We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A funky hotel with character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Helix, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1430 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Suite Deal
Ranked #74 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Joliet, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A funky hotel with character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just love this place. The staff was very courteous and attentive. The only the only bad part about this hotel was it is kind of far from the metro station. This is easily remedied by taking the bus to the metro station. The location is fantastic. There are many restaurants and bars that cater to all lifestyles. The hotel hosts a free wine hour from 5 to 6 PM. I highly recommend this place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussein H, Front Office Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you so much for such an outstanding review of your stay at the Helix. Looks like you and your wife had a fantastic time on all levels and I am really happy we could provide you with that. We can't wait to see you again soon.Thank you again for such an outstanding review!

Hussein Heshmat
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hotel Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
Direct: 202-521-2725
Fax: 202-521-2714
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    440
    175
    72
    59
See reviews for
221
409
152
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WV
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I were at the Helix for a 3 night stay, and we were very pleased! The room was clean and the decor was very fun! We opted for the $1 extra continental breakfast, and while it was nothing to write home about, the pastries were good and the options were satisfactory. The breakfast attendant was super nice!

The staff was absolutely fantastic! They had great recommendations for eating around the neighborhood. Birch & Barley was particularly delicious.

Room Tip: Stay on a top floor. It was very quiet during our stay.
See more room tips
Green Features: I liked having a recycling option in the room and the fact that the hotel did not seem to air condition elevators or hallways. It's just wasted energy, and you only spend a few minutes in them.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussein H, Front Office Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you so much for such an outstanding review of your stay at the Helix. Looks like you and your wife had a fantastic time on all levels and I am really happy we could provide you with that. I am so glad our staff took such great care of you. I am also a huge fan of Birch and Barley. We can't wait to see you again soon.Thank you again for such an outstanding review!

Hussein Heshmat
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hotel Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
Direct: 202-521-2725
Fax: 202-521-2714
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place for a Christmas Stay! Join the rewards program and receive free Parking and free munchies from the in room mini bar! Retro very trendy. Excellent service and staff. Christmas Eve dinner at Fogo de chao, Christmas Day early dinner at Founding Farmers. Nothing like DC at Christmas including NY. Decorations at the Capital a must see. Also National Christmas tree and State Trees a must. Going back this year! Pet friendly for you animal lovers and no additional charges$$

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussein H, Front Office Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you so much for such an outstanding review of your stay at the Helix. Looks like you had a fantastic time on all levels and I am really happy we could provide you with that. We can't wait to see you again this year.Thank you again for such an outstanding review!

Hussein Heshmat
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hotel Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
Direct: 202-521-2725
Fax: 202-521-2714
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komenda
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were staying in this hotel for 2 nights in DLX King Room.
First room we got was 214, but we imediatelly asked for new room as this room was so noisy we could barely talk to eachother. We then moved to room 413. We could still hear the noise, but it was acceptable so we decided to keep the room as we only used it to sleep in;).
I think the noise was produced by some climate control system which resides in the ground and has ventilation shaft running through the middle of the hotel. Room 214 was horrible, room 413 was two floors higher, but still vertically very close to room 214. I would avoid rooms ending with x14 and maybe even x13 (at least on lower floors). Not sure what other rooms they have, but avoiding DLX king rooms might be wise precaution as thay seem to be positioned around the climate shaft.
The staff was very helpfull but didn't seam to have much knowledge about Washington. We asked about bikeshare and locations to eat and we were given only vague answers so we had to figure things out by ourselves. Maybe we just got unlucky with persons helping us.
The hotel itself was superb. Very modern, well kept and in walking distance to White house, Lincoln monument etc.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms ending with 13 or 14 (213, 214, 313, 314...) - at least in summer times;).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussein H, Front Office Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review of your stay at the Helix. I am so sorry to hear about the noisy rooms and unhelpful staff. I will make sure to address those issues immediately. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come and see us again very soon. Thank you again for such an outstanding review!

Hussein Heshmat
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hotel Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
Direct: 202-521-2725
Fax: 202-521-2714
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel with our 10 month old daughter and our newfoundland dog. The hotel was in a great neighborhood, centrally located, and our room was great. The beds were comfortable, the decor was fun, and the staff were helpful. Our view wasn't great and the hallway noise was loud, but nothing extreme. This hotel is very dog friendly, however, there isn't a great grassy place nearby. (We found a grassy circle about 1/2 mile away along with a neighborhood dog park.) There are a ton of great restaurants & bars nearby, and there is a whole foods market one block over. We decided to save some money and park our car in a garage about 3/4 mile away, we spent $15 a day instead of paying the $40 a day Hotel Helix was asking.

