We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky and fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Helix, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Helix, a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1430 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #59 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Funky and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Chose this hotel solely based on the fact it was close to where I needed to be (and the rate was good). What I didn't know was the treat I was in for.
Rooms are not the standard hotel room. They want you to feel like a rock star and the rooms reflect that. Staff was very accomodating. It was hurricane weekend and they made sure we were informed and safe.
We did have a problem with our room and were moved to another room no questions asked. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Oh yea, joining their club allows you a $10 credit at the minibar which has some interesting offerings.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, Manager at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear rjfmkt,

Thank you so much for your awesome review! We are really glad that you were taken such good care of during the storm and found the staff and rooms so accommodating.

We look forward to having you back with us again soon, although hopefully next time with not as much rain!

Come see us again soon!

-Ryan Cimei/AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    593
    388
    140
    56
    49
See reviews for
181
346
143
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Helix when we dropped our son off at college. The location can't be beat! Close to Dupont Circle, Foggy Bottom and Georgetown. Around the corner is a Whole Foods, perfect in the morning for a cup of coffee and a ciabatta roll.

The hotel has a modern vibe that we enjoyed. Room was clean and and front desk staff very helpful. We own a hybrid so we received half price overnight parking...a nice treat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Hotel decor is a little different then the norm. The entrance to the hotel is a curtain that automatically opens as you walk in. We stayed in a room with bunk beds, which was great for the kids. Staff was helpful and eager to answer questions. Complimentary coffee available in the morning and water in the lobby all day. Nice/safe neighborhood with Whole Foods and CVC nearby. A little too far from subway station for me so we ended up walking downtown most of the time. They did have a business center but there was an outrageous charge to use their internet/computer.

Room Tip: Adequate room and funky decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bellmore, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Great hotel with an exceptional staff. Everyone, from the front desk to the maintenance staff, had a smile and a conversational word.

I am an author, so I liked having a separate area where I was able to work on my latest novel while my wife slept undisturbed in another section of the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Walking into the Helix is like being trasported to the set of Miami Vice in 1984. The hotel is deco enough to be located in South Beach but is walking distance to the White House.

Nothing about this hotel gets in the way of enjoying your time in D.C. It is not fancy by any means but there is nothing threadbare either. Everything about the room is funky, from the sheer curtain around the bed to the tv on a pole to the leapard print robe in the closet. You have to pay for internet unless you join the Klimpton awards program (which is free).

The bar is a good place to kick it in the evening and they have a limited variety of free drinks during happy hour. If you are looking for a gym, they have a broom closet with a couple of cardio machine and some free weights in it. I thought it was ironic that the exercise room was actually smaller than the hotel room. But it did the trick. There's no pool but that seems pretty standard for D.C.

All in all, if you are looking for a decent hotel in D.C. that has more ambiance than opulence, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is a very fun hotel. Nice breakfast. Nice vibe. Cool lights.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Room small but clean, comfortable and serviceable, staff super friendly and helpful, location great, price right. Stayed on after a conference to do the sights and will definitely stay here or at another Klimpton again. Moved from a tony, pricey conference hotel and much preferred the relaxed and fun atmosphere of the Helix.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Helix, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1430 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Helix, a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Helix is a swanky boutique hotel fashionably located in Washington DC's downtown Logan Circle neighborhood. Fun, hip and smart, this Kimpton Hotel delights the moment you walk through its doors. The bright colors and ultra-mod style are matched by luxurious, sparkling service and careful attention to detail. Hotel Helix, complete with the adjacent Helix Lounge, is a glamorous base for exploring the nearby White House, Washington Monument, Smithsonian Museums and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Helix, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helix, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.