We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Free Wi-Fi?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Washington DC to your Saves list
JW Marriott Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #76 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No Free Wi-Fi?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Not as nice or as close to the White House as the W Hotel (old Hotel Washington) and for the prices they charge, you would think they would offer free Wi-Fi to guests (you can get the free Lobby Wi-Fi if you are on one of the lower floors).

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms provide some access to free Lobby Wi-Fi as opposed to the outrageously priced &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    766
    296
    103
    47
See reviews for
622
349
72
630
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were a family of five (5) two adults with three (3) children ages 12 and younger. We stayed in a room with two double beds. The room had plenty of room for a rollaway bed (if available) so that all five of us could comfortably stay in this room. Rooms were clean, bright, spacious and inviting.

Staff that we encounter were very friendly. My younger son was smitten with one of the bellman who took a minute to chat him up while we were waiting for friends to meet us.

We used the pool and whirlpool. They were nice, also on the larger side for a hotel that isn't catering to a resort crowd.

Location is fantastic with easy walking access to the White House, National Mall and Monuments as well as the various Smithsonian Museums and other attractions. The hotel is also only a few blocks from the Verizon Center and is a reasonably easy walk to that venue as well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed for one night over Thanksgiving weekend, and it was fine. Not great, not bad, but fine. The location is fantastic, and the hotel itself is very nice. Great lobby, fast elevators, nice, clean rooms, comfortable beds. Our room was plenty big, but I agree with previous reviews that the bathroom (though nice) is quite small - I could see it getting annoying on a longer stay. Our first room overlooked some sort of concrete courtyard that was surrounded by concrete buildings - very dark and depressing. We opted to pay more for a Pennsylvania Ave. view and that was much better. Well worth the extra $30.

We ate at Avenue Grill twice and had room service once - the food was just alright.

The big disappointment for us was the service. Rudeness everywhere. I called to request connecting rooms and the person was rude. I called later to confirm connecting rooms and the person was rude. Check-in people weren't outright rude, but not friendly or helpful. When I called to inquire about switching to a different view room, the woman told me (quite rudely) I'd have to come downstairs to ask. Bellmen/valet do not open the door for guests (even with several large suitcases). Service in the restaurant was not friendly. Our room service order was supposed to be ready in 40 minutes or less - when I called to check status (after 45 minutes) I was very rudely told, "you placed the order at 8:21, and it's now 9:06, it hasn't been 40 minutes." Hmm.

I've been to several JWMs and this one was not nearly as good as the others (in facilities or staff). I thought that JWM prided itself on great service? We got a great deal ($169 for Pennsylvania Ave. view) - I would not have been pleased if we had paid regular JWM prices.

If you can get a great rate, you'll have a fine stay. But don't pay regular JWM prices expecting JWM service. You won't get it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel about ten years ago and decided to return based on our A+ previous experience the first time. We were surprised how well the property has been maintained. Carpets are spotless, decor is still lovely and the rooms spotless. Beds are super comfortable and rooms are quiet. The lobby has a real wow factor, a large stylish area with beautiful flower arrangements. The hotel is in a fantastic location for sightseeing, just two blocks to the White House and easy walking distance to the Lincoln, Washington, the Smithsonian and war memorials. This is a major historic area with incredible architecture - the only place to be if you are planning on sightseeing. As far as food goes, the room service is reasonably priced and high quality. The 12" pizza would easily feed two people for $12+ and is divine - delivered in just 15 minutes. There are also other local options such as Mexican, McDonalds and even a food court which backs on to the hotel. There is also the Corner Bakery for breakfast, plus a Starbucks in the lobby. For other supplies, there is a CVS two blocks away and a liquor store directly next door with wines priced $9+. We got a fantastic rate - just $119 per night non refundable on the Marriott website. The staff were friendly, they upgraded our view because it was my birthday. You'd be hard pressed to find anything to complain about at this hotel. It remains our first choice in DC.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Loved, loved, loved the location...easy walk to Smithsonian, White House, etc. The hotel was clean and overall ok. My big complaint is the bed linens! They kept sliding off of the bed and wouldn't stay tucked in...you'd wake up and find yourself sleeping directly on the matress - ugh. Perhaps they should invest in some bottom fitted sheets? Breakfast came with our package and it was pretty good - a good variety. Nice to have a Starbucks in the lobby also. Long wait to ask about dinner reservations at the consierge desk. Bathrooms a bit small, room average size. Nice view of Washington Monument if you upgrade to city view.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend 2011. It was without a doubt the most overpriced stay we have ever had, and the level of service was more appropriate for a Motel 6.

