We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Washington DC to your Saves list
JW Marriott Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #76 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Wyoming
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The location of this hotel to the White House, restaurants and shopping is ideal. All, other than shopping, are within walking distance. All employees were extremely helpful. Shoe-shiner on the main level did an outstanding job for a fair price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    766
    296
    103
    47
See reviews for
622
349
72
630
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel is the perfect hotel for any visit to DC. The convenient location next to the subway system is a definite plus. Lots of restaurants and shopping within walking distance. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. The hotel could definitely use updating though. Some new furniture and a coat of paint would go a long way to making this hotel really nice. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for a legislative conference. It is a great location but we were unfortunately on the 1st floor facing 14th & Penn intersection. On the 1st floor, you can hear all the street traffic. At about 4 AM, the taxi cabs started to line up just below were our room was located. The bellhops have WHISTLES to blow to get cab drivers attention. So we were awake all night with traffic noise & then further kept awake by a whistle of all things. The whistle should be banned until about 10AM!! We felt like we got zero sleep on this week long trip. Ask for a higher floor!!!

Room Tip: Do NOT get anything below floor 7 if you want to get any sleep. Say Hell No to room 129!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Washington DC, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry your stay was not what you had hoped for, as we certainly strive to make it so. I can certainly understand how the noise from outside would keep you up at night. Please accept my apologies for this inconvenience.

We will use your feedback to encourage our front desk team to better inform our guests of any possible noise restrictions.

Please contact me if you return to Washington and allow me to set aside a more comfortable room for your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I'm generally a big fan of the Marriott chain. I looked forward to our stay at the JW Marriott in DC. Upon arrival, I was impressed with the location. This hotel is central to all things tourist and food in DC. Literally a 5 minute walk to the Washington Monument or the White House. If I were basing this review solely on location, I would give it a big fat 5 STARS!!! We did take advantage of the indoor pool. The rooms were nice and clean. Service was friendly. We did like the futuristic elevators noted by other reviewers.

However, there were a couple things that disappointed me about this hotel.

First, the pillows at this Marriott were not what I have come to expect at other Marriott Hotels. The pillows were marginal at best and reminiscent of a cheap motel. I could not get a good night's rest in the 3 nights we stayed. The pillows were just plain awful.

Second, the valet service was such an inconvenience. I'm not going to complain about the $50/day valet rate as that is expected in a city like DC. The attendants at valet explained to us upon arrival that our car would take up to 20 minutes for retrieval and the information was clearly noted on our ticket stub. They give you a number to call ahead for your car. I understand the 20 minute timeframe, however, I retrieved my car three times and waited 30, 35, and 40 minutes respectively. On one occasion, I had called in advance and arrived 20 minutes later to find out my car wasn't even on their list for retrieval. I'm pretty easygoing but we had two toddlers and the additional waiting was brutal.

I would be hesitant although not entirely resistant to stay here again as the location is really a plus. I just cannot guarantee a comfortable night's rest or prompt valet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Washington DC, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences regarding your recent stay at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Your feedback is truly one of the best tools we have to better our services for future guests.

We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. In the future, please do not hesitate to call and speak with one of our At Your Service agents for different bedding options. We would be happy to deliver an alternative set of pillows that may better fit your sleeping habits.

I completely understand how frustrating it must have been to wait for your car on three separate occasions, not to mention having small children waiting with you. I have shared these comments with our valet manager to ensure this issue does not occur again.

Again, thank you so much for your time. Please reach out to me directly if you'd like to discuss any of these issues further. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Hotel is ok, location is great! (I thoght though JW would be higher standard...)
We were nicely invited, the food was great, the server was nice but the cook (woman) at the omlett station was terrible. Very rude! Not even mentioning lacking smile... the woman before me asked for swiss chese which was brought from back room for her, when I asked for the same chese I wads given the regular yellow cheddar which I hate... I did even know what was going on...
Info for hotel manager: saturday, may 10th, 10am.
Thanks!

Room Tip: Good location, enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Washington DC, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for joining us for breakfast in the Avenue Grill. I apologize for the negative service that you experienced with our omelet cook. As the JW Marriott Washington DC we strive to leave our guests with positive experiences that create lasting memories. A smile, kindness, and attentiveness to details go a long way, and I apologize again that you did not receive this type of service. I encourage you next time you are in the area to stay with us once again and we will make sure your next experience is a positive one.

Best Regards,

Dan Mckeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The location is perfect and centrally located in Washington, DC. The location is fantastic to view all DC has to offer, museums, White House, ect...

I absolutely love visiting DC and this hotel is ideal. Similar to other JW brands in metro cities, the atmosphere is classic. My experience with the staff has always been pleasant.

The views from the rooms are wonderful.

Would return and recommend to my network.

Room Tip: Ask to face Pennsylvania Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This JW Marriott is in a great location and provides excellent service. I was there for a professional conference. As a Gold Elite member I had access to their 7 day a week Concierge lounge which had a fabulous breakfast spread. My bed was super comfortable!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#69 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#54 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown / Chinatown
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#29 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington DC

Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 772
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel benefits from a perfect location in the heart of downtown Washington, DC, near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 772 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Additional hotel amenities include a modern fitness center and an indoor pool and whirlpool. Stop by our award-winning hotel restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order room service any time of the day or night. If you're in Washington, DC for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your JW Marriott Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.