We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My go to hotel in DC.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Washington DC

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Washington DC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 20% In DC
Ranked #69 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“My go to hotel in DC.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

JW is the premier location for Marriott. Close enough to the necessary Washington commercial area, yet situated off the road enough for peace and quiet. The JW is also within a short walk to the tourist site and the National Mall. Service and accomodations are excellent. There is also sufficient restaurant choices in close proximity My number one choice in DC.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    555
    571
    227
    73
    35
See reviews for
465
248
65
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We recently took our two boys, ages 8 & 10, to Washington DC. We stayed at the JW for 4 nights and thought it was a very good choice, esp for our children. The lobby was very inviting and had an upscale bar that served good tapas style bites. We opted for a room that overlooked Pennsylvania Avenue (upcharge) and the breakfast plan (worth every penny!!) The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. The bathrobes were a nice touch. I would say however, that even by DC standards, the room was a bit small for the price.

The location of this hotel was great. Only two blocks for the Metro and a block from the White House. Many excellent restaurants are located nearby and the concierge is very good about hailing cabs if need be. The pool area was decent. Nothing too fancy but it did offer towel service and a hot tub. The staff was very attentive and helpful from the front desk to the maid service. We would consider staying here again

Room Tip: This is a very busy hotel. Consider staying far away from the elevators and asking for the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I got there early afternoon, and they informed me that my room was not ready, but that they would send the maid to service, and call me so that I could check in. Lucky for me there is a Starbucks in the lobby and I had work to do. 2 hours later, I had not received a phone call, so I went to the front desk to inquire about the status of my room. Two differnt employees were working at the desk. When I asked about my room, the male replied "that it isn't ready and check in time is 4:00 P.M.". I expleined to him what the other gentleman had told me, and the woman behind the desk chimed in with "I don't know whey he told you that, we don't do that, and 4:00 is check in time", in the rudest attitude possible. Needless to say, I wasn't pleased with the treatment that I received. Given the proximity of the hotel to The White House, the Willard, and the moniker of the JW name, I expected more. Givent that I am Gold, I have been treated much better, at Marriott's lesser brand hotels. In fact, my recommendation to the General Manager is that he fire both employees, and hire the employees from the Residence Inn in Pentagon City. Adam, the night desk clerk, who checked me into that hotel the previous Saturday, could teach the JW staff the meaning of customer service. The hotel itself is beautiful and would be a complete 5 if itwasn't for the attitude and treatment that I recieved.

Room Tip: Don't try to check-in one second early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

As a GSR in a hotel myself, I was expecting a bit more out of this hotel. It ranks higher in competition than the one I work for, and I must say I was a little disappointed. The linens on the bed are white, yet i found several black marks on the sheets and the pillows. I also get that it is located in the District, but the prices for the mini bar are RIDICULOUS. My stay was only for one night, so on a scale of 1-10 I would rate this at a 6 for the accomodation needs I had. For a longer stay...I would probably find a different hotel. The only thing I liked was the Starbucks located in the lobby,

Room Tip: I stayed on the 2nd floor...not a single sound was heard from the street or in the halls. Great slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Since this is a JW Marriott and not a regular Marriott, I had high expectations. My sister and I had plans to go to the Kennedy Center, and this hotel had excellent rates (maybe a special rate?) for our Sunday evening stay. We had a 10th floor room near the elevators, facing Pennsylvania Avenue, and the view was spectacular. Normally we like rooms far from the elevators, but here it was not a problem -- the elevators are separated from the hallways leading to the rooms so you really can't tell you're right across the hall from them.

The room was small, but the setting and amenities (plush bathrobes, higher-end toiletries) made up for it. We knew about the minifridge and snacks tray being motion-sensitive so we didn't touch any of it unless we intended to purchase something (the price list is, luckily, provided outside the minifridge).

My sister is in the Gold Elite level of the loyalty program, so we had access to the concierge lounge. It's one of the nicer Marriott concierge lounges I've used, a more extensive breakfast selection than most. We had a Sunday evening drink and small bite in the bar after we returned from the theatre. Prices were high, as we expected, but not unreasonable given the quality of the food and drink that we had.

There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance or a short Metro ride from this hotel. You're within walking distance of the monuments and Smithsonian museums so it's ideally located for sightseeing. The Metro itself is about 2 blocks away so it's a quick ride from the airport or train station (unless you have a lot of luggage, in which case I'd say take a cab).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I don't really have a bad word to say about this hotel, everything about it was fantastic.
The room size, the food, the staff, the location, all incredible.
You are withing walking distance of all of the top attractions at DC. Also several very nice restaurants and bars.
If i were to visit Washington D.C again (which i will!) I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A tip would be to ask for a room facing the monuments, because that view is just breath-taking. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hotel is great and is located on Pennsylvania Avenue, a 5-min walk away from the White House. The rooms are nice, the staff are friendly and the facilities (such as the gym) are wonderful - there's even a Starbucks inside the hotel. My only criticism is that they didn't provide plug adaptors for the rooms, and the shop charged $20 to purchase one. Other than that, it's a great place to stay in a great city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington DC

Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington DC 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At JW Marriott Washington, DC, we've thought of all the details so you don't have to. Our staff is well-versed in anticipating the needs of our guests and providing an environment of peaceful luxury. We offer state-of-the-art technology that you've come to expect while traveling in each of our guest rooms including 37" LCD HDTVs, connectivity panels for laptops, MP3 players and cameras, and high-speed internet access throughout. Situated near some of the most recognizable landmarks in Washington DC, our hotel provides easy access to renowned monuments, the National Mall, museums, and other cultural venues around the city like the National Theatre, the Convention Center and the National Portrait Gallery. Additionally, we are conveniently located around the corner from the White House, one block from the Metro and 15 minutes from Reagan National Airport.Our unbeatable location and attentive service allow you to enjoy the very best of the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your JW Marriott Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.