We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helix ROCKS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Helix, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1430 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #66 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Helix ROCKS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I stayed at the Helix for 2 nights. The experience was absolutely the best. This hotel will clearly go down as one of my favorites. The decore, attention to detail and customer service were tops. Even though they allow dogs, I would have never known (no smell or signs of animal destruction) until I saw a guest in the lobby with a small dog. The area was convenient to EVERYTHING. Perfect for singles & families I think. Hope you try it. It is definitely worth every $$.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Karmalitajones,

Thank you very much for posting such a great review of the Helix! I am really glad that you had such a great experience and the staff, hotel and location worked out so well for you.

We are excited that we are one of your new favorites! Looking forward to having you with us again.

-Ryan Cimei/AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    399
    144
    60
    51
See reviews for
194
358
145
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I'll start by saying I'm a big fan of the Kimpton hotels. Actually, a loyal customer and seek them out when traveling not only because of their loyalty program, but their consistent look and feel.

Now with that said, the Hotel Helix is definitely stretching the boundaries of the Kimpton brand. The lobby decor is a tad seizure producing with the color scheme. The room decor follows this overthetop theme, but misses the mark and comes across slightly cheaper than their other offerings, like an over decorated dorm room. The tarted up Barbie doll pictures were the most disturbing, in a creepy babydoll head kinda way, but to each their own.

More importantly than the theme, the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful and professional. I had a minor problem with my room and they immediately switched my room and for that I was extremely grateful.

The hotel is centrally located and actually very reasonable considering DC hotel rates which are obnoxiously high. I would stay here again, just wear sunglasses.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Great one night stay. Location is great. You can walk to bars and restaurants easily and still a possible to walk to the sights like the White House. The rooms are designed with a fun attitude. Bright colors and fun wall treatments. I had the room with a king bed and bunk beds. Great for more than one in the room. If I could say anything that could use some help I'd say that the rooms could use a little updating. Nothing major though. It was clean just some of the furniture was a little worn. But hey being in the center of the city and the price wasn't mind blowing I'd definitely stay there again. Good choice for a guy who travels a LOT!
Pets are allowed and you don't have to pay extra! It's awesome! I didn't take mine on this trip but I would. And yes the rooms are spotless and I saw NO signs whatsoever that a Pet had ever been in the hotel and they have pet-free rooms for those who think they will have allergy issues.

Room Tip: Room with bunk beds is a fun option if traveling with more than one person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had a wonderful four-day stay at the Helix in August. The location is great -- good access to the metro and bus lines. The hotel room are comfy and clean, with funky decor. Burgers downstairs in the lounge during happy hour were yummy. There are refreshing drinks put out in the lobby during the late afternoon. Caribou Coffee and Whole Foods are within walking distance. Our whole family loved this place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I often stay at the Helix for the following reasons (in no particular order):

1. The staff - incredible, friendly, accommodating
2. The location - near Dupont Circle, close to restaurants, grocery stores, etc.
3. The rooms - funky decor, lots of floor space
4. The Helix Lounge - check it out and you'll see why
5. The "green" perspective

You have to stay here on your next trip to DC!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear d_hops,

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Helix! Love your list, thank you for taking the time to share how much you enjoy our property.

We thank you for continuing to stay with us and we are looking forward to your next visit!

-Ryan Cime/AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We spent 2 nights at the Hotel Helix while having the hardwood floors replaced in our condo and our stay was awesome. The Hotel Helix is beautiful and our room was much bigger than a normal hotel room in a corporate chain hotel and very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and provided great service. The Helix is definitely an awesome hotel and much better than what you would normally expect from a hotel chain.

Room Tip: Go for the King Deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear TimCorrimal,

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Helix! I am glad you found the Helix so comfortable as a home away from home while your condo was being worked on and that the staff took such great care of you.

We look foward to hopefully having you over in the Lounge and being a destination for visiting friends and family to stay when they come to check out your newly finished floors in your condo.

Hope to see you again soon!

-Ryan Cimei/AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I spent Labor Day Weekend at the Helix, using it as our base for bike trips all around the DC area, including the C&O Canal, Crescent Rail Trail and Rock Creek Trail. The room was very well appointed, comfortable, clean and comfortable. Very much enjoyed the morning breakfast buffet with outdoor seating. The highlight of the stay was the staff, and we can't say enough about them. We wanted to store our bikes locked up in our truck each night. Since all parking is valet only (as is the case at all hotels in the heart of the city), we were anticipating that the daily unloading and loading might be a bit of a hassle. But Thomas, the bellman, and the rest of the staff at the front made sure our vehicle was delivered promptly each time it was called for, and had it staged so that it would not interfere with other hotel traffic. Our stay at the Helix was a very nice experience and we would recommend the hotel highly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Austin H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review of your visit at the Helix. That is wonderful that Thomas and the valet team took such great care of you and helped make your visit more enjoyable by taking care of your truck and your bikes.

We look forward to having you come stay with us again next time you go out exploring the DC area.

Hope to see you again soon!

-Ryan Cimei/AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helix, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1430 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Helix, a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Helix is a swanky boutique hotel fashionably located in Washington DC's downtown Logan Circle neighborhood. Fun, hip and smart, this Kimpton Hotel delights the moment you walk through its doors. The bright colors and ultra-mod style are matched by luxurious, sparkling service and careful attention to detail. Hotel Helix, complete with the adjacent Helix Lounge, is a glamorous base for exploring the nearby White House, Washington Monument, Smithsonian Museums and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Helix, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.