We called ahead to see about checking in early and we were told that wasn't possible because the hotel was completely booked. After I explained that we had a baby and a dog, the staff was happy to accommodate us and we checked in an hour early. They also sent up a bottle of sparkling wine and two cupcakes for my husband's birthday! What sweethearts. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussein H, Front Office Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for such an outstanding review of your stay at the Helix. I am so glad you decided to celebrate your husband's birthday with us and you enjoyed your stay on al levels. We hope you will come and see us again very soon and no wait for another birthday! Thank you again for such an outstanding review!

Hussein Heshmat
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hotel Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
Direct: 202-521-2725
Fax: 202-521-2714
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

First when we entered the hotel, we had the feeling that it's much more expensive than we were told...everything is great and clean!parking in front of the hotel was the only problem!the waiter spilled hot coffee on my husband and apologized like 10 times and we received a free breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussein H, Front Office Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for such an outstanding review of your stay at the Helix. Looks like you had a fantastic time on all levels and I am really happy we could provide you with that. We hope you will come and see us again very soon.Thank you again for such an outstanding review!

Hussein Heshmat
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hotel Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
Direct: 202-521-2725
Fax: 202-521-2714
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago metro area
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It looks so great on screen. However, when we checked into the Helix Hotel on Christmas Day evening, we walked through the creepy (not cool) fabric screen and automatic doors to an empty check-in area and a 'lobby' (narrow hallway) littered with garbage from the bar area, lots of yappy little dogs and quite a few drunk patrons (that one not Kimpton's fault, but placing the free booze in the hallway near the only elevators available to access our room may not make the greatest first impression).

After the employee who was manning the free alcohol offered to find us some check-in help, we were met by a very friendly reservationist and a more than eager bell employee, who whisked our luggage to our room and waited not-so-subtly for his tip. We were more than happy to tip extra as he was working on Christmas day, but had second thoughts after he left and we turned on the lights to the room.

At first, it is easy to be wowed due to all the the hip, modern art and furnishings and bright colors. That all changed when our 6-yr-old went to sit down on the sectional, but had to move the USED, DISPOSABLE RAZOR BLADE, that was just left on the carpet in front of the sectional. Disgustingly Y.U.C.K. and dangerous!

Moved to bathroom to discover bright orange (and tiny, tiny) sink vanity with stainless steel sink. Vanity had chunks of the orange veneer chipped off and was covered in hair from last patron. Wallpaper peeling off the wall. Also dark, dark, dark.

Moved to private bedroom to find fixtures and side tables covered in dust and the sheers on the window absolutely COVERED in some kind of milky, white stains...repulsive.

Ordered room service because we arrived so late and everywhere closed on Christmas...again, service was super speedy and friendly. Food was plastic tasting, semi-cold and flatware was dirty. After an exhausting day of travel to get there, we were forced to eat cashews for dinner out of the super expensive minibar.

Finally, and most concerning, we called well in advance to assure that we would be placed on a NO PET floor. I and my son have asthma and we thought doing so would ensure our comfort and no asthmatic surprises. We have stayed at Kimptons in Chicago many, many times, requested pet-free floors and never had a problem. And, although we saw no evidence of pets on the floor, our asthma went haywire in this room from the second hour we were there until we insisted we were moved (to a room half the size for 7/8 the price) to a different room (in which our breathing cleared up). Our only allergic triggers are cats, dust and mold. Our first room, I am certain, had all three at some point.

I will state that I am giving the hotel 3 stars for the extremely willing and eager attitude of the employees...but the accommodations just weren't up to snuff for the steep price we paid to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussein H, Front Office Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear, Marnie1972,

Thanks for recognizing the service you received from our staff, it's why we are here and I am glad to hear they delivered with an eager and positive attitude. I'm disappointed to hear that you experienced a few speed bumps over the course of your stay, that's not our style. We should have had the right room for you the first time and for that I am truly sorry. I hope you'll continue to enjoy Kimpton Hotels on your travels across the United States!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Helix, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1430 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#75 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Helix, a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Helix is a swanky boutique hotel fashionably located in Washington DC's downtown Logan Circle neighborhood. Fun, hip and smart, this Kimpton Hotel delights the moment you walk through its doors. The bright colors and ultra-mod style are matched by luxurious, sparkling service and careful attention to detail. Hotel Helix, complete with the adjacent Helix Lounge, is a glamorous base for exploring the nearby White House, Washington Monument, Smithsonian Museums and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Helix, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.