We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No "sequester" on Service, but hits the budget hard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Washington DC to your Saves list
JW Marriott Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #75 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No "sequester" on Service, but hits the budget hard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Excellent room, outstanding service with a smile on my recent trip to DC to meet with our legislators. As capital hill worked on reducing the budget deficit, I enjoyed a very convenient location where I could get my Starbucks in the morning and walk to numerous restaurants for dinner that evening. If it were a casual personal trip - the location would have been great for seeing some of the best sites in DC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    788
    303
    109
    48
See reviews for
656
360
72
642
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The JW Marriott in DC is a beautiful hotel in a great location. My biggest issue with these upscale hotels is that they have less amenities than there lower priced brand. For instance, at the Marriott, we had to pay for wireless in our room and the hotel breakfast was ridiculously over priced. We stayed at a Hampton Inn and received free wifi, full breakfast, and a complimentary paper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

By now my readers realize that I have a preference for the JW brand. I had a chance to stay at the JW Wash DC in conjunction with a business conference. After a hard travel day, I was greeted with at least 10 smiles upon arrival, which does a lot to just relax you. Ahmed at the front desk was cordial and helpful. The location is great. I was surprised by how many families were there on spring break, but the business travelers don't need to be scared off, the hotel is so spacious that there is no noise or traffic issues. Lucky kids. I spent a little time in the bar, and found it posh and cozy. The location is right smack in the middle of tourist heaven, so if you are thinking of family vacay, then you will be in the right place. My room was fine, though somewhat ordinary compared to other offerings I had. I think I have now tried 3 Mariotts in DC, and, I would probably rank this second, simply because the one that has the Gordon B. brewery attached simply offers an easy "don't have to go outside" dining alternative, but other than that, it is a repeat stay.

One tip on cleaning, this is a clean hotel, but because I am extra picky, I always look for finger prints on the white doors around the lock, this wasn't didn't pass the test.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Washington DC, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
First of all, thank you very much for staying with us. We greatly appreciate your business. I enjoyed your review of the experience at our JW Marriott Washington. Between college visits, Cherry Blossum festivities and spring break vacations we are enjoying being in the hub of it all.

Thank you for recognizing our great associates for their engaging service. (All those smiles in particular) They are at the heart of all we do. We will be sure to share your feedback.

Dan McKeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a business conference and it was nicely appointed and convenient. It is also close to a lot of sites, so you can get in a walking tour of DC while here. A Starbucks in the lobby and close to great restaurants. Really nice gym. All that being said, it is $$$$.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I recently attended a conference in Washington DC and stayed in the JW Marriott. The location is amazing! Standing on the corner, look left and see the Capitol; look right and see the Washington Monument.

Because of the limited parking situation, you are immediately greeted by a valet offering to assist you. They automatically put your bags on a cart and escort you to the Front Desk. This was my third trip to this property and each time they've welcomed me appreciatively. The bellman who helped me to my sleeping room was courteous, professional, and helpful. He made sure that I knew where to find everything and even changed the time on the clock when he noticed it hadn't automatically, "sprung forward."

I love the bar and bar staff! Jonathan has been there during each of my visits and actually remembers what I drink. "Pinot Noir, ma'am?" Seriously? He must see thousands of people each week. Impressive! If you're not sitting at the the bar, it takes a little time to find a staff member to help you, but not an aggravatingly long time. There are lots of TVs, which is nice because I'm always there during March Madness.

My room was very attractive. There was a thin layer of dust on everything, though, as if that particular room hadn't been occupied for a long time. Even the mini-bar snack items looked like they had been there too long. I asked for a higher floor and ended up with two double beds. This would have been fine, as I was traveling alone, but the beds were hard and not comfortable. The bathroom amenities were good. The shower items were left IN the shower with a washcloth. LOVE that. I had room service one night and it was delivered very quickly and still hot. Having an option with lots of vegetables was very nice.

If I had one complaint, it would be that the room service items are left in the hall way too long. I left my tray on my desk and the housekeeping staff must have left it outside my door. It stayed there until the next evening, almost 24-hours. This seemed to be the case all along the hall.

Overall, I love staying in this hotel. Mostly because of its location, but the staff is wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, outward-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
302 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

So - I am a loyal marriott person and get to travel a bit for work so I've stayed at a few JW marriott hotels now as well as a bunch of Renaissance hotels. They say this is their flagship hotel for the JW Marriott brand, I'd have to disagree.

Service at the front desk was not that great. The young lady that greeted seemed put out with my questions about breakfast and switching cards to pay for the rooms. Sorry if I inconvenienced you on the job by asking a couple questions.

Good thing is the view - we had a great view from the 14th floor. Inside the room it could use a sprucing up as a lot of the veneer on the desk was coming off and pieces were literally on the floor. Room was decent size, but bathroom was pretty tiny, but no big deal.

Concierge lounge was closed, but they had a breakfast setup in the lobby which was decent and well staffed. Coffee was one of the best I've had in a lounge lately.

I'd stay here again, but only after trying out the other marriotts in the area - which there are a lot!

Stay was fine - but not the level I was expecting to be honest. Marriott - if this is your flagship, make it so.

Room Tip: Ask for a high, outward facing room. We had room 1409 - see photo for view. Street noise can be some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Washington DC, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the JW Marriott Washington DC. I apologize for not meeting your expectations, which are more than reasonable. Our associates strive to be open to requests and questions and thoughtful about how they provide information we can use to improve your experience.

The JW Marriott Washington is the very first of the JW Marriott branded hotels in the world and is proudly called The Flagship by our dedicated associates. Today JW Marriott is one of the fastest growing luxury brands in the world with locations in thirty eight countries. We measure guest satisfaction against these great hotels and are eager to earn your loyalty when you stay in Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Staff is very nice. They didnt honor my king bed request but two doubles was fine for me. Entrance is pretty. Staff is great, bar is nice. The housekeeping service was excellent.
If you get a great rate, stay there. If money wasn't a concern I would stay at the Willard or the W.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#66 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,553 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#50 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#27 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington DC

Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 772
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel benefits from a perfect location in the heart of downtown Washington, DC, near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 772 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Additional hotel amenities include a modern fitness center and an indoor pool and whirlpool. Stop by our award-winning hotel restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order room service any time of the day or night. If you're in Washington, DC for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your JW Marriott Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.