We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Location! Clean. Walking distance from Union Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 New Jersey Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 15%
Ranked #66 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“GREAT Location! Clean. Walking distance from Union Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night. I arrived by train and it was a 10 min walk from Union Station.
Check in was very easy and the staff was great. The room was clean. the bed soft and the bathroom was big. The water hot water was very hot. This is a big plus for me. The buffet was $23.00 and was pretty extensive. The wifi was $10.99 for 1 night. Walking distance to the US Capitol and subway stops. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    902
    448
    143
    76
See reviews for
544
400
121
908
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Convenient, professional and dependable. Building is a bit worn, hallways are dingy BUT once you reach your room it is quiet and warm. Staff were helpful and responsive to the minor issues that came up. Restaurant although a bit pricey is excellent (try the crab bisque it is outstanding). Love this hotel for conferences b/c the facilities are convenient and food service is brilliant.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRWDC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Robspetal,
I appreciate your loyalty to Hyatt Regency Washington and thank you for taking the time to review your experiences. Article One American Grill is nothing short of delicious and our staff is just as amazing. Our guest rooms are newly updated and I am glad that you enjoyed your accommodations. We always want our guests to feel at home when they stay with us. I am excited to tell you that we are in the final stages of our guest room transformation, which will include brand new corridor carpeting, wallcovering, and lighting! I hope you will stay with us in the future to see all of our changes.
Sincerely,
Steve Smith, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Close access to the Mall at the Capital end. The Red line at Union Station is a 5-7 minute walk. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Layout of the room was very spacious with a large flat screen TV that can be viewed from anywhere in the room. Bed was very comfortable, big plus after a full day of walking the sites in DC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRWDC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear mccscs,
Thank you for your review. It sounds like you experienced all of what Washington, D.C. has to offer! I am happy to hear that our friendly staff and our accommodations made you feel comfortable at the end of your day. I hope that you will stay with us the next time you are in our Nation’s Capital.
Sincerely,
Steve Smith, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We enjoyed the location. Staff were very friendly and helpful; the breakfast buffet was good and reasonably priced. The beds were very comfortable. Towels were thin and scratchy; the A/C was extremely loud.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the A/C isn't as loud as in 902.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRWDC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear asouthard,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Our staff takes pride in their jobs and they would be happy to hear that you found them to be so hospitable. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, and I will be sure to share your comments with our Article One team. I hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Steve Smith, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My company hosts a meeting in DC every other spring and we had one here at the Hyatt Regency recently. The hotel is divided into two towers and it is difficult to get attendants from one tower to another for meeting rooms but the meeting rooms are decently sized. In terms of the area, the hotel is close to two metro stops, but it is also near a homeless shelter and the surrounding area is a bit run down. There are hotels in the city with comparably priced rooms that are closer to the National Mall and museums so this certainly isn't the best option. This hotel is a great option for hosting a conference in DC - especially as the city has limited meeting space.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Short distance to Union Station, you get a good view of the Capitol Building when you cross the street to go to Union Station look to your right, if you happen to get up early in the morning around 7 AM then you can take a picture when there are not a lot of car, it is different when you take a picture at the Capital building. Hotel was clean, amenities are normal same as other hotels. We ask met one of the house keeping in the hall way and asked for a shower cap, he told me to call house keeping! Lobby is noise with meetings and convention, but don't let this deter you from staying here. The hotel is across from the Art and Soul restaurant, highly recommended to splurge the extra money to try it. NO FREE INTERNET...you would think now a day that it would be included in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
142 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed this hotel on a recent trip. Rooms were very nice, as was the lobby area. Only minor complaint was the A/C was a bit noisy, but was OK when turned to a lower setting. This hotel was a short walk to Capital Hill, Union Station, and some of the museums, such as the Air and Space Museum. There is a place right next door that is convenient for breakfast if you don't want to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRWDC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear JD3,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our guest rooms. We recently completed a transformation of these rooms and it is great to get guest feedback on them. The convenient location of the hotel is one of its greatest assets and I am glad that you were able to take advantage of it. I hope you will stay with us the next time you visit Washington, D.C.
Sincerely,
Steve Smith, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#88 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,644 reviews
Capitol Hill
Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel
National Mall
Phoenix Park Hotel
Phoenix Park Hotel
#48 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,654 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#79 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Address: 400 New Jersey Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 834
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a full city block in the heart of Capitol Hill, 2 blocks from the U.S. Capitol and Union Station;walking distance to national and cultural attractions, restaurants and theaters. The hotel features a contemporary atrium lobby, restaurant and lounge - Article One-American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.