First the positives, the lobby is beautiful. The staff at the front desk was very nice. At the Avenue restaurant there was a single waiter (working the bar) named Jaime that was very polite and excelled in service. The fruit was very fresh, much above average for a breakfast buffet. That applies every day.

The exercise room was very clean, and lots of equipment. Hotel elevators are more than enough, we rarely had to wait.

Ok the bad...

First the wait staff at every breakfast (except for Jaime) was as close to rude as you can come without being rude. Ok so you have to work on a holiday, that is no reason to treat your guests like that. The food (other than the fruit) was not very good. Average quality. The thankgiving dinner itself - at $49 a plate - was sad. The lady cutting turkey said there was no gravy for turkey. Then when we pointed to the big bowl of gravy right in front of her she said - "Oh that is for tureky?". Argh. It went on like that. No cranberries for a "traditional" dinner. The staff either did not care to speak to us, or was tired of the number of non-english speaking people they were dealing with, as the hotel had a lot of tourists. We had no issues with them, they all seemed polite enough. Same thing for breakfast - which we only ate each day since it was included in the package.

The other restaurant-bar (1331) was better, the staff there paid attention to you and made sure you were taken care of. The food there was ok, the meatballs were excellent.

Our room (on the 9th floor) was small. Bathroom could not have 2 people stand in it. It was clean. The bathroom shower faucet had issues, it was a VERY delicate balance between hot- as in skin blistering hot, and ice cold. Warm did not exist. Weird. The AC-Heater unit was VERY LOUD, and we finally just turned it off. I mean so loud it was keeping us up. There was no ice bucket, and the ice machine was on the opposite end of the floor, they are not centrally located. Such is life on that. But no bucket, no fridge (just a honor fridge) - means no way to have ice in the room.

The final straw was our last night - when we asked for a couple items room service. 2 glasses of ice. 1 bottle Fiji. One bowl strawberries w/whipped cream. The brought - 1 empty glass. One bottle Fiji. One cup of mixed fruit. ???? Sorry no need to complain - after the ever loving lack of service here and resend I can see them spitting in the stuff. And the receipt showed the proper items. Just once again the wait staff could not keep a basic order straight.

This is an average Marriott. We are Gold members with Marriott, Silver with Hilton, and stay at many other hotels. We are used to different levels of service, based on the names and prices you pay. When we stay at the Four Seasons, we get Four Seasons treatment. When you stay at Spring Hill Suites, you get Spring Hill Suites service. When you stay at a JW Marriott, you expect all the staff to be trained and treat customers as they state you will be treated.

This was a joke. Stay across the street at the Willard. Stay up the street at the Monico. You will not be disappointed there.

This may be the end of our Gold days, no reason to continue supporting Marriott if this is the level their best is.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Washington DC, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
I thank you for taking time to share both the positive and negative aspects of your recent stay at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. I am very sorry to hear that the property and service fell short of your expectations of what a JW Marriott should be. I would like to discuss these concerns in person if you have the ability to do so. Please call me at 202.393.2000 at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We loved our two night stay at the JW Marriott. We had booked through Priceline and so had obtained a great deal, but nonetheless could not have been welcomed more warmly by the person on reception. Our room was fantastic. Two large double beds, a large bathroom and great decor. The staff, especially the doormen, were friendly and always made us feel like we had arrived back home when we returned to the hotel.

The location on Pennsylvania Ave meant that we walked pretty much everywhere we went as the Mall was on our doorstep, as were the museums. It's also a short walk to a metro station, and so easy to get to places further afield like Georgetown or Dupont Circle.

We did enjoy cocktails in the hotel bar, and again felt like it was a home away from home when we were there. However, we went for breakfast to a place next door called The Corner Bakery Cafe. I would recommend it to anyone - lunch too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#69 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,491 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#54 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown / Chinatown
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#29 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington DC

Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 772
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel benefits from a perfect location in the heart of downtown Washington, DC, near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 772 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Additional hotel amenities include a modern fitness center and an indoor pool and whirlpool. Stop by our award-winning hotel restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order room service any time of the day or night. If you're in Washington, DC for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Marriott, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your JW Marriott Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.