We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location poor execution” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 New Jersey Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #64 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Good location poor execution”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We swithered about staying here but the hotel were offering great deals for families compared with others in Washington DC. In photographs the hotel looks very grand but i reality it is a touch disappointing. We booked two adjoining rooms and I have to say that the double bed my wife and I slept in was very uncomfortable. Service in restaurants and bars was very slow and breakfast was overpriced. I'm sure for the same sort of money we could have found better in DC and we will certainly be looking for it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    806
    419
    134
    75
See reviews for
480
367
114
792
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Great location near Mall, Capitol and Central Train Station. Nice room. Friendly staff at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We (Mom and 15 year old son) stayed at the hotel 8/06-8/11 in room 580. Checked in without difficulty and was moved after one night without any problems (we had been put into a handicapped room, next to the elevator). Our room faced New Jersey Ave. There is a small fire station right across from the hotel and on occasion there was noise but not bad. Housekeeping was wonderful. It was very hot during our stay and we were left extra towels and toiletries for the extra showers that were necessary. There was an Ipod docking station built into the alarm clock which my son used every day. We had complimentary breakfast buffet tickets through a package offered by AAA which also gave us 20% off our room costs. The buffet was quite complete and more than I would have expected (fresh fruits, smoked lochs, bacon, sausage, eggs, made to order omelets, cheeses, dried fruits, breads, pastries, coffee, and juices). A very nice way to begin our day! The staff did an awesome job keeping up with all of the people that needed to be seated . During the busy times someone came around to offer juice as you were standing in line. The exercise facility looked very nice but it was simply to hot for me to think about working out. The pool is a LAP pool and pretty small, not exactly what I had been expecting but would have been adequate for younger children to take a dip in to cool off.

The location was 2-3 blocks to the Capitol and about the same to Union Station. We used National(Reagan) airport and the Cab fee was $13.75 for 2 to get to the airport. The Metro was easily managed after the first day and is the best bargain for getting around both dollar and time wise.

(There is a Homeless Shelter within 3 blocks of the hotel which we came upon one evening and that was a bit unsettling but that's what happens when you don't know the area very well and you're out walking and exploring! We certainly never felt unsafe.) Also, it would have been nice to have free Wi-Fi at the hotel. We didn't need it enough to justify paying the fee and so just did without.

Overall, this was a great location for us to stay and a very positive experience for us.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Generally this hotel was OK for a meeting, but not sure if I would want to stay here while vacationing. The location is very close to Capital Hill (two short blocks), and a further walk to the more popular attractions on the National Mall. There are very few restaurants or stores in the area, mostly offices with the exception of Union Station about two blocks away. Also, you may want to consider that there is what seems to be a block-long homeless shelter a block behind the hotel.

One big plus that many DC hotels don't have, is a glass covered pool area, with an outdoor sitting area. Especially good for families walking around DC during the very hot and humid summer. In that same area was the aerobic exercise equipment.

This is a very large hotel, with lots of groups, and it felt crowded while I was there. 9:30 Sunday morning there was a 15 minute line at the restaurant--same at the Starbucks, next door. Every day I saw lines at the registration desk, although I did not wait at all to check-in.

The rooms were moderately clean, and about ready for a renovation. All and all it was OK, slightly better than some, for a huge conference hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Washington DC at the end of July 09. We liked the hotel and room when we first checked in, it was modern, stylish, clean and very close to union station.

The food at the hotel is VERY expensive for what you get, with breakfast costing 20$ for a waffle and some juice. Our second and third days in the hotel, cleaning never came by to change the towels or anything even though we were gone from 9am-7pm. Toward the end of the stay we also became quite grossed out at the site of cock-roaches coming out from behind the bathroom mirror and climbing onto our toothbrushes.

Unless you get an amazing deal on the room, and don't mind some roaches making love to your bathroom supplies, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

All the staff were very welcoming from the front desk to the housekeeping. The concierge was helpful too. The room was a standard size but very clean. Beds were comfy. A great location for transport. The metro station is just outside the hotel. Pool and gym on top floor. There's a great pizza place a five minute walk away if you turn right outside the hotel - Stromboli's. Also a caribou coffee round the corner to the left offering free wifi. We would definately recommend! (We got the room on hotwire.com so paid about a third of what we should have so for us it was great value.)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
230 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

I stayed here 2 nights for meetings on Capital Hill. The hotel is an easy walk to the House, Senate and Supreme Court. There are a few places around but this is not prime tourist real estate so if you aren't planning to visit the House and Senate I'd stay elsewhere to avoid getting in and out of cabs. The hotel itself is large. It is used for groups visiting D.C. to lobby Congress. When you enter you see lots of signs - insurance folks meeting this way, disease folks meeting that way. Be prepared for busy mornings as large groups head out for the Hill. The staff are very professional. The rooms were large enough and comfortable. My only complaint was that the walls are a bit thin. I could hear the folks in the next room and they weren't being loud. The area around the hotel varies. It was a sketchy area until recently. It is now in transition but I wouldn't want to walk the streets too much after sundown. Overall it met my purposes and I was pleased.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Address: 400 New Jersey Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 834
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a full city block in the heart of Capitol Hill, 2 blocks from the U.S. Capitol and Union Station;walking distance to national and cultural attractions, restaurants and theaters. The hotel features a contemporary atrium lobby, restaurant and lounge - Article One-American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Amex, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.