We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it, love it, love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Helix, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1430 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #53 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Love it, love it, love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I often stay at the Helix for the following reasons (in no particular order):

1. The staff - incredible, friendly, accommodating
2. The location - near Dupont Circle, close to restaurants, grocery stores, etc.
3. The rooms - funky decor, lots of floor space
4. The Helix Lounge - check it out and you'll see why
5. The "green" perspective

You have to stay here on your next trip to DC!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear d_hops,

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Helix! Love your list, thank you for taking the time to share how much you enjoy our property.

We thank you for continuing to stay with us and we are looking forward to your next visit!

-Ryan Cime/AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    589
    383
    140
    56
    48
See reviews for
179
344
142
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We spent 2 nights at the Hotel Helix while having the hardwood floors replaced in our condo and our stay was awesome. The Hotel Helix is beautiful and our room was much bigger than a normal hotel room in a corporate chain hotel and very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and provided great service. The Helix is definitely an awesome hotel and much better than what you would normally expect from a hotel chain.

Room Tip: Go for the King Deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear TimCorrimal,

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Helix! I am glad you found the Helix so comfortable as a home away from home while your condo was being worked on and that the staff took such great care of you.

We look foward to hopefully having you over in the Lounge and being a destination for visiting friends and family to stay when they come to check out your newly finished floors in your condo.

Hope to see you again soon!

-Ryan Cimei/AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I spent Labor Day Weekend at the Helix, using it as our base for bike trips all around the DC area, including the C&O Canal, Crescent Rail Trail and Rock Creek Trail. The room was very well appointed, comfortable, clean and comfortable. Very much enjoyed the morning breakfast buffet with outdoor seating. The highlight of the stay was the staff, and we can't say enough about them. We wanted to store our bikes locked up in our truck each night. Since all parking is valet only (as is the case at all hotels in the heart of the city), we were anticipating that the daily unloading and loading might be a bit of a hassle. But Thomas, the bellman, and the rest of the staff at the front made sure our vehicle was delivered promptly each time it was called for, and had it staged so that it would not interfere with other hotel traffic. Our stay at the Helix was a very nice experience and we would recommend the hotel highly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Austin H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review of your visit at the Helix. That is wonderful that Thomas and the valet team took such great care of you and helped make your visit more enjoyable by taking care of your truck and your bikes.

We look forward to having you come stay with us again next time you go out exploring the DC area.

Hope to see you again soon!

-Ryan Cimei/AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, MI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and it was perfect for our needs. The price was very reasonable and they gave us complimentary breakfast which was average. The kids also ate free. In fact the kids didn't really like anything they had, so the guy asked if we would want him to make them pancakes and he didn't charge us at all. Normally we would be charged if we ordered pancakes as it was not included in the complimentary breakfast. We gave him a generous tip for doing that and then each day we tipped him every time he made pancakes for the kids. The walking distance to the white house is not to close but you could easily do it. It was around 15 to 20 minutes walking distance. Everyday we walked because we are fairly young and my kids are 12 and soon to be 10 so they didn't have a problem doing it. We had the room with 2 bunk beds and 1 king which was seperated and we loved it. The only thing about doing this room is that the bathroom was small. Our friends had 2 queens and a bigger bathroom. Great trip overall!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in the family room with bunk beds for the kids. It's the small things that count, so the animal print robes, wine and board game reception every night and courteous staff for my children made a big impact.

Room Tip: Kimpton Rewards program is free and offered us a free room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed for one evening in a King room, #811, which in itself was very large compared to other hotels in the area. The bed was quite comfortable, the room was clean, and the A/C worked as it should.
A few problems to note:
1. The bathroom. It was so tiny that even an as an average size person I felt cramped. There was no proper ventilation so I left the door open when showering, but trying to enter the shower with the door open led to a giant bruise for me. The bathroom wasn't particularly clean and the shower curtain had something that appeared to be cake frosting smeared all over it. The vanity was in disrepair, the drain didn't work well in the shower, and the water pressure was nil. There was an adjoining dressing space where the minibar was housed, but frankly it is a total waste of space.
2. Noise Level. Our room was right by the elevators and starting at about 8AM all we heard was guests going to and from the elevator, and then housekeeping. I should have put the Do Not Disturb sign out but I just wasn't thinking, and they knocked around 9AM to clean rooms. Luckily I was already half awake from all the noise previously to reply to the housekeeper that we were still in the room.

Overall, I probably would not return to this hotel as there are so many other options in the Dupont Circle neighborhood. Typically I stay at the Kimpton's Palomar not too far away, but I had received an email about a special rate at the Helix.

Room Tip: Request away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldan, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This hotel was phenomenal. The service was superb and they go above and beyond what is necessary to make you feel important. We stayed in one of the Helix Suites and it was far better than we could have ever hoped for. The room was spacious and well furnished. It was comfortable and cleaned extremely well. We brought along our 4 year old son and his first comment was "It's beautiful!" when we stepped into the lobby. They brought out a toy cart for him so he could pick out some fun things to play with in the hotel. Our only regret is that DC is so much fun we didn't spend more time at the hotel. I would highly recommend this to anyone traveling to DC with family or for a romantic get away.

Room Tip: Get the suite if you have kids. So worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Al R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Helix! I am really excited to hear that the service and suite were beyond your expectations. Ever more importantly I am excited that your son had a great time. We know how much easier that makes traveling much easier when the littles ones are taken good care of.

Looking foward to having you come stay with us again.

See you soon,
Ryan Cimei/AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Helix, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1430 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Helix, a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Helix is a swanky boutique hotel fashionably located in Washington DC's downtown Logan Circle neighborhood. Fun, hip and smart, this Kimpton Hotel delights the moment you walk through its doors. The bright colors and ultra-mod style are matched by luxurious, sparkling service and careful attention to detail. Hotel Helix, complete with the adjacent Helix Lounge, is a glamorous base for exploring the nearby White House, Washington Monument, Smithsonian Museums and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Helix, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.