We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Large Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Quincy

Save Saved
You added The Quincy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quincy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1823 L St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Swanzey, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, Large Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

My family and I stayed here in the beginning of June. We had booked a room with a king bed and a pull out sofa, for our family of four. Upon check in the front desk worker asked if we would like a room with two double beds, which we agreed too. Our room was huge, there was two beds, a sitting area, a large desk, and kitchenette. We were on the back of the building on the 6th floor, and although there was some noise from the garbage trucks, we were used to it after the first day. The location was perfect, two block from the metro, we had bought tickets for the Olde Town Trolley tours and found that the closest stop was also two blocks from the hotel, at the Mayflower Hotel. One day we had missed the last trolley but took the hotel shuttle to the Mayflower and walked back to the hotel. Overall great hotel, if we return to Washington we will look into staying again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agm_thequincy, Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Hi sar48!

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are glad that we were able to accommodate your family of four in a more comfortable room, that you enjoyed! Old town trolley is one of the best tours in DC, so hopefully you were able to experience it!

We look forward you seeing you when you come back to Washington, DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    237
    63
    24
    17
See reviews for
86
247
52
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

What a great location - 2 blocks away from 2 seperate Metro lines.
Great room - so big, but some wasted space that would be better arranged a bit different.
A little bit of noise from the street and the bar below.
They need to move their smoking area away from the entrance.
The staff was excellent and so very helpful.

Room Tip: Just call, they took my request into account.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agm_thequincy, Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Hi Lara_Thom!

Thank you for your review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to honor your request!

See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Staying in Washington is never cheap, so it's hard to feel like we got 'value for money' by staying here. But, The Quincy is in a great location - easy walk to Georgetown and The White House & National Mall area. Surrounding the hotel are great cafes (I love Au Bon Pain for a quick breakfast or snack & it's right next door!) and the area felt very safe & clean. The staff were helpful & over friendly (there is such a thing). Our room was huge - it was great to be able to spread out. The room was really noisy however (it was facing the street), so we found ourselves turning the airconditioning on to block out noise so we could sleep. Lucky the bed was comfortable! We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agm_thequincy, Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Hi Simstar_1!

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate the positive feedback about our location and staff!

We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I stayed here on business and found the hotel to be in a good location - walking distance of Dupont Circle, and if you are feeling energetic, Georgetown and also Virginia via the Key bridge. Well appointed and clean rooms with helpful staff, but so noisy - earplugs provided by the hotel are a big clue! I had read reviews on here after being booked in by my employer and followed the advice to get a front room on a high floor, but it was still very noisy. Food from the associated pub/restaurant is not great either - you'd be better off going elsewhere. They provide a $6 breakfast voucher for Au Bon Pain and that is good value.

Room Tip: Supposedly front facing, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fos_thequincy, Front Office Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Hello goonertraveller2! We thank you for taking time to review our property and we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our location and surrounding neighborhood. I apologize about the city noise, it is one of the trade-offs of being so centrally located in downtown Washington D.C. I am a firm believer; however, that the positives far outweigh the noise issue and during your next trip here we will do everything possible to ensure you have a quiet, relaxing stay. Thank you again, and we hope you enjoy the rest of the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geldrop, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

the Quincy may not be very big, but our room was spacious!
Staff was very frienly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fos_thequincy, Front Office Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Hello LeoXIV! Thank you for your positive review of our property, rooms, and staff! We take great pride in our hotel and our goal as a staff is to make everyone staying with us feel like family. We look forward to having you back with us on your next trip to Washington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennstatekelly
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel and the room was nice. No complaints. My only real negative is the location. It's in a safe neighborhood but there isn't much around (as compared to when we stayed in DuPont Circle a few months earlier).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fos_thequincy, Front Office Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Hello pennstatekelly! Thank you for staying with us and we are happy you had a nice stay! We also appreciate the feedback about the hotel and our rooms. I agree we are in an extremely safe neighborhood and Dupont Circle is less than a ten minute walk from the hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to post this review and we look forward to your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

This hotel is perfect for an extended trip.

Conveniently located - within easy walking distance of the White House and about 10 minutes by car to the U.S. Capitol.

The staff were always friendly and helpful with directions. I ordered room service on the first night and they were extremely fast.

The kitchen had a microwave, full sized fridge and stove. Very handy when I didn't feel like eating out. No exhaust over the stove but you can open the windows in the room.

Unfortunately, the windows aren't very soundproof as I could still hear the traffic at night.

I'd definitely come back on my next trip to Washington D.C.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fos_thequincy, Front Office Manager at The Quincy, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Hello starbrite657! We truly appreciate you taking the time to post this review and it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! You are exactly right about the location it is convenient and centrally located in a beautiful neighborhood, making sightseeing easy and enjoyable. Thank you again from everyone here at The Quincy and we can't wait to see you again on your next trip to Washington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Quincy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quincy

Address: 1823 L St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Quincy 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quincy puts you in the middle of everything this city has to offer. Nightlife, monuments, shopping, museums, city walks and beautiful scenery are all at your fingertips with three different metro lines a mere two blocks from the hotel. With Dupont Circle, The White House and Golden Triangle right outside our doors, you don't even have to leave the area to enjoy our beautiful city. The Quincy is a fun boutique hotel providing its guests with warm service and the comforts of home. We offer amenities and services for both the corporate traveler and leisurely visitor. Our guests enjoy:• A living room area in each room with a sofa and coffee table • An in-room coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator • Complimentary in-room high-speed wireless internet• Two onsite restaurants • A Business Center with internet and printing capabilities• Complimentary shoe shine service• Well-equipped meeting rooms for intimate gatherings• An unbeatable location two blocks from the Metro Rail and D.C.’s favorite neighborhood, Dupont Circle, right around the corner. Providing our guests with a warm welcome, a comfortable bed and a happy environment are our priorities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Quincy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quincy Hotel Washington Dc
Quincy Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quincy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.