We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Washington DC to your Saves list
JW Marriott Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #74 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great location!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The location of this hotel is key here. We weren't hardly two block from the White House. Which meant I could walk by the White House in the mornings while drinking my coffee. Clean and friendly, the rooms were older, but large and comfortable. We were there for a conference and it wasn't noisy. The inside of this hotel in the common area was really nice.
Glad there is a Starbucks in the hotel downstairs, that makes it a nice and easy breakfast stop, or you can find places to eat around there for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    649
    258
    83
    41
See reviews for
522
294
66
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dallas, texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We just completed a 5 night business stay at this hotel, and I was disappointed in our stay. Even though business secured the room and paid the tab, I felt embarassed for them. For $500/night, I expected some degree of luxury above most other properties in downtown Washington. What we got was a typical Marriott property--good for a business stay, but certainly not luxurious. The room was moderately sized, and most of the rooms look into an air shaft in the well of the building. Alerted by other reviews on TripAdvisor, I insisted on a transfer to an outside facing room, which they first denied they had, then offered at a higher price, and finally managed to place us in a third floor room with a view (of the Willard, across the street) at the same price. I guess they were determined to deny us a decent window view. The folks that were paying for our room had also booked 4 other rooms with us, so I thought that a little more effort by the hotel was in order. Charging for wi-fi in the room but offering it for free in the lobby seems like an overreach for a $500/night hotel. Restaurant, bar, room service, parking--everything in this hotel seems to be aimed at gouging the customer. On the plus side, the rooms are quiet and clean, and the bathroom amenities are up to par. The location is the best part of this deal. If you can get this hotel at a substantial discount, it would be fine for business or pleasure. Otherwise, you can do better in DC.

Room Tip: Avoid any room that does not have a southern or a western outside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicottville, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Can't beat the location here -- a block away from the White House complex, right next door to the Willard Hotel and within walking distance of many excellent restaurants and bars. The JW is, apparently, the company's flagship hotel and I can see why because of the location. Parking here is an issue. The garage fills up fast pushing you toward the more expensive valet option which is readily available. The rooms are very nice, had a great view of the Washington Monument out of my window. The concierge level was excellent and the breakfast area was good but too small to accommodate the big crowd there. The fitness center is very nice as well. Great place to stay in downtown northwest DC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Our room was clean, fresh and lovely - but throw in a rollaway and it makes it a little squishy. We only stayed 2 nights so we coped. Staff were friendly and accommodating, overall hotel was beautiful. The breakfast however was Perfection - anything you could imagine and more. We would go back again just for that. Location excellent proximity to National Mall and The White House - we loved DC and the Marriott thanks for helping make our trip so special . X

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had a great stay at this luxury hotel. I was able to get a very good price on the from an online booking site. Usually the rate runs for about $450-$600 but i got at a good price of less than $200. Nice rooms with a great view. The gym is very spacious with good equipments. The concierge lounge is great too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

One of the worst hotel disappointments in a place that one wouldn’t suspect: the JW Marriott in Washington DC.
I called this hotel directly to tell them that I was on my way with my family from New York City to Washington DC, to make sure that we could have connecting rooms, because we travel as a familly and wanted to definitely stay together on our 6 days in Washington, not seperated by walls.
Marriott never want to guarantee connecting rooms, for some reason (“Marriott policy”), but I was assured in this phone call that it wouldn’t be a problem. Because I was let down by Marriott earlier the same vacation on this point, I choose not to confirm my reservation as soon as we arrived, to avoid that we would again have to live in separate rooms without connection. This also was not a problem at all, I was told by the reservations representattive who I spoke to.

After a long day of travel, we arrived tired too find out that nothing connecting was available.

I asked for the manager on duty, she said nothing could be done about that. I explained her about the phone call with her hotel. Could even show here the exact time of the call in my cell phone. But she needed to know the name of the person that I spoke to, which of course I couldn’t remember, which for her meant there was no way to find out what went wrong. This came to me as she was totally not in control.

The reason I called directly to the hotel, was that the earlier bad experience was blamed on the central Marriott reservations office: according to the hotel, they can impossibly advise about availability regarding connecting options. To avoid future disappointments, I was advised to call to the hotel directly the next time. Which I did.

It comes to me as Marriott is teasing and cheating with promises to ‘do their best’ for all that you ask for, but they are not willing to guarantee because at the end of the day they cannot deliver and they do not seem to care at all about that. A reservation is a reservation, as long as they have paying customers it is OK, regardless of the wishes the customer has.

Apart from the disappointments, I feel irritated about the fact that appearantly customers must know about the internal Marriott organisation (central/decentral, who did you speak to? Like a mentioned: not in control) to have any chance at all to have their preferences granted.

I took the effort to contact customer care ('central') several times, but they do nothing else than routing the complaint to 'decentral': the resident manager responsible for the problem. This gentleman was simply rude by just denying the problem and waving away my complaint and didn't even bother take further notice on my reply. Until I contacted customer care again, then he sent me quite a disrespectful email. My conclusion: it is of no use to take the effort to complain if the man is not willing to listen to it anyway. In fact Marriott says: we don't care if you are satisfied or not, take it or leave it.

I have stayed in many, many (JW) Marriotts all over the world and besides some exceptions, I always enjoyed staying there. But this total lack of respect and service I refuse to accept and will avoid Marriotts in the future.

Happy ending is that the Mandarin Oriental could guarantee a suite connecting to a room without any problems, they treated me as a guest, as a valued customer. Why is this so hard for Marriott nowadays. Next time I will definitely choose the Mandarin Oriental.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Waited 5 hours for a room to be ready, then my reward was a small, dingy connecting room overlooking an inner rooftop AND with dirty linens left on floor by housekeeping. Public spaces are nice enough, but based on my room and the room hallways, hotel is badly in need of a refurb. Unless you just need to be at this location, there are definitely better District options.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Manager at JW Marriott Washington DC, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I aploogize for any linens inadvertantly left in the room. We obviously made a mistake identifying the room as ready before final inspection. I hope you'll consider returning and notify me before you arrive. I will help in any way I can to enhance your stay.
Thank you

Dan McKeon
Resient Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington DC

Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 772
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At JW Marriott Washington, DC, we've thought of all the details so you don't have to. Our staff is well-versed in anticipating the needs of our guests and providing an environment of peaceful luxury. We offer state-of-the-art technology that you've come to expect while traveling in each of our guest rooms including 37" LCD HDTVs, connectivity panels for laptops, MP3 players and cameras, and high-speed internet access throughout. Situated near some of the most recognizable landmarks in Washington DC, our hotel provides easy access to renowned monuments, the National Mall, museums, and other cultural venues around the city like the National Theatre, the Convention Center and the National Portrait Gallery. Additionally, we are conveniently located around the corner from the White House, one block from the Metro and 15 minutes from Reagan National Airport.Our unbeatable location and attentive service allow you to enjoy the very best of the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.