We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for exploring DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 New Jersey Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #64 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel for exploring DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

Stayed with my family for a Weekend break. Hotel is well placed to visit all of the DC sights - its a few minute walk from Union Station, where you can pick up a tour or shop or eat.
Hotel was clean, our room was fine, and was quiet at night. Our room rate included the hot breakfast buffet that was an added bonus.
Taxi's to the restaurant areas were fairly cheap and easy to find too. All in all a good hotel for our trip.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    809
    420
    134
    75
See reviews for
480
367
115
796
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

Passing through Washington, we took advantage of the Hyatt's Summer Getaway promotion for our one night stay. The $109 included a full American breakfast, which was a good value for our family of 4. However, the $44 parking fee was a complete rip-off. Furthermore, evidently room 811 lacks any type of insulating properties for its walls or windows. We were able to clearly hear the couple next door to us converse, get ready and leave at 11:30 p.m. for a night out on the town; as well as come back at 4:30 a.m. Also, the firehall right across the street from the Hyatt had 3 emergency calls that night which just added to the night's interrupted sleep.

  • Liked — Nicely appointed room
  • Disliked — Too Noisy
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

I really like this hotel - every time I've been, it's been clean and comfortable.

And lately, it's been easy to get a $63 weekend room rate via PriceLine (which comes to just under $80 total). And, for this hotel, that's a bargain.

My last night there though was less wonderful. I was on the E street side and between the fire station, and car alarms, it was loud all night.

Not their fault, but I will really try for the back of the building next time.

The big shock was the parking - it's now $41, plus tax (so nearly $46). Which is almost exactly what a martini, a glass of wine and a cheese plate had cost in the bar.

The alternate parking in on E street, between New Jersey and Capital Streets. They have a $10 weekend rate but you'll pay for two days if you leave the car over Saturday night. (Cash only.) Well worth the 1/2 block walk, fi you don't need the in/out priviledges, AND don't need the car between midnight and 8am (when they're closed.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

As a frequent traveler to DC, I'm familiar with what many of the hotels have to offer. This was my first stay at the Hyatt Regency, and it will likely be my last. In a city where critical decisions are being made around the clock, the first thing I expect out of a hotel is easy accessibility to business tools such as internet. I've stayed at many hotels around the District, and free internet is standard everywhere from the economical Hampton Inns to the upscale Omni Shoreham. My colleagues and I were all caught by surprise when we opened our laptops in the Hyatt lobby only to find that we would have to register for T-Mobile Hotspot accounts just to get online. The same applied to in-room access. Another major downside to the property is location. There is a complete lack of food options near the hotel, except for the hotel's restaurant of course. Instead of restaurants, the hotel is located directly next to a run-down liquor store, a homeless shelter, and a fire station. If you choose to stay here, request a room on a high floor on the opposite side of the fire station, or you will be up all night to the sound of sirens. The only thing this hotel has going for it is that the rooms are very modern, clean, and comfortable; however, they are small for the price. Unless you get a rate well under $100, consider staying somewhere else.

  • Liked — Nice beds and bathrooms
  • Disliked — Bad location, lack of features for the price
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

Spent one weekend night at the Hyatt Regency. Quite pleased with the bang for the buck I got at Priceline for this more than adequate property. However, be careful of things that can get you. Parking is now $41 plus $4 tax. Pure ripoff. Especially when you can park in a secure parking garage around the corner for $10.

Place is crowded but the rooms are nice. Lengthy lines at the front desk. No safe deposit boxes in room. Have to use hotel safe deposit box which means wait at front desk to get in.

Overall, a good experience. Washington on a hot summer weekend is really empty. We had the whole city to ourselves. Make sure you remember the name of your Hyatt. I told taxi driver to take us to Grand Hyatt and that's where he took us. Didn't realize til I was inside hotel that I was in wrong hotel. There are 3 or 4 Hyatts in DC

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

The biggest problem with this hotel was cleanliness: my carpet did not appear to have been swept. I picked 4 bobbie pins from the rug, saw a peanut m&M and other objects on the floor. There was a hair in a drawer. I noticed that the elevator rug was also dirty. This kind of thing is disgusting and inexcusable.

On the plus side, the staff were all friendly. The gym is very nice for a free hotel gym. However, hotel literature said it was open 24/7 and this was not true.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not clean
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2007

Stayed one night on business. Definitely not worth the rack rate, but more than adequate if you can get a deal, which appears to be easy enough per the other posts.

Perfect location for us, walking distance right around the corner from the C-SPAN building at 400 N. Capitol. Did not experience problems with either the aforementioned fire house or homeless folks mentioned in previous posts, possibly due to our relatively short stay. Might be a good home base for a week otherwise. Relatively short walk to Union Station Metro for the best mass transit system ever, decent food, souvenir shops, movie theaters and tours.

If I were on vacation, I'd find a cheaper parking alternative nearby and use the Metro or cabs for the week. You'll definitely come out ahead.

The best feature of our stay was the self service Express Check-In video terminals. Extremely fast and easy, a real no brainer.
We walked right in, checked in, and got into our rooms 4 hours before official check in time. They even spit out your room key card. Just as efficient at check out. Very cool. There's also a computer station at the end of the row of check in kiosks designed to print your boarding passes if your catching a flight.

My advice? Don't hesitate to stay at the Hyatt Regency Capitol Hill if you can get it for considerably less than the $365 a night, including taxes, that my company paid.

  • Liked — The location and easy check in and out
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Address: 400 New Jersey Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 834
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a full city block in the heart of Capitol Hill, 2 blocks from the U.S. Capitol and Union Station;walking distance to national and cultural attractions, restaurants and theaters. The hotel features a contemporary atrium lobby, restaurant and lounge - Article One-American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.