We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost fabulous!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Washington DC

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Washington DC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #72 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Almost fabulous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Love the location! My room overlooked Pennsylvania Ave and a fab view of the Washington Monument! Staff helpful and room comfy but nothing spectacular. Price is certainly for the location. 4 stars because the bathroom sink gurgled every so often. This is a great location for walking to most of the sights!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing PA Ave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    602
    242
    80
    39
See reviews for
497
273
66
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakmont, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Went for two fabulous days to celebrate a big birthday. The staff at the J W was so very gracious and welcoming. They sent up wine, cheese and crackers and chocolate covered strawberries to the room along with a card that they all signed. That doesn't just happen any where!!! It does at the "J W". There isn't a downside to staying at this hotel and we will most assuredly return often. Give it some serious consideration and I guarantee you will be very pleased you selected the "J W" Marriott of Washington, DC.

Green Features: Not a particular concern of ours. I think all that stuff is nonsense and highly over blown.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel, actually appeared old and in need of a style update. Other than that, the good things include coffee in the room (plus a Starbucks on the lower level), the location was great (within walking to most things and close to the Metro) the hotel was clean and our bed was comfortable, but the bathroom was ridiculously small.
Our room was quite large as it was on the first floor (corner of hall to elevator & hall to rooms) and we had a mini refrigerator (plopped in the foyer, but it worked). I was able to get a great rate on Priceline (6 days before arrival), for the weekend of March 23rd our rate was $100, can't beat that anywhere, especially for a 4 star. I would not pay regular room rate for this hotel as it just isn't worth it, the employees do not acknowledge you (no coming or going), no doors are opened, no one offered to assist us with luggage, no service was actually offered. So stay if you get a great rate and don't care that much about the room. Great price was probably do to bad weather.

Room Tip: If you don't need a view and need space request the room on the corner where the two halls meet...
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't notice any environmentally friendly practices other than a plastic bag to put recyclables in that was never picked up so I ended up throwing it in the trash.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I was excited for our visit to the Marriott in DC but was a little disappointed. Its location is perfect (Pennsylvania Ave and walking distance from the Washington Monument, the White House and the Smithsonian) The room, while very clean, was much smaller than I anticipated. The bathroom was so tiny that if you were sitting on the toilet and someone opened the door, they would have bashed you in the knees. The staff are lovely and very helpful. I felt like they were there to take care of every need. Unfortunately, they couldn't take care of how noisy the hallways were at night. There were many families staying there over Easter weekend and, while my child goes to bed at 8, we could hear older kids running up and down the halls and slamming doors until quite late. I think I will try a different hotel next time we're in D.C.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Flagship JW Marriott Hotel.

I can certainly understand how your concerns have lef you with a negative impression of the hotel.

Also, you will be happy to learn that our rooms are scheduled for a renovation late this year, which is a high priority for this hotel.

It is my hope, that you will give us another opportunity to showcase our improvements.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Although this hotel is in a great location for walking to all the sites, it desperately needs a makeover. The price was comparable to other hotels in the area and I gravitate towards Marriott chain because of the points, but I was disappointed in this hotel. The rooms are "tired", the carpet really worn, the bathrooms are small and not great. The beds are very soft, uncomfortable. When we arrived after a long flight, we were told that one of our reserved rooms was not cleaned, and it was already 7 pm. The desk clerk told us he would call when the adjoining room was ready, which he never did, we had to keep calling them back. Then we went to the rooms, they were not adjoining, but next door to each other. Lots of door slamming in the hallways, kids running up and down and all hours of the night, where are the parents??? The breakfast buffet was okay, nothing to jump up and down about but for $40 a person, a bit pricy, order off the menu to get a start and then go to the corner bakery next door for something better. The concierge was helpful in recommending and trying to get reservations, I would give that desk a A, but as far as the rest of the staff, a B-. Look around that area for other hotels that are priced comparable, you might be able to find a more updated hotel that is more than willing to have a better customer service dept.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Washington DC, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
I’m very concerned that we couldn’t check you in at our guaranteed check in time of 4pm.

