We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, convenient to White House, check the rates, though.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Washington DC to your Saves list
JW Marriott Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Summer Deal: 15% Off
Ranked #75 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Delaware
1 review
“Great place, convenient to White House, check the rates, though.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

My parents stayed a Friday and Saturday night at something over $300 per night for their room. We stayed just Saturday night at $179 for the night, including breakfast for 2 on Sunday morning.

Also, the parking is valet only; you can't go back and forth to your car at all. Keep that in mind as you are packing and planning your trip!

But the hotel was very clean, the staff was very nice - especially the evening security guard!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    735
    282
    96
    46
See reviews for
576
333
68
611
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
julie1218
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

this is an incredibly expensive business hotel with a great location. other than the hotel immediately across the street, there really isn't a better location for sightseeing than this one. if you learn how to snake you way through the attached shopping center, you can easily get to other restaurants and the metro without venturing outside but for a few blocks.

however, that's about all good i can say for this hotel. we paid big bucks for it (upwards of $400/night--all charged to work so we didn't care), and we got the same customer service as a hampton inn. seeing how location is there strong-point, you'd think that they would give you a handy map to help you find your way through the attached mall to the metro, but they do not. it took me several tries before i could even find the attached food court.

valet service is a joke. if you want your car, call down 30 minutes at least before you need it. they are rude as well.

the concierge is unhelpful. when i asked about the closest open restauarant, i was handed a list. no one mentioned being able to walk though the attached mall to quickly get to other restaurants on the north side of the hotel. i was annoyed.

the room is approximately the size of a postage stamp. we had two queen beds. one of them was about six inches from the chair that is in front of the desk. if someone was sitting in that chair at the desk, you had to crawl across the bed to get to the other side of the room. it was that squished.

if you get a great deal on this hotel (or are not paying for it) and location is critical to you, i would still recommend it. prepare for crazy long wait for valet parking and figure out that food court/mall shortcut yourself, and you will be happy there--as long as you don't have too much luggage in your room and are not paying a crazy rate.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Twp, MI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We spent 5 days/4 nights at the JW Marriott with our 2 teenage children and would highly recommend it. We were within walking distance to most attractions (National Mall, Smithsonian museums, Bureau of Engraving, Washington Monument). It is located just a few blocks from the Metro which we used to go to Arlington National Cemetary and Georgetown. Although the rooms are small, they were adequate for our family of 4. We requested a rollaway bed and it was delivered to our room in minutes. The rollaway was very comfortable and both kids were fighting over who would get to sleep in it. We found the best rate through the Marriott website and booked a city view room with daily breakfast for 2 for only $199 (+ tax). The included breakfast could be used for the $19.95 breakfast buffet or for made to order breakfast which ranged from around $15 - $18. We tried both and they were excellent. The breakfast buffet had an omelet station, lots of fresh fruit, eggs, and other standard breakfast fare. They also had assorted granola bars and pop tarts which were great for take along snacks. My daughter loved to sit on the window sill and watch the skate boarders and traffic below. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We originally selected the hotel for its location, pool (we were traveling with our kids), and the great rate we received. We loved it! From the minute we arrived, the staff was friendly and courteous. We wondered if the hotel would be appropriate for a family and it was. Great location close to the south end of the mall. We really enjoyed the 313 restaurant in the hotel and ate there most evenings. Great beer on tap and they actually served items (burgers, wings, sandwiches) that weren't listed on the menu. After a long day of touring, we were all happy to relax here. Pool is basic, but a great place for kids to blow off some steam.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville KY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I didn't realize how close to the action of DC we were. Extremely nice hotel. The staff were very friendly and accomadating. The rooms were on the small side but comfortable. Plenty of work room, however I could have done without the expensive internet access fee.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Located a short walk from the White House, DC Mall and Smithsonian Museums, the JW is perfectly situated to experience DC's biggest attractions.

The foyer and entryway is gorgeous as guests are greeted by a friendly a professional staff. The restaurant/lounge is trendily decorated and has an energetic buzz about it.

The rooms are well appointed, but not much different from the recently renovated Marriott properties - a disappointment when you consider the premium rates demanded by JW.

The pool is average at best, while the gym is more than adequate for a good away from home workout.

Overall, the JW is an excellent option for anyone looking for a comfortable and well appointed hotel in the heart of DC.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Modern hotel in very central DC location. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable. I frequently stay in this hotel but have learned to avoid during spring and summer. As a Gold Rewards member I generally take advantage of the executive lounge at most Marriott's. They are great for breakfast or a quiet place to unwind after a long day. But not at this location during the family vacation season! Kids running up and down the halls slamming doors at all hours, health club and pool are overrun, and worst of all the executive lounge. One or two families will take up all of the seating that will normally seat lots of single business guests, and forget about any of the food. The same families of kids will wipe the place out like a swarm of locusts.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to JW Marriott Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington DC

Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 772
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel benefits from a perfect location in the heart of downtown Washington, DC, near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 772 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Additional hotel amenities include a modern fitness center and an indoor pool and whirlpool. Stop by our award-winning hotel restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order room service any time of the day or night. If you're in Washington, DC for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your JW Marriott Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.