us directly during your next visit to DC, we’ll make sure you next stay is even better.

Proudly,

Wil Laura
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Quincy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quincy

Address: 1823 L St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Quincy 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quincy puts you in the middle of everything this city has to offer. Nightlife, monuments, shopping, museums, city walks and beautiful scenery are all at your fingertips with three different metro lines a mere two blocks from the hotel. With Dupont Circle, The White House and Golden Triangle right outside our doors, you don't even have to leave the area to enjoy our beautiful city. The Quincy is a fun boutique hotel providing its guests with warm service and the comforts of home. We offer amenities and services for both the corporate traveler and leisurely visitor. Our guests enjoy:• A living room area in each room with a sofa and coffee table • An in-room coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator • Complimentary in-room high-speed wireless internet• Two onsite restaurants • A Business Center with internet and printing capabilities• Complimentary shoe shine service• Well-equipped meeting rooms for intimate gatherings• An unbeatable location two blocks from the Metro Rail and D.C.’s favorite neighborhood, Dupont Circle, right around the corner. Providing our guests with a warm welcome, a comfortable bed and a happy environment are our priorities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Quincy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quincy Hotel Washington Dc
Quincy Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quincy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.