We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Option in the Capitol Hill Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 New Jersey Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #71 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Greensboro,NC
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
185 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Excellent Option in the Capitol Hill Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency during a conference.

Most Hyatt hotels are among the best of the chains and this is no exception. A nice lobby area and excellent service greets you upon arrival. There is a bar and restaurant off the lobby but I did not eat or drink there.

The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. Large HD TV, comfortable bed and nice shower. The room was average size but as a solo traveler it was fine.

Used the workout facility and the machine was in good working order and had a nice view of the surrounding DC streets.

As a side note, ate at TenPenh (excellent and elegant Asian), Ristorante La Perla (excellent and elegant Italian) and lunched at Capitol City Brewing Company (great bar type menu).

Overall, excellent stay at the Hyatt. Not very close to the tourist area but walking distance to the Capitol.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    709
    376
    122
    71
See reviews for
434
320
99
658
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

As far as Hyatt's and other 4-star accommodation go, this was pretty average. It was a fantastic location, which I was very happy about, but had some faults.
The good:
1. Location was superb - within sight of the Capitol building
2. Food was great (breakfast)
3. Reception was good
4. Beds were comfortable

The not so good:
1. If your room is on the street side, you're just opposite the very busy fire dept - which seems to be called out every hour at night
2. The hotel could use a massive refurb from the lobby to the rooms - including introducing double-glazing to windows in order to cut out street noise

On the whole, it was a good place to stay, but the fire trucks did wake our baby twice, which was a bit of a nuisance, but obviously not the hotel's fault.
It was a good hotel, but with some work could be much better.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makawao, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Due to Platinum status, I was upgraded to Regency Club on the 11th floor. While the quality of the food offered at both breakfast and cocktail times was very good to excellent, the Club mirrored the overall demeanor of the entire hotel-dated, and in dire need of refurbishing. The ottoman in my room was torn, frayed and should have been replaced or removed.
Location is great, staff well-trained, polite and officious.

Overall, this stands far below the usual standards of a Hyatt "Regency"; it is in need of a major overhaul!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

I stayed here for one night on my own and my husband joined me for a conference the next few days. The good--the lobby is bright and airy, I found the check-in staff very professional and accommodating. I found the room with the king bed spacious. The hotel restaurant staff were accommodating and the maid helpful.

The bad--There were many families with children in the hotel over the weekend and I was bothered by doors opening and closing as well as people talking in the halls past 10 p.m. The rooms were not well insulated enough to prevent being disturbed by the noise. The internet is not free here.

The ugly--About 2 a.m. on Sunday I was awakened by--the fire alarm. All guests were instructed to evacuate the building. After a while we were allowed to return and learned not only that someone had pulled the fire alarm, but that this is not unusual.

Overall, I think this hotel wants to be a business hotel, but really lowers their rates to get the families in on the weekends. It doesn't seem set up to appropriately accommodate families.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budd Lake, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

my boyfriend and i stayed at the hyatt regency for a long weekend. we reserved a room with a king bed, and when we got there they no longer had our room reserved for us. we were forced to stay in a room with two double beds, a big disappointment once you remember how small a double bed is for two people. the room was clean except for the bathroom - the toilet came with hair and liquid (take a guess) on the seat. the rooms do not come with a mini fridge ($35 extra), there is no free wifi, and no continental breakfast provided in the morning. parking was extremely expensive (valet only), so we ended up parking at union station which ended up being half the price. on top of everything, the fire alarm went off at 2 am, forcing half of the hotel outside for 10 minutes until the fire dept came and said we could go back in. obviously this is not the hotel's fault, but we weren't offered anything, not even an apology, for the inconvenience.

the only positive thing i have to say is that the location is great - 5 min walk to union station and the capital building. however, for the price you could definitely find another option, which i would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castaic, ca.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We stayed during an extremely busy time, the Cherry Blossom Festival. The hotel is located about 3 blocks north of the Capitol and about 3 blocks west of Union Station. This was the first visit to DC for our family. The rooms are small but have nice beds and a flat screen tv. For 30.00 they'll bring you a small refridgerator that is actually worth it, if you go across the street to the liquor store and stock up on water. The hotel shop charges $4.00 for a large water bottle. I had to place a towel at the base of the room door to keep the noise of people walking and talking in the hallway. I loved the location. We walked everywhere from this hotel. There are cabs everywhere and a subway system. We walked alot and saw alot of sites. There is a place about a block north of the hotel called the billy goat bar and grill that serves a great inexpensive breakfast and lunch. Union Station is a couple of blocks away and also has lots of places on the lower level to eat. Parking at the Hyatt is $41 per day. The Building to the south named Jones Day has $18 parking which is just across the street. We were within 10 minutes walking from most of the Smithsonian museums. There are maps of the area that the Hotel provides which are great.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Took the family (kids 11 and 9) to DC for 4 days over spring break and I think it worked out to be just the right amount of time. I got the hotel through hotwire for under 200/night as we wanted to be within walking distance to the mall. Walking is key here as $41/night for parking is a bit steep.
The walk to the capital is about 5 minutes, so I don't think you can really get much closer.
Check in was without problem and the lobby was clean bright and spacious, though as others have mentioned, it portends a bit higher quality than the rooms. We had a lousy view overlooking an alley, but truthfully I don't believe the views of many rooms are much better. The room was a bit small with two double (not queen) beds, but clean. There wasn't a huge amount of storage space in the one dresser, but enough for four days of clothes. (a week would have been rough) My wife did not find enough storage space in the bathroom as well for our toiletries.
The restaurant downstairs was pricey, though no exorbitant for a "upscale" hotel. The buffet was 20/pp but the kids menu was less. . The kids did enjoy the desserts on the evening menu. There is a starbucks next door and in the hotel as well for a quick coffee and bagel. The bar seemed busy most nights, but the wine list was very limited. I did not eat dinner here.
The indoor pool was not huge, but heated and not overly crowded.
Overall, if you want to be close to capitol hill, it may be worthwhile to stay here, but dont expect luxury. The place is clean and convenient and within walking distance to the metro, the mall, Union Street Staion and a number of good restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Address: 400 New Jersey Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 834
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a full city block in the heart of Capitol Hill, 2 blocks from the U.S. Capitol and Union Station;walking distance to national and cultural attractions, restaurants and theaters. The hotel features a contemporary atrium lobby, restaurant and lounge - Article One-American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.