We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 New Jersey Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 15%
Ranked #66 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Georgetown
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel for the past three years attending a meeting. It's always clean, quiet and reliable. The bed is always comfortable and the room is spacious. The only real drawback is the location. It's great if you're heading to the Capital, but there really aren't any dining or nightlife choices nearby. It's a 10 to 15 minute walk to the Metro, so I'd recommend a cap if you're heading out alone. Overall, good solid Hyatt.... I'll be back next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    900
    447
    143
    76
See reviews for
543
396
120
908
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I'm writing this review from my phone in my room with 4g at this moment because I absolutely refuse to pay 15 dollars a day for Internet. Seriously, is this 1995? They've somehow even prevented my laptop from connecting to my mobile hotspot. I've had the unfortunate opportunity to stay in this hotel for a business trip and have not been pleased. I stayed in a king room where the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. (Bed too hard ;pillows with no substance slept with 3 of them) There was no fitted sheet on the bed so upon pulling down what I assume was a comforter (blanket with
sheet underneath and on top) all the sheets came down
with it exposing a bare
mattress. The view outside consisted of looking directly into a neighboring office building. .not what you'd hope for at $200 a night. Channel guide for TV is extremely hard to find. Pool area didn't have a jacuzzi and gym was disappointing. Everything is grossly overpriced, no breakfast unless you want to pay over 30 dollars. .for breakfast. I really expected more from a hyatt. Cleaning staff was very nice though. .Others had a pretentious attitude in the restaurant and check in areas.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hello nikkiboko,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your most recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington D.C. I am so sorry to hear about the many inconveniences you had with your guest room bedding and WiFi access. I have forwarded this information to our executive management and housekeeping management to follow up on and to ensure this does not happen in the future. I hope we will be able to welcome you back on your next trip to Washington D.C. Again, our sincerest apologies, feel free to contact our Guest Relations department if you would like to speak about this matter further.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This hotel is very nice and conveniently located within walking distance to Capitol Hill. Everyone working at the hotel from reception to room service was very friendly. The room service food (from the highly rated restaurant located in the hotel) was delicious and well worth it if you don't want to leave the room.

The only cons:
- Pool area was neglected. There were no dry pool towels and the pool was not heated both times of day that I went - not ideal for wanting to swim in December.
- Around the block to the northwest is some sort of homeless shelter, that looked a bit seedy, so I would take a cab to get to museums in that direction, especially at night.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I was very impressed with the service here - staff are friendly and willing to help with any needs that come up. I was trying to leave a day early and miss a big snowstorm - I worked with staff so didn't have to pay any early checkout penalty. The hotel is very close to Capitol Hill, so it's a convenient location if you're going for that purpose; however, while there are some solid breakfast places nearby, the restaurant selection nearby isn't as good as it is further to the west, closer to the White House. It's about four blocks from the nearest Metro rail station at Union Station. Taxis are generally lined up at the hotel entrance, so you can just walk out the door and get one very quickly.

The hotel has hypoallergenic rooms available for $30 more, which are great for allergy sufferers, for those allergic to feathers, dust and have reactions to chemically treated furniture. You can get free Internet in the lobby - I wish they had it for free in the rooms - $10 is a lot. The gym is the best I've seen at a hotel, not only with dumbbells, but a variety of weight machines, instead of one machine that is supposed to do everything. They also have a pool. The Hyatt has a restaurant and a bar, which have solid food, though overpriced like most restaurants in downtown hotels. The bar does have some good beers - they had both DC Brau and Flying Dog pale ales on tap while I was there, as well as Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA in bottles.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Greetings Richard B,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your past stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington. We will be sure to thank and recognize our team members for the amazing service they provide. Thank you so much for your kind comments about them. We often hear enthusiastic remarks on the great location we offer and we are thrilled you chose this location for your travels. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Washington D.C.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Overall decent hotel for Washington standards with the exception of two things. Charging for Internet in the room that did not work properly and the hotel breakfast was less than stellar. The hotel front desk was prompt and friendly and the rooms were well appointed to the Hyatt standard, though there was no mini bar. There was a mini fridge but what am I to do with that? The hotel elevators need to be updated as they run slow. As stated the breakfast was less than stellar for the amount paid. You can get a better breakfast elsewhere in DC. Close (walking distance) to Union Station as well as the Capitol and Supreme Court.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The interior of the rooms are slightly upgraded but not by much. Beds were not as comfortable as we had hoped. This isn't the first time that a Hyatt has disappointed us and its surprising considering the cost. Its in a great location but there is not much comfort to be had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at this Hyatt. Great location. Everyone was so pleasant especially waitstaff and doorman. Rooms clean as well. The one gripe I had was no internet in room. Although it was free in the lobby, you had to pay ten dollars a day in the room. I was very unhappy about this. Breakfast buffet looked great but food was cold and not good. Waitstaff was so pleasant and couldn't do enough for you but buffet Wasn't worth the 22.00 a person. I would stay again and hopefully they'll change to free wifi.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#88 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,637 reviews
Capitol Hill
Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel
National Mall
Phoenix Park Hotel
Phoenix Park Hotel
#48 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#79 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,700 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Address: 400 New Jersey Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 834
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a full city block in the heart of Capitol Hill, 2 blocks from the U.S. Capitol and Union Station;walking distance to national and cultural attractions, restaurants and theaters. The hotel features a contemporary atrium lobby, restaurant and lounge - Article One-American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.