We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very handy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #82 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very handy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Located near the smithsonian museums just a short walk to the bus which takes you to Dulles airport for $5 bargain. The staff were great the bar located within the hotel served us some cold drinks and some very tasty food.
Granted I was there during the government shut down so the hotel was quite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for still coming to DC despite the shut down and staying at our hotel. I hope you had a good visit and I hope you will visit again when everything is open and operating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    687
    292
    84
    49
See reviews for
574
289
85
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

loved being here, the staff was great the location amazing, the prices were so good for this location close to everything. the staff was cheerful, friendly, and helpful in every possible way; the room very nice. close to grocery and drugstore, too. definitely will be back!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We appreciate you staying with us and your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glass House Mountains, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel 3 years ago when travelling with our children, and because the location was so good, we decide to use it again just for the two of us. Still great service and location but the hotel was looking a little tired this time. That said, nothing was dirty but just some minor things that needed sprucing up. We have since found out that they have a major renovation planned beginning in the next 4 weeks. But when we mentioned the small issues we had (noisy fridge, grab rail in the bathroom coming loose, desk chair that was a bit battered and worse for wear) they not only apologised but fixed the issues where possible and gave us an extra 25,000 points on our priority club. We look forward to coming back again and seeing the hotel after it is has had it's makeover.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you so much for returning and visiting us again. I'm glad we were able to address your issues. And yes, we do have a major renovation starting Monday, November 25. I hope you will return sometime in the spring and check us out. I think you will be quite pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I believe the hotel is on C street about half way between the capital building and the Washington Monument. It is one short block behind the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum and the capital mall area, across the street from the Department of Education. The metro is half a block away to get anywhere in Washington. The staff was great and the on site restaurants were very reasonable. There are fast food places on the same block if you prefer. There were five of us, two adults and three children 8,8, and 4. One room was plenty and the rate was about 150 per night. You should be able to get reservations if you go when congress is not in session. Lobbyists like this place so it is usually booked when congress is spending our money. We had a medical problem with one of our children while there and the hotel manager was so far over the top helpful it was hard to believe! One of the best I've ever dealt with. Whenever we go back, and we will often, we will stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel has a courtyard and I'm not sure if any rooms face out on it. The building is about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. I hope your child is doing better. I'm glad our staff was able to assist you when your child became ill. I know that can be scary and even worse when away from home. We look forward to having the entire family back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed with my 16year son who was experiencing america for the first time. Great location for the Air and Space and a brisk walk to all the other attractions. Really helpful staff, good food in the restaurant at reasonable prices (for a hotel). Tip--ask for a room facing the Smithsonian-front of hotel. You don't suffer from any railroad noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I hope your son enjoyed his visit to Washington, DC. There is so much to see and do in our city, it is hard to decide what to see and what to pass on. I appreciate you choosing our hotel for your visit and for your nice comments about the location, staff and our food & beverage outlets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlon, Belgique
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Being a Platinium Member, i booked two rooms for my family online and requested via email two rooms next to each other but far away from the rail track. We got an upgrade and our kids a double room across the corridor lower floor with direct location to the railway track.... Email correspondence not very successful ! Hopefully we could change rooms because on this side of the hotel it is impossible to sleep. The AC / heater in the rooms are very noisy and we had to turn everything off at night.
The hotel needs urgent renovation and noise reduction windows.
We appreciated the size of the rooms, the friendly staff and the perfect location.
We disliked the railway track crossing this part of the city using the horn loudly even at night. The local railway should consider other or less louder ways. It spoils the entire part of the city.

Room Tip: Never accept a room on the side of the railway track
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We have a major renovation starting next Monday, November 25. When everything is complete, we will have an elegant, modern look and feel to the hotel. Our renovation should address some of the noise issues, hopefully, so that the horns/AC won't disturb you at a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a very nice hotel and ideally located for visiting the important sights and museums. The restaurant breakfast was very good value for money. There was also the option of a lighter breakfast in the hotel diner. The atmosphere in the bar was very lively and excellent food was served there in the evening.One word of caution. The hotel is completely surrounded by offices and government buildings.Consequently the area is VERY quiet at night. A Washington native warned me to take a taxi, as it might not be safe to walk back to the hotel after dark. However I never saw any suspicious looking individuals loitering around the hotel. If I were returning to Washington I would stay in the DuPont Circle area which is a much livelier area with restaurants and bars .

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the patio especially in summertime
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I appreciate all of your very nice comments about our food & beverage outlets. You are correct our area of town is quiet (and safe). Due to our location, just 1 block south of the National Air & Space Museum, we get the benefits of the DC Metro police, the Capitol Police and the National Park Service. I hope you will stay with us again. If you want more night life and a multitude of restaurants, there are several just 2 Metro stops away at Gallery Place. The nice thing about this is that you can go enjoy yourself and then return to the hotel for a quiet, night's sleep. I do recommend the Metro or a cab to get there, only because it is an uphill walk. Coming back to the hotel, it is downhill and a delightful walk. I have done it many times and have always felt completely safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.