We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Washington DC to your Saves list
JW Marriott Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #73 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Freehold, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here for three nights right before Easter with our two children. The staff was outstanding! We were exhausted from the drive and they made us feel welcome. The room was definitely on the small side, but I've come to expect that at a city hotel.

The location was ideal! Wherever we went we walked. We spent a fair amount of time at the Mall. We were close to the Holocaust museum. Steps away from the White House. We had about a 20 minute walk to the Smithsonian Air and Space. We loved it.

We had an issue with the toilet in our first room. We called the front desk and they switched our room in minutes.

We valet parked the car. Quite expensive per night. Our only complaint was the 45 minute wait to retrieve it the day we left.

They also have a pool. They offered free movies for children at night in the hotel.

It was a great little vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    635
    252
    82
    41
See reviews for
516
290
66
525
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverton, Wyoming
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Great Property, nice staff, but lack of umbrellas is not acceptable. Recent trip to DC for meetings. Meeting just across the street, raining and hotel has no umbrellas!? First 5 star hotel I have stayed in that did not have umbrellas to borrow. I guess we could have taken a taxi across the street.

Room Tip: Bring your own umbrella
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Washington DC, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Your feedback is one of our best tools to better service our guests in the future.

I would like to personally apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay regarding the hotel umbrellas. While we do have umbrellas for our guests, they are distributed on a first come, first serve basis. I completely understand how frustrating it may be only needing to go a short distance, and to not have anything to keep you dry. Again, please accept our sincerest apologies.

All of our actions that we take are aimed at providing our guests with an excellent hotel experience. Thank you once again for your feedback. If there is anything further that I can do to be of assictance, please feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Great location. Good staff. Common areas nice, with lots of seating. Nearby parking. Very limited restaurant choices. Could use a remodel. Our bathroom door was delaminating due to moisture from the tube. Similar wear issues around closet. Room was quiet, good climate controls. Horribly inconsistent internet service, even with premium package

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Washington DC, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott as your Hotel of choice, I understand that in your room the doors in the bathroom and closet were in need of work. I want to thank you for your feedback and will have the doors that you mentioned addressed. We pride ourselves on making sure our guest have a good experience while staying here at the JW Marriott. So, when you do return to visit us, you will have a more pleasant experience and once again thanks for choosing our hotel as your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at the JW Marriott DC 4/19-4/21/14. We had two connecting rooms. Traveling 2 adults, 2-5 year olds.

The hotel was clean, comfortable, well located but lacked any charm. Good for business travel.
The rooms are tiny. The bathrooms even smaller. Beds comfortable.

Breakfast (included in rate) was very good.

Overall, the JW Marriott DC was good, but if we paid a higher rate than the $251/night it would fall in value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Washington DC, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay here at the JW Marriott Washington DC.

We understand that paying for amenities can add up on a trip and we try to provide options for our guests.

Also, you will be happy to learn that we have a scheduled rooms renovation at the JW this fall.

Overall, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is our third visit to JW Marriott on Pennsylvania Avenue. While the hotel is situated perfectly to everything, we found ourselves disappointed in their service. We booked in advance, requested a King bed and upon checking in were given a double bed. We were to be there 6 nights - two of us on a double - it just wasn't going to work. As a result, we were put in a room facing back of the house, looking into office building windows and feeling like we had to keep the curtains closed. It did have a King bed. The front desk acted like they were doing us a favor by finding a king room. On the third day: the entire hallway was littered with workmen, supplies, and smelly construction glue and plaster as they were recovering hallway walls and redoing the strips between the walls and floors. This made it hard to maneuver in and out of the room, in and out of buckets. Luckily we ended up spending most of the day out and about. We ended up checking out two days early. For the price we paid, we had hoped for a nicer room. Hotel housekeeping is good and rooms are clean. Location is just about perfect. Doormen and parking attendants need to do a better job. Getting a taxi or getting your car out requires a very long wait. Rated average because it is a great location, otherwise I might have rated it as poor. We have enjoyed this hotel in the past.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors facing Pennsylvania Avenue with the sleeping accommodations you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Washington DC, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay here at the JW Marriott Washington DC.

I can certainly understand your concerns over your in room experience. We have a scheduled renovation for all of our guest rooms later this year.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and I’m glad to hear our premier location was ideal for your traveling needs.

Whatever works for each guest, we strive to provide the level of convenience and service they desire. It is my hope that you will return in the future to experience our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Love the location! My room overlooked Pennsylvania Ave and a fab view of the Washington Monument! Staff helpful and room comfy but nothing spectacular. Price is certainly for the location. 4 stars because the bathroom sink gurgled every so often. This is a great location for walking to most of the sights!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing PA Ave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakmont, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Went for two fabulous days to celebrate a big birthday. The staff at the J W was so very gracious and welcoming. They sent up wine, cheese and crackers and chocolate covered strawberries to the room along with a card that they all signed. That doesn't just happen any where!!! It does at the "J W". There isn't a downside to staying at this hotel and we will most assuredly return often. Give it some serious consideration and I guarantee you will be very pleased you selected the "J W" Marriott of Washington, DC.

Green Features: Not a particular concern of ours. I think all that stuff is nonsense and highly over blown.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington DC

Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 772
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At JW Marriott Washington, DC, we've thought of all the details so you don't have to. Our staff is well-versed in anticipating the needs of our guests and providing an environment of peaceful luxury. We offer state-of-the-art technology that you've come to expect while traveling in each of our guest rooms including 37" LCD HDTVs, connectivity panels for laptops, MP3 players and cameras, and high-speed internet access throughout. Situated near some of the most recognizable landmarks in Washington DC, our hotel provides easy access to renowned monuments, the National Mall, museums, and other cultural venues around the city like the National Theatre, the Convention Center and the National Portrait Gallery. Additionally, we are conveniently located around the corner from the White House, one block from the Metro and 15 minutes from Reagan National Airport.Our unbeatable location and attentive service allow you to enjoy the very best of the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.