We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jetsons meet Lucille Ball” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Helix, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1430 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #53 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Midland, MI
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“The Jetsons meet Lucille Ball”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The guy who checked me in insisted on telling me about the amenities I'd missed, such as free wine in the lobby. "I'm your new best friend Rick," he said several times to me, a stranger. Speaking of "stranger," that described the decor as compared with, oh, any other hotel. The room was big with a lot of empty floor space. A rock-hard, low, multicolored sofa was angled into the room. The "desk" was an inefficient small triangle. The TV and a lamp rotated on a sort of stripper's pole. Chiffon curtains and other, mid-century-fabricked curtains comprised the closet door, the drapes, and a divider between the nearly-empty sofa room and the bed.(Since the latter were semi sheer, their purpose was unclear.) The minibar and drawer unit looked like a chartreuse icebox from the 1950s. The artwork: Photos of Barbie and Ken. As a fiftyish business traveler, I was clearly not the target demographic. They are remodeling in 2013. I won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helix_GM, General Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Opinion8ted,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback regarding your recent visit. I am so sorry that you didn’t enjoy the atmosphere of the hotel and the rooms. I think you are right on with your description. The design of the hotel is meant to be quite different and unique to anything else you might find in the DC area and we try to do what we can to inspire all our guests to let their hair down or loosen their tie, if you will. As you noted we are planning a major renovation next year and I would love to invite you back at that time to experience what I think is going to be something very special. Again I am really sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your experience. If you would like to discuss things further, please feel free to reach out to me at any time.
Sincerely,
James Adamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    590
    385
    140
    56
    49
See reviews for
179
344
143
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised & very happy with the hospitality everyone here extended to guests. Each guest is greeted by a welcoming smile & everyone at the hotel is very courteous & helpful.
The room was very spacious, clean & well decorated. The evening wine bar is a good opportunity to interact with other guests & listen to their travel stories. Highly recommend this hotel! Worth your money!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear OlivaG,

Thank you so much for your awesome review of the Helix! I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us so much and enjoyed the service and the room and the wine hour so much.

We can't wait to have you come back and see us again very soon.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei/Assistant GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

as I say in the tittle,
rooms are ok, but the construction starts at 7 AM
also Housekeeping staff is as loud as the drilling that is happening
The rooms are kinda special tho,
And the area its in has a lots of happening places.
I guess this is good for people that dont sleep much

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussein H, Front Office Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear smasherstef,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review about your visit to The Helix Hotel. It’s through the feedback of guests like you that we’re able to make the necessary adjustments and improvements to continue to provide a unique and enjoyable experience to everyone who passes through our doors.
I would like to appologize for the noise issues you had with your stay. You are correct we are doing some work to try improve the hotel. I can imagine that it detracted from your enjoyment, comfort and the ability to relax. I will make sure to speak with housekeepers to ensure they are more quite while working the hall in the morning. Once again I would like to apologize for the issues you faced and hope you chose to visit us again soon.

Hussein Heshmat
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hotel Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
Direct: 202-521-2725
Fax: 202-521-2714
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

When we travel, we like to stay places that are anything but ordinary. Well we got it! It had a very 90's throwback tongue-in-cheek feel.....like I was in a DeeLite video. The mini fridge was a lime green old pop machine complete with wax lips and Pop Rocks. Beds were very comfy, the free cocktail reception in the lounge was a nice touch. I like that it was pet friendly, because I miss my dog when I travel. There was a misunderstanding with parking, we thought it was included in the package we got, turns out it wasn't, but the manager gave it to us anyways. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussein H, Front Office Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Liz K,

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and quirky fun atmosphere of the Helix. Sorry to hear about the misunderstanding with parking but glad to hear we settled the matter to your satisfaction. Hope to see again soon, and next time please bring your dog we would love to meet them.

Hussein Heshmat
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hotel Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
Direct: 202-521-2725
Fax: 202-521-2714
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I love, love, love these hotels. They always make me feel at home. The Helix was actualluy my first ever Kimpton visit and it definitely made me a believer in the Kimpton experience. I love the wine/beer hour in the evening. It gives time for business associates to wind down for the evening. I always look for Kimptons when I'm in DC now.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussein H, Front Office Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Nuanarpuk,

Thank you for the amazing review of the Helix!!! I am so glad that you tried us out and have such a high opinion of Kimpton hotels and the Helix and we look forward to you trying all of our hotels and really taking in the Kimpton experience. Hope to see again soon at wine hour.

Hussein Heshmat
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hotel Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I enjoyed my stay very much but room was expensive. Hotel rooms have a funky, modern decor and were decent size for a city. WIFI reception was not good on my tenth floor room and when I called they moved me immediately to another room- very nice. Staff was very helpful and quick...
There is a "whole foods" supermarket very close by - just cross the street, walk a few steps to the left and go through the alleyway to the next street. It was very convenient for awesome breakfast food since hotel does not provide it.

Room Tip: avoid back rooms - Back alley has garbage pick up which could disturb you if you are a late riser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussein H, Front Office Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Sleepert,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear about wireless issue but I am very glad to hear you were moved immediatly. Please check back for our rates since they change daily. Hope to see you again soon.

Hussein Heshmat
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hotel Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We visited DC for our 1st anniversary celebration getaway; it took me forever to decide on a place that was different yet fair priced. But the second I saw the Helix on Tripadvisor -I feel in love! And once we arrived there, we were not disappointed. I love that the place has some spunk and character to it. If you want boring and are looking for the run of the mill place- don’t come here! We are both 30 and we really enjoyed the Helix, The staff was helpful and Fun! When we got to our room -they had placed a fruit dish and wine in our room- to help us celebrate our 1st anniversary- That was very unexpected and special! We did go to the lounge in the evening, which was laid back. Anytime we asked for recommendations for dinner, transportation, or entertainment- the staff was spot on! The room was clean, the bed was SOOOO comfortable, they actual had so good TV stations. The location was perfect for us. We caught a cab to the Smithsoun- it was about 5 bucks. Check out the City Segway Tours- Its the best way to see DC! There were good restaurants just in walking distance and I felt very safe walking around. I look forward to going to another Kimpton Hotel on our next getway. Be sure to sign up with the Kimpton Rewards. We got free internet and a free drinks during happy hour, and you get a coupon to raid the mini bar (how cool it that)! It’s the little things that Count to me, and The Helix def. exceeded my expectations! Thanks So much!

Room Tip: Join Kimpton Rewards! To get some freebies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussein H, Front Office Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Shaygotcha,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the great review. We are so glad you chose us to celebrate your one year annivesary and we hope you have many more. We hope to see you again soon maybe for the next anniversary.

Hussein Heshmat
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hotel Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Helix, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1430 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Helix, a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Helix is a swanky boutique hotel fashionably located in Washington DC's downtown Logan Circle neighborhood. Fun, hip and smart, this Kimpton Hotel delights the moment you walk through its doors. The bright colors and ultra-mod style are matched by luxurious, sparkling service and careful attention to detail. Hotel Helix, complete with the adjacent Helix Lounge, is a glamorous base for exploring the nearby White House, Washington Monument, Smithsonian Museums and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Helix, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.