We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for the Business Traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Helix, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1430 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #90 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Location for the Business Traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I was a little worried when I read some recent reviews, but this hotel is perfectly fine. It is exactly what one expects from a Kimpton Hotel. Breakfast was decent and served quickly.

A couple of things which must be mentioned:
1) The nearest metro station (Dupont Circle) is a good 10 to 15 minute walk. If you enjoy walking in DC, this should not be a problem.
2) The area immediately around the hotel is fairly residential, therefore you will need to walk to find a restaurant. Not a big deal since there are so many great options in DC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    473
    200
    84
    68
See reviews for
250
441
157
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

A group of friends and I chose this hotel to stay at while in DC and all 7 of us had a great time. The rooms are very Chic and efficient and the Beds are like sleeping on a cloud. Would definetly consider staying here again next time I'm in D.C area. Easy walking to Logan Square and Dupont Circle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here on a recent trip with our kids because I had heard about the bunk bed rooms. The hotel ended up being a great little surprise! Wonderful, courteous service and appealing, modern decor.
Our children loved the bunk beds and large room.
The free continental breakfast had many choices. My husband ordered from the menu and had a delicious egg white omelette.
I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed at the Helix during the Marine Corps Marathon weekend. I used the subway to go to both the Expo and the race start. This hotel is very convenient to the Metro. I also enjoyed the funky little neighborhood and restaurants nearby. The rooms are spacious and come stocked with all the amenities. Definitely, join the Kimpton guest program prior to arrival - you'll thank me later. Great hotel - highly recommend.

Room Tip: join the rewards program!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed here three nights for recent business trip and had the best experience. The staff is fantastic (shout outs to Jay, Ritchie, and Walter), the room are comfortable and fun, the lounge is fantastic, and it's in a great location, convenient to so many DC attractions. What more could you want?

Room Tip: The eighth floor was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Helix was the best hotel experience I have ever had!! Staff was incredible! Highly recommend happy hour for incredible appetizers. This hotel is centrally located to so many landmarks in DC. Really it has be good if there is pez in the min bar! Thank you for a great stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

First, I love Kimptons quirky style and always amazing hospitality (not to mention free wine happy hour), but a recent trip to the Helix was a little off for Kimpton.

As is often the case with older urban hotels, the bathroom is incredibly small. But coupled with VERY low water pressure in the shower, I recommend the Rouge around the corner if you enjoy a good shower after a long day.

As always, the staff was great and several remembered me day after day. Attention to detail was a little off when I ordered a coffee pot and found it still had someone else's coffee grounds pack in the filter. That was quickly remedied but I still had to request new new coffee every day. Seems that they should be able to deliver enough for your stay, or new packs every day if you have asked for a pot.

As always, an overall great experience. Shower and coffee aside, this is a great property and quieter than other properties, like Rouge and Donovan House, nearby.

Room Tip: Streetside rooms are quiet. Back rooms, on the alley, have a lot of early morning noise with trash d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
#54 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,445 reviews
Dupont Circle
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
#49 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
#45 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#32 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helix, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1430 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Helix, a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Helix is a swanky boutique hotel fashionably located in Washington DC's downtown Logan Circle neighborhood. Fun, hip and smart, this Kimpton Hotel delights the moment you walk through its doors. The bright colors and ultra-mod style are matched by luxurious, sparkling service and careful attention to detail. Hotel Helix, complete with the adjacent Helix Lounge, is a glamorous base for exploring the nearby White House, Washington Monument, Smithsonian Museums and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Otel, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Helix, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.