We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch the traps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 New Jersey Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #77 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“watch the traps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

Spent one weekend night at the Hyatt Regency. Quite pleased with the bang for the buck I got at Priceline for this more than adequate property. However, be careful of things that can get you. Parking is now $41 plus $4 tax. Pure ripoff. Especially when you can park in a secure parking garage around the corner for $10.

Place is crowded but the rooms are nice. Lengthy lines at the front desk. No safe deposit boxes in room. Have to use hotel safe deposit box which means wait at front desk to get in.

Overall, a good experience. Washington on a hot summer weekend is really empty. We had the whole city to ourselves. Make sure you remember the name of your Hyatt. I told taxi driver to take us to Grand Hyatt and that's where he took us. Didn't realize til I was inside hotel that I was in wrong hotel. There are 3 or 4 Hyatts in DC

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    373
    569
    333
    112
    66
See reviews for
354
262
84
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

The biggest problem with this hotel was cleanliness: my carpet did not appear to have been swept. I picked 4 bobbie pins from the rug, saw a peanut m&M and other objects on the floor. There was a hair in a drawer. I noticed that the elevator rug was also dirty. This kind of thing is disgusting and inexcusable.

On the plus side, the staff were all friendly. The gym is very nice for a free hotel gym. However, hotel literature said it was open 24/7 and this was not true.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not clean
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2007

Stayed one night on business. Definitely not worth the rack rate, but more than adequate if you can get a deal, which appears to be easy enough per the other posts.

Perfect location for us, walking distance right around the corner from the C-SPAN building at 400 N. Capitol. Did not experience problems with either the aforementioned fire house or homeless folks mentioned in previous posts, possibly due to our relatively short stay. Might be a good home base for a week otherwise. Relatively short walk to Union Station Metro for the best mass transit system ever, decent food, souvenir shops, movie theaters and tours.

If I were on vacation, I'd find a cheaper parking alternative nearby and use the Metro or cabs for the week. You'll definitely come out ahead.

The best feature of our stay was the self service Express Check-In video terminals. Extremely fast and easy, a real no brainer.
We walked right in, checked in, and got into our rooms 4 hours before official check in time. They even spit out your room key card. Just as efficient at check out. Very cool. There's also a computer station at the end of the row of check in kiosks designed to print your boarding passes if your catching a flight.

My advice? Don't hesitate to stay at the Hyatt Regency Capitol Hill if you can get it for considerably less than the $365 a night, including taxes, that my company paid.

  • Liked — The location and easy check in and out
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

We booked a 4 star on Priceline and got the Hyatt Regency. After I read a few reviews, I was skeptical, but as it turned out, the hotel and staff were wonderful! Driving to the hotel, we went by some sketchy neighborhoods, but that's just Washington, DC!
Once we arrived and checked in, it was great! The rooms are well maintained with great beds and linens. We bought the breakfast plan at check-in, (you can also get the promo online if you book a Hyatt special). It cost $20. per room, but it was worth it since room service or regular breakfasts can be pricey. The parking is $33. a day as well and internet is $10. a day. The proximity to the Capitol and Smithsonian, Pa. Ave, etc. is excellent! We walked to almost everything we wanted to see.
I recommend a tour on your first day, however, to get your bearings and an overview of the city. We took a tour through TrustedTours.com and they were great! We took the shuttle tour which was on a small shuttle bus and the guide got off with us at every stop to walk and explain what we were seeing. Check out their website. Our guide, Steve, was exceptional.
We walked to restaurants near the hotel and the Bistro Bis, one block away, had mussels and onion soup that compared to the ones in the street cafes in the South of France. Another restaurant, The Dubliner, an Irish pub, two blocks away, was more casual, but good food and lots of fun!
Overall, the hotel was very nice and we would gladly stay there again.
For perspective, my husband and I are experienced world travelers in our fifties; in good health and always looking for the best deal at the best price.

  • Liked — Helpfulness of hotel staff, proximity to sights, quality bedding
  • Disliked — Potential fo extra charges
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

I just returned from the Hyatt Regency. I am an event & meeting planner and was coordinating the logistics for a three day meeting.

Pros:
-Sleeping rooms are up to Hyatt standards. Very spacious, great beds and nice amenities.
-The staff was very accommodating. One of our meeting attendees had a box shipped to the hotel. It was lost (these things happen) and they did everything in their power to make it up to her. They sent her an amenity and bought her a gift.
-The location is very close to Union Station. It's an appropriate property for those doing business on the Hill.

Cons:
-The lobby is crowded and loud. Also, it's quite unattractive.
-The meeting space, while abundant, is inconsistent. Some of the space has obviously been renovated and is very attractive. Other rooms are tired and look like they haven't been refurbished since 1985.
-The location is on Capitol Hill. While great for business and close to many of the sites, I don't know that this would be the best hotel for tourists. With a few exceptions, there is virtually no nightlife in the area. In fact, the neighborhood is almost dead in the evenings. A tourist may not feel safe walking around if they're not used to urban areas. That said, having lived in DC for five years, I felt very safe.

  • Liked — Sleeping Rooms & Maid Service
  • Disliked — The unattractive lobby
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

I love Hyatt chains and thought this would be a great stay, especially so close to the Capitol, but it was just okay. The hotel, as other reviewers have mentioned, is in a bit of a dodgy area, but being from NY, it's nothing I haven't seen. People from smaller cities may be intimidated, though, as there is a homeless shelter a few blocks away. My main issue is that on the weekends, this area is very desolate.
Check-in went very well. We arrived early, and they held our bags until we came back that evening. The hotel is oddly shaped, and I believe it was mentioned that it used to be a different brand. It's not very attractive, but the room was decent. We had a nice view of the buildings across the street.
The location is nice, outside of the main entrance is a view of the Capitol. DC is a nice compact walking city, so we only used the Metro once. The closest station is about four blocks away in the opposite direction of attractions, so we just found it easier to walk to our destination.
I got a great rate on hotwire of $100, so it was money well spent.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hotel looked old
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

Stayed at the Hyatt for a business trip. Upside is the great location, and decent restaurant. Also, room service is good (but just as expensive as it is everywhere else). Downside is that the rooms really isn't kept as clean as I'd expect from a Hyatt. I stay on Capital Hill frequently, and honestly find the cheaper Holiday Inn directly across the street to be cleaner consistently.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Address: 400 New Jersey Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a full city block in the heart of Capitol Hill, 2 blocks from the U.S. Capitol and Union Station;walking distance to national and cultural attractions, restaurants and theaters. The hotel features a contemporary atrium lobby, restaurant and lounge - Article One-American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.