I can certainly understand how this has left you with a negative impression of the hotel. At the JW Marriott, we truly value the time of our guests, and certainly want to ensure its not wasted in any way.

Also, you will be happy to learn that our rooms are scheduled for a renovation late this year, which is a high priority for this hotel.

It is my hope, that you will give us another opportunity to showcase our improvements.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Overall I like the Marriott hotel experience 0- I collect their points, and often stay in their hotels for business. The JW Marriott in DC is unfortunately disappointing. I was expecting more from their original / flagship hotel and I actually found the service here to be below average. For example it was pouring rain on one of the days, and the concierge almost immediately ran out of umbrellas for guests to use, and unapologetically so. Another bad experience was having a knock on the door at 7:30AM for breakfast, which we didnt order, after telling them to go away, we got a call from the front desk telling us our breakfast was ready - and had to explain to them again we didnt order any room service breakfast!! There are alot of great hotels to choose from in DC, and I would take a pass on this one next time. If you need to be in the National Mall area, try the W just down the street - same high price, cooler experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Washington DC, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your experiences at the JW Marriott Washington,DC.

While I am happy to hear that you frequent the Marriott brands, I am very concerned regarding your comment on the quality and level of service you experienced.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this has caused and assure you this is not customary at the JW. I will personally share this feedback with our team in an effort to improve on our service.

Respectfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We (family of 4) stayed one night for a quick trip to DC with small children. Noon arrival and valet parking was tightly packed but smooth (those guys are experts), and check-in was quick, pleasant and efficient, although room was not ready till 4. Check-in staff deftly handled a reservation mix-up with pleasure, and our bags were stored for us. Timing is everything - If there is a big group checking in or out things can be busy. Be aware that the hotel (like most in the area) hosts professional meetings and tour groups.

The room (2 doubles, PA Ave View) was compact but very clean and comfortable, well stocked and lacked nothing. AC/Heat responded quickly to changes.

We asked for and received a late check-out (1pm) and utilized the Starbucks in the lobby. We also utilized the concierge for maps and directions. All good.

In our walking around, we noticed a Courtyard nearby (for Marriott loyalty folks) which we may try next time if the price difference is substantial. If not, we'll go back to the JW.

For what it's worth, it's a 10-20 minute walk to all the major monuments and downtown attractions, so location is very good. Due to the short duration of our stay (about 24hrs) we also grabbed cabs near the hotel to go places quickly. Many available at the corner of 14th & Pennsylvania Ave. FYI the White House is about 2 blocks away!

Valet retrieval took a little longer than they said it would. Again, things get busy at check out, so be forewarned and call for your car at least 20 minutes in advance, and I would recommend 30+. Our bags were picked up and loaded with ease for our departure.

In all, a very pleasant stay made better by a staff that was very courteous and efficient.

We will go back given the opportunity.

Couple of non-hotel points: We had izakaya and ramen at Daikaya, both were excellent. We also went for the Bureau of Engraving and Printing tour, but be aware that you need to be in line between 6:30-7:00 a.m. to have shot at getting the free tickets. Both are within 15-20 minutes walking distance of the hotel.

I hope this review helps you!

Room Tip: Choose a Pennsylvania Ave view. Worth the extra $20 bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington DC

Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington DC 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At JW Marriott Washington, DC, we've thought of all the details so you don't have to. Our staff is well-versed in anticipating the needs of our guests and providing an environment of peaceful luxury. We offer state-of-the-art technology that you've come to expect while traveling in each of our guest rooms including 37" LCD HDTVs, connectivity panels for laptops, MP3 players and cameras, and high-speed internet access throughout. Situated near some of the most recognizable landmarks in Washington DC, our hotel provides easy access to renowned monuments, the National Mall, museums, and other cultural venues around the city like the National Theatre, the Convention Center and the National Portrait Gallery. Additionally, we are conveniently located around the corner from the White House, one block from the Metro and 15 minutes from Reagan National Airport.Our unbeatable location and attentive service allow you to enjoy the very best of the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your JW Marriott Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.